We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear!!!!!”
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed at Mottram Hall 2-3 November with friends on a weekend break. Check in was efficient and speedy and we were quickly allocated our rooms. We had lunch in the Claret Jug at the golf club which was quite good. The staff there were very attentive and pleasant and the service was quick. We booked dinner in the Carrington Grill and this was things started to go downhill… my wife ordered a sirloin steak well done and one of our friends ordered a medium rib eye, when the steaks arrived the orders had been mixed up however, when we pointed this out the waiter tried to convince us the fault lied with us and not either himself or the kitchen. That said he did offer to order another steak however, we declined as all the other meals had arrived. To their credit when we pointed this out at check out the young lady handling our check out decided not to charge us for the steak so well done to her for putting this right. My point here is that one particular waiter could learn a thing or two from his colleagues at the Carrington Grill!!!
Breakfast was not that exciting - when we have stayed in similar establishments breakfast is a waiter service and not a buffet - so no poached egg, kippers etc...

Our room was cleaned to a good standard however, we found the bed a bit lumpy - but hotel beds are never perfect... My biggest gripe here is the thinness of the walls between you and your neighbour so we had to listen to next door's hair dryer at 7.00am - it could have been worse….

Overall, it is a very nice hotel in a pristine location but there is some room for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear mike15Leeds,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that there were aspects of your trip did not meet your expectations but am pleased that during check out we were able to amend your bill.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

We apologise again and hope to hear from you soon,

Kind Regards,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    411
    247
    113
    63
See reviews for
267
587
21
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We lived in Wilmlsow for 25 years and knew of this hotel by reputation. My wife had used it on business and even stayed there.

Reception could not be bothered to break their telephone conversations to check us in. It instantly showed the importance of "ordinary guests". The room was tiny (even Swedish youth hostels offer larger rooms) - the window (admittedly double-glazed) would not shut properly to keep out the noise. The room had an ironing boar - but no iron. It also lacked a safe and a refrigerator: the sliding wardrobe door was comprehensively non-operable. Even checking in late-ish (at 4.30 pm) housekeeping staff were still making up rooms on our corridor. We requested - at on-line booking - a quiet room on a high floor. We were given a noisy room (overlooking spa, function area and delivery doors) on the lower ground floor, and reception claimed that no instructions had been passed to them about room requests. We were awakened at 1 am by noisy revellers from the wedding party, at 2 am by the band loading its van and at 6 am by staff coming into work.

As with many old British hotels sound-proofing between rooms is poor. We could hear our neighbours' snoring, TV and plumbing quite clearly.

Breakfast was a typical buffet - fairly comprehensive, including fried eggs (a plus point), but with little or no attention to their quality, the need for restocking and the recognition that they had sat for too long on a hot-plate.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms in the 160 to 190 number series
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Chrisdrew,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Mottram Hall. I am sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations and that you were disturbed in the early hours of the morning.

We would like to discuss this further with you and encourage you to contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

We hope to hear from you soon,

Kind Regards,

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked mottram hall for a nice half term getaway. To my surprise my boyfriend proposed to me during a walk throughout the rose gardens and woodlands! Beautiful surroundings. We had booked afternoon tea and when staff heard of our engagement they bent over backwards for us providing us with champagne, cocktails and even chcocolate strawberries on a congratulations plate! We were made to feel extremely special. This happened on our second day, even without the engagement and thoughtfulness oft the staff, the stay was amazing. Staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the food is excellent. It was such an enjoyable experience I would go back time and time again. Thank you Mottram Hall ( and especially the lovely girl on the bar and manager) for making our time so memorable.
Excellent treatments in the spa also, I had a massage, facial and a last minute manicure (before I went home to see family with my ring) and all were very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Jenny H,

We are so pleased that Mottram Hall was the perfect setting for your boyfriend to propose to you. Thank you for your comments, it is always lovely to hear such positive feedback in regard to the Mottram team. We look forward to seeing you back at Mottram Hall in the near future.

Best Wishes,

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I have just experienced our third 2 night trip to Mottram Hall this year. The weather was appalling yet with excellent spa facilties hardly troubled us at all. Spoil yourself with a treatment or massage. Indoor and outdoor whirlpool baths. The food was very good and the service is never less than fantastic. Next year we shall return. Always look and ask for deals,whether it be rooms, meal packages, or both.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room overlooking the golf course. Better still a Chambre Unique overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kras999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear kras999,


Thank you for such kind words about Mottram Hall. We are only too happy that your stay has been enjoyable each time you have and hope that you continue to visit us in the future. Thank you once again.


Best Wishes,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The staff were amazing.As a wheelchair user I always expect problems but check in was a pleasure.,In particular the restaurant manager,Jon,couldn't have been more helpful,finding us a table for dinner and for breakfast ,that was both accessible and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear charlym,

Thank you for such lovely comments in regard to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. I am so pleased that the team made your stay special and Jon was able to assist you in the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you back at Mottram hall in the near future.

Best Wishes,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Have recently spent a night at Mottram Hall on a spa break. The experience could not have been bettered. From our arrival the staff were pleasant and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. the facilities were excellent, the rooms comfortable and spotless. A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Sue B,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are only too happy that your stay was enjoyable and that my team were helpful and attentive to your needs. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind Regards,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamgor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Have just booked a special night for my partner and it could not have been made easier by the lady working on reception Abbey. She went out of her way to make sure our stay will be a night to be remembered and was extremely polite and professional, I would not hesitate to book with her again.

Dan L

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Dan L,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback in regard to your booking experience with us. I am pleased that Abbey was courteous and helpful to you. We hope you do choose to return and we will be more than happy to assist once again.


Kind Regards,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,121 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,431 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Property: Mottram Hall
Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing