We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My trips to visit ozamiz”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ozamiz City
Tequesta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My trips to visit ozamiz”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel is excellent ,in regards to location and service.i find the people of this region to be kind and very helpful I look forward to saying at the RGHOTEL and visiting the kind folks of this town

Room Tip: I stayed in the suite.70$. It's a greatdeal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigjohn2832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    36
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
22
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here back in 2006 and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Extremely good value for money. The restaurant service was excellent as was the food. I love the local cuisine especially their Lumpiang Sariwa. Wish the Chef would send me his recipe. We stayed for a night back in 2011 when there was a false alarm for tsunami and the place had improved radically. The food then was still excellent and I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterDownie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We walked in to this hotel during my cousin's wedding. It was an option as a resting place instead of going straight to the church and venue. However, it was a disaster experience. The city had no electricity that time and the hotel had no generator to back up because as per the "operation manager?- saw it in her nameplate" the generator overheated due to overused!!! We ended up staying in the nearby mall instead of staying in the room. FYI: No apologies from them! I even overheard at the reception one of the wedding organizer already expressing his disappointments.
This is the only "nice" hotel in the city and I know they have a good business BUT they should always have a back-up plan and don't mess up to their guest!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pyong_Cebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGH Team L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Sorry to hear about your bad experience with us during those months of totally NO electricity in Ozamiz City (particularly February - May 2014) . We do have a back up generator but due to very LONG HOURS of "DAILY" blackout in the city, unfortunately, two of our generator sets had some mechanical errors and overheated but this problem was immediately fixed hours after that unfortunate incident as of course we cannot afford to get complaints from all our in-house guest.
We do hope that such incident wont happened again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ozamiz City hotels

South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel was very poor in 2008 when I began my trips to Ozamiz City Philippines. It has been completely renovated and every year since 2008 that I have returned it has improved much more. In my opinion the best Hotel in Ozamiz City and good value for your cost. This year was the first year the lobby and a coffee lounge was added. The two employees that work the coffee lounge are Excellent to say the least. I was in Ozamiz City from October 2013 until the end of January 2014. I stayed ion the hotel about 10 days of that visit (stayed at familys home the remainder of visit) but was at the coffee lounge at least every other day enjoying the great drinks offered by the coffee lounge and the great pasta dishes it offered. I never got to know the 2 regular coffee lounge employees names (a young man and a young woman) but I hope when I return next year they are still there. The location is great and in the heart of the city and everything is within walking distance or a very short trike ride.

Room Tip: Double rooms are nice if only 2 occupying. Price is very reasonable also. To me the suites are too p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SouthCarolinaPogiMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I booked a 9 night stay in the Royal Suite (P3995 per night) and reading some of the reviews here I was unsure of what to expect.

However, on entering the hotel I was pleasantly surprised. It was spacious, modern looking, clean and I was greated with the famous Filipino smile at the reception desk.

The hotel does not provide breakfast but downstairs adjacent to reception is a small cafe which offers a limited variety of snacks served by staff with beaming smiles.

Down the road is Robinson's supermarket where we bought cereal etc and chose to eat breakfast in the room.

A very special thank you goes to the housekeeping staff who did a superb job of looking after us and the room.

All the staff we came in contact with were very helpful and courteous.

Within the hotel is a restaurant called Hukad which I decided to try one night. I'm a vegetarian and quite happy with simple food and chose Pinakbet which is just vegetables. When it was served it resembled a bowl full of sick and the taste was revolting so much so it was inedible. I asked to speak to the Manager of the restaurant (a young kid around 20 yrs old) and part of his reply to my complaint was "that is our standard here sir." NEED I SAY ANYMORE?

Being totally dissatisfied with his comments I took my complaint to the hotel reception and was informed that Hukad is a separate business and not connected with the hotel. However, the receptionist said she would take up the matter with management.

The following a day a female Manager of Hukad rang the room and in total fairness to her apologised for the experience and offered to refund the cost of my meal.

CONCLUSION:
I'm returning to Ozamiz in 2014 and will be more than happy to stay at the Royal Garden Hotel again.

Here's a BIG thank you to all the staff for making our stay an enjoyable one!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I spent 3 weeks there inSept-Oct 2013 and was very happy with the room and staff. It was clean and the staff were always polite, very helpful and would even accommodate any special requests like assisting with deliveries and some travel around the city. I felt safe and secure and it was always a pleasure to wake in the morning to be met with smiling faces. The cost was very reasonable and I would say it is probably the better of any hotels there, I am there again in the new year and will stay here again as I really enjoyed my time at this hotel. Also for meals you cannot go past the restaurant downstairs, the food is fabulous and again the staff go out of there way to ensure a pleasurable time there. I honestly can saythere was nothing that I was displeased with....If your travelling to Ozamiz this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Col A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

To be honest, I like this Hotel very much, in fact I will most certainly come back to visit. I had a good and relaxing stay at the Royal In less than five minutes after check-in I was on my way to my room. staff, food and sphere was totally right. The Hotel was clean and nice, with a big room. nice TV, Very professional & friendly people. The staff was without exception extremely friendly and helpful. WiFi was okay! It was only there for a two days, and it was everything I wanted. It was quiet, not many rooms, romantic and calm. Excellent service. I know this Hotel is probably better than most. This was my second trip to the Philippines. I would recommend this place and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGH Team L, Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Mr. Vincent,

Thank you for making the Royal Garden Hotel your hotel of choice when visiting Ozamiz.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the excellent service rendered by our dedicated staff. It is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations are met on each of their stays and we would like to assure you that your positive feedback will be certainly shared amongst our team.

We look forward to welcoming you once more in our hotel and thank you once again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ozamiz City
0.4 mi away
GV Hotel Ozamiz
GV Hotel Ozamiz
#2 of 2 in Ozamiz City
7 reviews
45.9 mi away
D'Hotel & Suites
D'Hotel & Suites
#1 of 7 in Dipolog
194 reviews
48.9 mi away
Dakak Park & Beach Resort
Dakak Park & Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Dapitan City
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.3 mi away
Ariana Hotel
Ariana Hotel
#3 of 7 in Dipolog
37 reviews
57.1 mi away
Kingston Lodge
Kingston Lodge
#8 of 31 in Cagayan de Oro
86 reviews
35.2 mi away
GV Hotel Pagadian City
GV Hotel Pagadian City
#1 of 12 in Pagadian City
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: Burgos Corner | Zamora Street, Ozamiz City, Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Ozamiz City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ozamiz City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's business or leisure that takes you to Ozamiz, the Royal Garden Hotel nestled in the heart of Ozamiz City is the hotel for you as it is only steps away from shopping malls, restaurants, movie houses , banks, supermarkets and everything else in between. The biggest and the finest hotel in the city, Royal Garden Hotel combines deluxe facilities with excellent service from its efficient and dedicated staff for a brilliant experience that has guests returning again and again. (ALL NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing