We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded our expectations!”
Review of Ambraden Pond

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cobble Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambraden Pond
Ranked #2 of 5 Cobble Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We recently spent two nights at Ambraden Pond in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. Our stay exceeded our high expectations so much so that it was hard to leave! Joan and Chris are kind and welcoming, the breakfast both mornings was ample and delicious and the home was beautiful, warm and inviting. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at Ambraden Pond every time we're in beautiful British Columbia!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedeeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Joan and Chris ( and Lulu the dog) were great hosts during our two day stay at Ambraden Pond. The location is beautiful and their very tastefully appointed home provided roomy, private accommodation for their b and b guests. We will be back.

John and Diana

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hjfib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Spending two nights at Ambraden Bed & Breakfast was a rejuvenating experience, wanting to be extended. It is a well hidden jewel in the beautiful Cowichan Valley, surrounded by lush forest and reflected in its own mirror-like pond. Ambraden B & B provides contemporary, uncluttered accommodations, with scrumptious breakfasts. Joan and Chris Kolk provide a welcoming, informal atmosphere, setting the tone for the guests' comfort.

We will want to return to Ambraden and its warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Judy C
This is a first time that I stayed at a B&B. Joan & Chris were excellent hosts. Breakfast was awesome and the room is comfortable and very clean. The home theatre in the basement is great as well but I would recommend enjoy the outdoor and birds viewing. I would strongly recommend this pleasant and relaxing B&B to anyone who is in the area !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our night at Joan & Chris' stunning home. A beautiful location, so comfortable and stunning inside and out. Joan and Chris had many recommendations re touring the area. Breakfast was delicious. We hated to leave, and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I'm a guy and I hate B & B's. But this B & B I thought was great! My wife loved it, too. So, if you're a guy and want to make your wife happy, stay here. You'll be glad you did.
Read the other reviews if you want details about what to do and what to expect. You won't be disappointed.
This review has to contain 200 characters for it to be accepted, so I will babble about nothing. I wanted guys to know that this accommodation is best for those who prefer not to feel like they are intruding. The home is newly built with this in mind. So, one feels comfortable and private and you do not feel like you are intruding upon the hosts or your other guests.
I hope this is 200 words because, I wanted to share this with the guys.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I have never stayed at a more welcoming, beautiful and relaxing B&B than at Ambraden Pond. My husband stayed at Ambraden Pond for three weeks while working in the area and I visited for a week during that time. The hosts, Joan and Chris, are friendly, helpful and create a welcoming environment for guests. The rooms are large and spacious. The beds have feather mattresses and are very comfortable. The bathroom is large and includes a shower and soaking tub. The house is clean, well maintained and tastefully decorated. The property is surrounded by trees, a deep green meadow, and a pond home to delightful Bufflehead ducks. The breakfasts Joan makes are fabulous and filling, some examples include creme brûlée french toast, frittata, and baked eggs in ham crisps. It was so relaxing eating a tasty breakfast while watching the rain fall on the pond outside. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Joan and Chris and visiting their beautiful area. I would not hesitate to recommend Ambraden Pond and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobble Hill
9.9 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
3.5 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
3.8 mi away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mill Bay Shores Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Ruthie's Roost B&B
Ruthie's Roost B&B
#2 of 4 in Mill Bay
25 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marifield Manor B&B
Marifield Manor B&B
#1 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambraden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambraden Pond

Address: 971 Aros Rd, Cobble Hill, British Columbia V0R 1L4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cobble Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cobble Hill
Price Range: £91 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing