We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise awaits”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ozamiz City
Hastings
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A surprise awaits”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Second visit at this hotel - reputably the best here in Ozamis. Staff are hospitable however woman at reception certainly needs to learn to smile & greet staff - who booked us in, we felt distinctly unwelcome.

Rooms lack some necessities - A kettle would be nice & the provision of coffee & tea sachets useful so that we could at least enjoy a cuppa. I guess it is their way of extracting additional money, in fact later I found that they had put in a coffee lounge in reception area. Only one toilet roll provided & we had to ask twice to get a replacement !!

The hotel seems to have had a make over & definitely an improvement on last time, however not of the standard you might expect in larger cities.
The hotel now has a Restaurant called Hukad which serves great food at a very reasonable price & great service. This time around I give Royal Garden Hotel a 7.0


Free WIFI available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kalboHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    36
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
22
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarin, Misamis Occidental, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here twice in 1 week in May 2013. We occupied the imperial suite at 3995 peso a night. The suite was spacious and had a large living room with TV. The bedroom was separated by a sliding door and was large enough.

We left the aircon in the living room on overnight to be surprised with a large quantity of leaking water in the morning.

We were shocked when moving the rug in the living room to do some exercises to find 5 years worth of dust and dirt falling out of the rug which had obviously never been vacuumed or washed since it was installed in the room.

Generally the room is okay :) but the cleanliness and attention to detail is obviously lacking ..

Room Tip: get a room not facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juurii R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cainta, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Royal Garden Hotel is very clean and offered free Wi-fi, cable TV on an LCD TV and working elevator. I point these amenities out because a colleague mentioned that he had tried other hotels in the area and those were not able to provide these.

My stay was rather pleasant save for the following:

(1) I tried reserving online but the front desk would only reply to me 8pm or later. This made for an email conversation that was one email a day from both ends spanning 7 days. I just called them on the 7th day.

(2) Ads for the hotel, as well as the website, boasted free daily breakfast but there was none.

(3) Upon checking in, my room's air conditioner was making a terrible noise. I asked them to fix it then left for work. When I came back later, the same sound was being made by the air conditioner and when I asked the front desk to fix it, they sent up a bellboy who just fiddled with the remote and set the fan to low. I asked to have a room change but they were fully booked.
As I was staying only one night, I didn't make a fuss. The sound was easily overpowered by the TV or my iPod anyway.

All in all a decent hotel and apparently "the best in Ozamis". Then again, it's not that hard to be better than a hotel with termites and no elevator.

Room Tip: Most of the single occupancy rooms have not yet been renovated, ask for the double or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Ozamiz City is a small southern Philippine town that has seen significant development in the past years. There's still no taxicabs. Public transportation is by motorcycle or pedicabs. Royal Gardens Hotel is one of the two best hotels in Ozamiz City. It has very good value - nice clean hotel, with very courteous and accommodating staff. It's very conveniently located in the city center and very thing is practically within walking distance. The hotel has no pool, or much of any view, but more than make up for the very reasonable price which is almost 1/2 that of the other equivalent hotel in the area. Best place for business traveller, or someone who plan to be out meeting people or sightseeing. The room is tastefully designed, adequately sized, relatively comfortable and clean, with flat screen LED TV. The standard single is too small for me and has no windows so I stayed in s standard double. I would rate the it better than many 31/2 - 4 star hotels in in center of Paris.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the street, specially on the lower floors as it it very noisy due to mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Just using the reviews of others, I decided to try this hotel in the centre of Ozamiz city. I was well surprised by the clean and modern lobby, check in went well and when I entered my corner room on the 3rd floor a good feeling took over. The room is not that big, but big enough for a comfortable stay. Free wifi, LCD TV, modern furniture, comfortable bed and small but adequate bathroom make a stay in this hotel very pleasant. The hotel does not offer breakfast, however a coffee or tea and cakes are available in the lobby area. Not far from the hotel are several restaurants, obviously this is not an international town, but ok, one will find enough choice in the immediate area to fill up again. Staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel is well maintained and clean. I would definitely stay here again if ever I get here in Ozamiz again.

Room Tip: I always want a room with a view. Typically filipino hotels often offer rooms without a window. So d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have stayed at the Royal Garden Hotel twice and both times I was very pleased with both the staff and with my room. For the price I was pleased with my room and will be happy to go there on my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drepka1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We spend time usually in this hotel for a night or so when we need some rest from the barrio. All rooms have airco, recently the rooms have been redone.
The horel also has a restaurent which at the moment is closed untill april because the owner starts a francise of the Golden Cowrey restaurent from Cebu. Will be an imrovement although the old restaurent was a vafourite for us. Personal is doing its best being profesional but they are very helpfull. Room service is no problem.

Room Tip: if you will choose this hotel before april take a room on top floor as the carpentry work in the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejrobberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ozamiz City
0.4 mi away
GV Hotel Ozamiz
GV Hotel Ozamiz
#2 of 2 in Ozamiz City
7 reviews
45.9 mi away
D'Hotel & Suites
D'Hotel & Suites
#1 of 7 in Dipolog
194 reviews
48.9 mi away
Dakak Park & Beach Resort
Dakak Park & Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Dapitan City
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.3 mi away
Ariana Hotel
Ariana Hotel
#3 of 7 in Dipolog
37 reviews
57.1 mi away
Kingston Lodge
Kingston Lodge
#8 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
67th Boulevard Pension House
67th Boulevard Pension House
#1 of 14 in Ozamiz City
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: Burgos Corner | Zamora Street, Ozamiz City, Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Ozamiz City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ozamiz City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's business or leisure that takes you to Ozamiz, the Royal Garden Hotel nestled in the heart of Ozamiz City is the hotel for you as it is only steps away from shopping malls, restaurants, movie houses , banks, supermarkets and everything else in between. The biggest and the finest hotel in the city, Royal Garden Hotel combines deluxe facilities with excellent service from its efficient and dedicated staff for a brilliant experience that has guests returning again and again. (ALL NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing