We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Mauro - CLOSED

Osteria Mauro
Price range: US$12 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Osteria Mauro is a rustic Italian family restaurant serving modern Italian cuisine in a fabulous country setting.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Visited Osteria a couple of times with family an friends food is always lovely and staff are always very nice can never do enough for you. Highly reconvened it

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GRL2594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    8
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Nice atmosphere and good food enjoyed as part of a large group for Xmas meal and evening. Excellent customer service and made a change from the norm - one or two locals spotted too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peche05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“as always a really good eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I eat here often, one of my local haunts while I lived in the area but moved away in 2010. Great service, great kitchen and very friendly waiters. Even when I order off the menu they remain friendly and happy, quick with service and always with a smile. I love this place!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank StalGutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant on a Friday evening, with our two-year-old, and enjoyed a truly fantastic meal. We have eaten there several times before, and sampled some excellent pizza and pasta dishes, but this time we went for fish (sea bass and halibut). It was cooked to perfection and definitely lived up to expectations. In terms of taste, quality and freshness we were very impressed.

Add to this some tasty starters (insalata and garlic bread) which were just right to take away the hunger pangs, and yummy desserts (tiramisu, what else?) to round off the meal, plus a well-planned 3 course kids menu offering wholesome food at a very reasonable price, and one really cannot ask for anything better.

The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful throughout, even when busy, and were not flustered when having to deal with several things at once. They maintained their composure and carried on with a smile.

There is just one rather large cloud on the horizon...sadly the restaurant is closing on 6th January as the owner and head chef, Enzo Mauro, is retiring. This is a great loss to the area and I'm sure, like us, many people will miss the authentic Italian charm which it offers.

I guess it's time to try the family's other highly-acclaimed restaurant: Stock in central Manchester.

Helpful?
Thank Techexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Let itself down badly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

A group of 10 of us booked in here for our Christmas meal last night. We were asked to pay £10 per head deposit and pre-order the meals last week. However, when we arrived the staff seemed surprised to see us, and once we were at the table, started taking food orders again until we informed them we had pre-ordered. The place was pretty empty, which is probably to be expected on a Monday, but I would also expect the staff to have enough time to look after us. Instead, the service was haphazard, the starters arrived in two waves with quite a gap in between, one or two people had to wait for their main course, and things fell apart entirely by the dessert, with the second wave taking so long to arrive that one of our group had lost her appetite and subsquently asked for a Bailey's instead - which she was charged for until we complained. By then we were the only people in, so a bit more attentiveness would not have been beyond the capability of a staff of two or three. At no point was there any indication that the staff felt things weren't working out quite right. When the bill arrived, 10% service had already been added on, which left us with no opportunity to express our opinion of the evening with the size of the tip. The wine was overpriced (we were recommended a decidedly average red on "special offer" down to £20 from £34 - maybe it was worth the £20, just about, but no more. When we were obviously all leaving and ringing round for taxis etc, our request for our coats seemed to take the staff once again by surprise. All in all it felt as though we were inconveniencing them by being there. Won't go back there in a hurry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank but_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Mauro also viewed

Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire
Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing