We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“200% improvement”
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon at the end of august this year. We had the most horrific experience and consequently left bad feedback. The management contacted us and offered us a complimentary weekend to make up for the poor experience.
we went to the hotel this weekend and we had a much more pleasant experience - the experience which we were hoping for the first time around.
Zara (I think her name was) greeted us warmly and dealt with us very efficiently.
We had a different suite this time which was a better room compared to the tiny suite which we were in the first time.
we also had a lovely welcome card and a bottle of non alcoholic wine (as I'm pregnant), a jar of traditional sweets & a really nice autumnal bouquet of flowers.
All the staff were much more pleasant compared to our experiences the last time and really helped to make our stay more memorable.
Danny in the restaurant was very friendly and efficient.
Thank you Mottram Hall.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missjheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear missjheath,

Thank you for your comments in regard to your recent stay. I am so pleased that you were able to return to Mottram Hall and we could restore your faith in the hotel. Thank you for your kind words about the staff that made your stay that extra special.

We hope to see you return to Mottram Hall again soon.


Best Wishes,


James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,423 - 1,429 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Surrounded by a golf course, enveloped by Cheshire's golden triangle, Mottram Hall is the epi-centre of Manchester's wealthy southern fringe. WAGs squeal in delight at the sumptuous soft furnishings, mute colour schemes and period details. Their square-jawed beaus appreciate classy, masculine qualities of the on-site pub, and the country-club atmosphere.

The food on the night I dined there was passable - indeed, had my steak and chips cost me £10 in a gastro pub, it would have represented reasonable value. Priced at twice that, and preceded by an unwittingly retro prawn dish, I was left feeling glad that I was not picking up the tab. My room was comfortable, and attractively furnished, but hardly any larger than a Novotel's standard offering.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timdawsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear timdawsn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. If you would like to discuss this further please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she will be able to assist you.

We hope to hear from you soon.


Kind Regards,


James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Both myself and my friend decided to stay at Mottram Hall for one night as we were going to a friends wedding which was held at another nearby hotel. We could have chosen a premier inn but wanted the experience of something special and enjoy the whole experience.

Unfortunately, this was not the experience we would have expected at somewhere so 'grand'.

On arrival, we were advised of our room number but no other information was offered i.e. where breakfast was, facilities etc.

That evening we went down to reception and booked a taxi to take us to the wedding reception, we were advised that it would be 15 minutes so went and had a drink in the cocktail bar. After half an hour, we asked reception if it would be much longer and were told, we will come and get you when it arrives. We asked again an hour later and the reception then contacted the taxi company and it arrived 10 minutes later.

The next morning we went down for breakfast at 9.30 and there was a queue of approximately 50 people in front all waiting to get a table for breakfast. Nearly half of those queuing decided not to bother with breakfast and turned back. We waited 40 minutes for a table and it would have been much longer if half of the guests decided to stay for breakfast. At no point did any member of management apologise or give an explanation for this catastrophe and we only saw 2 people in 'suits' once everyone was seated!

We had to rush breakfast as we were due to checkout at 11am and wanted to try and use the spa facilities beforehand. When we did go to the desk at 11am to checkout, again there was a very large queue with only 2 staff on reception so we decided to go and use the facilities and come back later to check out when it had quietened down.

The spa faciliites were excellent and this was the only saving grace for this 'average' hotel. I would recommend for anyone staying to make sure they use these facilities as they are excellent.

When we returned to check out, the receptionist took our room number and advised there was nothing else to pay. At no point were we asked if we enjoyed our stay or if everything had been okay. Quite frankly I don't think they could care less.

Our room was very small, basic and dark. The lighting in the room was very poor. There was a large crack in the sink and it appeared to be blocked. There were hairs left in the bathroom. Finding the room was also very confusing due to the layout of the hotel.

I understand that the hotel has recently undergone a major refurbishment and in places this is evident. However, the hotel needs to focus more on their customer service (this doesn't cost anything) and treat their paying guests with a little more respect. This is a hotel that has left a bad taste unfortunately and had spoilt what we thought was going to be something quite special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Eileen M,

I understand that numerous issues have made you post your comments on Tripadvisor so thank you for bringing this to our attention. I apologise that you did not enjoy your time at Mottram Hall.

We would like to discuss this further with you and encourage you to contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

We hope to hear from you soon,


Kind Regards,


James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived for a one-night stay (a Saturday night) while on a business trip. We were immediately taken with the location - an impressive building in substantial grounds. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay, despite most of their time being taken up with a large wedding party, suggesting a very nice local restaurant to let us get away from the noise and busy wedding. The following morning my wife used the swimming pool and was very happy with the facilities.

However, we did have some issues:
Firstly, the TV in our room appeared to receive just one channel. We reported this to reception and a staff member appeared, turned the TV off and on again and fiddled about with various cables all to no avail. He then disappeared, leaving the TV in the same state as when he had arrived and we heard nothing more on the subject.
Secondly, we both had trouble sleeping due to an extractor or air conditioner that came on and off outside our window throughout the night, continually waking us up. Given the price for the hotel I would have expected that the most basic feature of a hotel - getting a good night's sleep - not to be an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Peter J,


Thank you for your comments in regard to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. I apologise that your television did not work and that you were disturbed during the night. I am however pleased that your wife was able to enjoy our leisure facilities.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

Kind Regards,


James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed at Mottram Hall 2-3 November with friends on a weekend break. Check in was efficient and speedy and we were quickly allocated our rooms. We had lunch in the Claret Jug at the golf club which was quite good. The staff there were very attentive and pleasant and the service was quick. We booked dinner in the Carrington Grill and this was things started to go downhill… my wife ordered a sirloin steak well done and one of our friends ordered a medium rib eye, when the steaks arrived the orders had been mixed up however, when we pointed this out the waiter tried to convince us the fault lied with us and not either himself or the kitchen. That said he did offer to order another steak however, we declined as all the other meals had arrived. To their credit when we pointed this out at check out the young lady handling our check out decided not to charge us for the steak so well done to her for putting this right. My point here is that one particular waiter could learn a thing or two from his colleagues at the Carrington Grill!!!
Breakfast was not that exciting - when we have stayed in similar establishments breakfast is a waiter service and not a buffet - so no poached egg, kippers etc...

Our room was cleaned to a good standard however, we found the bed a bit lumpy - but hotel beds are never perfect... My biggest gripe here is the thinness of the walls between you and your neighbour so we had to listen to next door's hair dryer at 7.00am - it could have been worse….

Overall, it is a very nice hotel in a pristine location but there is some room for improvement.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeLeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear mike15Leeds,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that there were aspects of your trip did not meet your expectations but am pleased that during check out we were able to amend your bill.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

We apologise again and hope to hear from you soon,

Kind Regards,


James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We lived in Wilmlsow for 25 years and knew of this hotel by reputation. My wife had used it on business and even stayed there.

Reception could not be bothered to break their telephone conversations to check us in. It instantly showed the importance of "ordinary guests". The room was tiny (even Swedish youth hostels offer larger rooms) - the window (admittedly double-glazed) would not shut properly to keep out the noise. The room had an ironing boar - but no iron. It also lacked a safe and a refrigerator: the sliding wardrobe door was comprehensively non-operable. Even checking in late-ish (at 4.30 pm) housekeeping staff were still making up rooms on our corridor. We requested - at on-line booking - a quiet room on a high floor. We were given a noisy room (overlooking spa, function area and delivery doors) on the lower ground floor, and reception claimed that no instructions had been passed to them about room requests. We were awakened at 1 am by noisy revellers from the wedding party, at 2 am by the band loading its van and at 6 am by staff coming into work.

As with many old British hotels sound-proofing between rooms is poor. We could hear our neighbours' snoring, TV and plumbing quite clearly.

Breakfast was a typical buffet - fairly comprehensive, including fried eggs (a plus point), but with little or no attention to their quality, the need for restocking and the recognition that they had sat for too long on a hot-plate.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms in the 160 to 190 number series
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Chrisdrew,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Mottram Hall. I am sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations and that you were disturbed in the early hours of the morning.

We would like to discuss this further with you and encourage you to contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

We hope to hear from you soon,

Kind Regards,

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked mottram hall for a nice half term getaway. To my surprise my boyfriend proposed to me during a walk throughout the rose gardens and woodlands! Beautiful surroundings. We had booked afternoon tea and when staff heard of our engagement they bent over backwards for us providing us with champagne, cocktails and even chcocolate strawberries on a congratulations plate! We were made to feel extremely special. This happened on our second day, even without the engagement and thoughtfulness oft the staff, the stay was amazing. Staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the food is excellent. It was such an enjoyable experience I would go back time and time again. Thank you Mottram Hall ( and especially the lovely girl on the bar and manager) for making our time so memorable.
Excellent treatments in the spa also, I had a massage, facial and a last minute manicure (before I went home to see family with my ring) and all were very relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Jenny H,

We are so pleased that Mottram Hall was the perfect setting for your boyfriend to propose to you. Thank you for your comments, it is always lovely to hear such positive feedback in regard to the Mottram team. We look forward to seeing you back at Mottram Hall in the near future.

Best Wishes,

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,229 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
16.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
384 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range: £89 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing