We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$52
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
CheapTicketsUS$52
Trip.com
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
343
85
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
343
85
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maekok river northern thailand climbing wall chiang rai stayed longer three nights rooms are spacious high ropes course surrounding countryside thai food outdoor activities beautiful setting rice fields cooking class a great place to stay long tail boat lovely pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We were only able to stay here one night, and wished we could have stayed a week.
We did not see the town but enjoyed everything at the resort immensely. The setting is perfect, with many bushes loaded with birds. Our little haven of a room had an outside sitting area.The river is a great place for boat rides. Excellent and reasonable spa services in the room are available. We've had massages all over the world, and these were terrific. the owners have created a mileu for staff to be happy and grow. the restaurant is very relaxed with great views. There is much to do here for all ages. we wish we lived a little bit closer, so we could visit often. One day we shall return.
We did not use the fitness center.
Nanab

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Nana,

Thanks for this and for your description 'Best of the best'. That has certainly set a standard which we will have to continue to work very hard at to maintain! We continue to feel very pleased indeed by yours' and others' comments and in particular references to our hard-working staff who help so much to provide our guests with the type of experience that you had. We do hope to see you here again and for a period longer than a night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We travel quite frequently to Thaton to visit friends and were sad to see the Thaton Chalet close this year - though not the same quality as the MRVR it was cheaper and convenient to the river area.
This year we stayed at the MRVR and it was lovely. The grounds are beautiful and Bryan and Rosie keep everything running well - to the standard expected by foreign travelers but totally plugged into the Thai environment. Very friendly staff in the dining room and good service. Easy to see how they earned top ratings from Trip Advisor reviewers!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sndaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I went here on a School Trip in April and it was so amazing with all the instructors and the other students who made it fun, there was lots of fun activities to do when at the resort, if I were to go back to MRVR, I would!!
Yours sincerely,
Ollie

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieWalker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear Ollie.
Thanks for this review. I am delighted you had a memorable time and maybe see you again! For readers who maybe have a 'different view' of student groups coming to the MRVR, be assured they have accommodation in a separate student centre!
Many of these groups come to carry out improvement projects in our local schools, and to date, visiting school groups have raised Baht 14 million for such projects. They do wonderful work and their contribution to the local schools and local economy is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My husband and I had booked three nights here but we quickly decided to extend it to five. The place is so beautiful with a view from the pool that is simply unbelievable. Bryan and Rosie are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The garden is a magical hybrid of Thai and English. I think one thing that we really appreciated was the way that Bryan and Rosie are integrated into the local community and making a difference through their outdoor education centre to the lives of the local people. This means you can relax and enjoy the lovely surroundings without any feeling of guilt. We had several great trips out but the boat trip down the Maekok to Chiang Rai was the highlight - do this! I also had one of the best Thai massages ever. We would love to go back and if you are lucky enough to be in the area, go! I am very fussy and I loved it - you will too.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77Fiona77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thanks so much for taking time to write this review. It seems to encompass and reflect the same views of the majority of our guests, particularly the most recent reviewers. We are pleased that so many more guests are staying for longer periods and making use of our facilities, enjoying the gardens and taking local tours, hikes and bike rides in this fascinating and beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Maekok River Resort which we visited with our 2 children and with my parents. Already before arriving, Bryan answered all our email related questions personally and at the speed of light, which was extremely appreciated.

Him and Rosie are very friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is located in a beautiful environment with an immaculate garden right by the river; and the personalized attention to details is perhaps what is most striking, such as with kids slippers and toys in their room.

The outings were full of excitement too. We enjoyed kayaking on the river with Chon, our fun tour guide and learned a great deal from him at the Karen village.

Also, we were so impressed by the separate, schools retreat facilities on the other side of the hotel.

It was a great trip. Highly recommended!

Matthieu and Yvonne Cognac

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthieuCognac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews