We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, stunning, relaxing. John and Mel are perfect hosts”
Review of La Souqueto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Souqueto
Ranked #2 of 2 Mirepeisset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful, stunning, relaxing. John and Mel are perfect hosts”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were lucky enough to stay on the boat for 3 nights. It was a perfect break from our busy schedules. We spent our days walking to the local villages, cycling and spending time with our hosts as well as enjoying great food and wine. We will definitely return. I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
116
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcs
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A wonderful French house set in a fabulously sleepy, relaxed, welcoming village not far from beautiful places to visit. We loved it and will certainly be back. John and Mel and wonderful hosts who made us so welcome and comfortable. A fabulous 4 day break away.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tord23dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Mirepiesset

Friday 1 August arrived at Bezier airport. Drove to La Souqueto dropped bags off and drive to Bize M where we had a lovely meal at The olive tree in Bize M. It was a set platter meal for 10 euros each and it was delicious! Then we lay by the fresh water by the bridge in Bize and enjoyed the sun. We checked into La Souqetto and loved it. John and Mel were brilliant hosts. It was an absolute bonus that they were English as they were able to advise us on places to visit and very kindly leant us their Sat nav which is a must in this area of France! We drove to Gruissan and found the wilder part of the beach which was okay. That evening we ate at La Taverna just behind La Souqueto. It was a lovely meal we tried the local specialities of Fois Gras and Duck. We loved the village of Mirepeisset it was very sleepy and charming.

The next day we had a lovely breakfast of bread, Croissants, yoghurt, home made jams and fruit. John and Mel couldn't do enough for us and they kept the balance just right.

We headed to Chateau de Queribus a Cathares refuge set in an amazing landscape. It was a bit misty so we couldn't see as well as we would have liked but it was stunning. We missed out on the audio tour and I think that would have been better so get that at the entrance. We then drove to the nearby Gorges and visited the Ermitage de Galamus. The caves are well worth a visit the church inside is amazing. We got caught in a thunderstorm but it made it all the more exciting. When we got back we went for a run along the Canal de Midi which was nice. We ran past a lovely looking restaurant on the canal called l'Auberge de Somail. We went there to eat that evening which was great. Lovely setting on the canal and great good. Service took a while but it was busy and we weren't in a rush! The starters are big enough to have on their own so be warned! The fish comes with it's head on so ask for it to be taken off if you wish. The desserts looked amazing!

The next day we went to the lovely village of Saint Chinian where there was a Sunday market. This is well worth a visit and has a lovely atmosphere. Music playing, hustle and bustle, lovely fresh fruit and veg. We bought some good for picnic then headed to the kayak place near Roquebrum. This is a really organised business and is a great way to see the river and it's surroundings. We did 5k which took a few hours including a stop off for some food and a swim. We didn't get very wet and didn't get thrown into the water. It's a very gentle river with a few rapids but the water is very shallow and safe for swimming children. We called into Minerve on the way back which you have to visit. It's an amazing setting. That night we ate at L'Anais in Ginestas only across road from la Souqueto which is run by an English woman but don't let this put you off. The pizzas were lovely and one of the nicest meals we had for an easy meal.

All in all a lovely area of Languedon to visit which is very sleepy, relaxed and friendly. John and Mel are excellent hosts and it felt like home. They let us use the kitchen which was great so we could make a cup of tea when we wanted and help ourselves to the ice and water from the fridge dispenser. Emily looks like the nicest bedroom so opt for this if it's free. We will definitely be back with the children next time as they would love it too.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at La Souqueto. Spacious, well-appointed rooms, wonderful shower, warm and gracious hosts, and of course, a world of things to do and see and eat and drink in that marvelous corner of France. The breakfasts are delicious, with many home-made and local items. No AC but big windows, thick walls and a fan were fine for mid-summer. Don't be put off by the unprepossessing entryway to this paradise of hospitality and comfort. I agree with all the accolades, but would just add that the rooms are up either two or three levels of spiral staircase so someone who really can't do stairs would have some trouble. For everyone else, stay at La Souqueto! Great value and as many reviewers have said, the welcome is priceless.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are going to be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrmaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This has to be one of the most enjoyable places we have ever stayed! We were in the south of France for a family holiday and were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Jon & Mel welcomed us into their incredible home, which takes the form of an immaculately renovated town house, tucked away in the village of Mirepeisset. The rooms and accommodation were spotless wherever we went in the building. We were fortunate enough to have occupied the top floor which has the benefit of it's own terrace/balcony overlooking the gorgeous landscape.

We could come and go as we wished, making use of the kitchen/dining room as if it were our own, making food & drink as we required. On that note, the breakfasts were spot on, with locally sourced bread & croissant, together with fresh tea, coffee & home made jams, smoothies & yoghurt.

The close proximity to canal du midi made for an added bonus, with a lovingly restored boat owned by Jon & Mel offering further accommodation, which was occupied by one couple in our group.

All in all, a fantastic stay and with the close proximity to various airports, it really was an effortless trip door to door. Can't wait to head back again!

Many thanks, Tom & Lindsey

Room Tip: Check the website, none of the rooms will disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at La Souqueto twice this year, both times we've been made extremely welcome & treated more like family than paying guests. The building is a typical old french townhouse which has been tastefully decorated. It is clean, quiet and the perfect place to relax with good company. It is next to the Canal du Midi and Jon & Mel do boat trips on their boat Bella Mia which we found exceptional. Jon & Mel have loads of tips & ideas of things to do & places to visit. As we've said, exceptional people, exceptional place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayenne, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have recently spent a wonderful 4 nts at the La Souqueto and would highly recommend a stay. Mel and Jon are a great couple who go out of their way to make your stay one to remember.
A must if you are in this area of France.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirepeisset
1.6 mi away
La Bastide Cabezac
La Bastide Cabezac
#1 of 1 in Bize-Minervois
161 reviews
8.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
13.7 mi away
Chateau l'Hospitalet
Chateau l'Hospitalet
#3 of 22 in Narbonne
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Neptune-Le Somail
Le Neptune-Le Somail
#1 of 9 in Ginestas
42 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maison Matisse
Maison Matisse
#1 of 3 in Saint-Nazaire-d'Aude
33 reviews
3.1 mi away
Les Volets Bleus
Les Volets Bleus
#1 of 3 in Salleles-d'Aude
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Souqueto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Souqueto

Property: La Souqueto
Address: 6 impasse D Occitanie | entrance on Rue de la Rigole, 11120 Mirepeisset, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Mirepeisset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mirepeisset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Souqueto, an award winning B&B, is a sensitively restored town house situated in the centre of a quiet, medieval village in the heart of the Languedoc! We are situated 40 minutes from both Carcassonne and Beziers airports but our region boasts over 5 airports. We accommodate couples or groups (up to 10 persons) looking to explore this beautiful region of France. Take a cruise (or sleep) on our Classic boat Bella Mia on the Canal du midi, a few minutes walk from our back door, swim in the crystal clear water of the river Cesse behind the house or head for the wonderful beaches on The Med, only 30 mins from the village. We are surrounded by vineyards and wine Caves for wine tasting and if it's food you have come to sample we know some the the very best, yet cost effective restaurants to eat at. Our village car park (a few seconds from our B&B) offers FREE parking. Our village restaurant and village shop is next door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Souqueto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing