We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at this lovely country hotel for my father in law's 40th wedding anniversary. The bedrooms were spotlessly clean with a comfortable king sized bed and lovely bathroom with powerful shower. By night we sampled the Carrington Grill restaurant where there was a great atmosphere with accommodating staff serving good quality food. It was a special meal and we were especially grateful to the staff for not charging us corkage to drink a bottle of celebratory Dom Perignon. Our bill was over £300 for the meal though :)

Facilities at the hotel are great, the health club with sauna and steam rooms were a welcome addition and the outside jacuzzi was great too.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to go again - despite some idiot shouting outside his bedroom door at about 3am and waking people up- not the hotel's fault though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLochNessMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear TheLochNessMonster,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you chose to spend such a special occasion here with us and it is great that you were able to enjoy all the facilities; The Alfresco Thermospace is certainty an asset to Mottram Hall.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    376
    228
    108
    60
See reviews for
245
538
20
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were attending a wedding reception here so had decided to stay a couple of days beforehand for a restful break. The hotel and grounds are beautiful but all night long the doors on the corridor were slamming and people were knocking on each other's doors! The food in the restaurant is overpriced but well cooked and presented. We found all the staff to be professional and helpful. The wedding reception was lovely and well organised. All in all we had a really nice - though not restful - break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fansofclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear fansofclare,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding reception here at Mottram Hall and that you found all the staff helpful throughout your stay. I am very sorry that you were disturbed during the night by other guests in the hotel.

We do hope you would choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our Society have played here twice in the last month due to the fantastic course and the first class service given by Jonny and his team.
Can't say enough superlatives about this team and look forward to playing again soon

Kind Regards
Sean Murphy
Moorside Golf Society

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Sean M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. It is always so lovely to hear such positive feedback about the team and I am so pleased that you’re Society continue to enjoy using the golf course here at Mottram Hall.

We look forward to Welcoming you back time and time again.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Room had been recently refurbished and was clean, stylishly decorated and of a reasonable size. As mentioned by other reviewers the walls are paper thin, however we were not woken by other guests but instead by three or four staff/cleaners shouting along the corridor at each other at 8am. The self service breakfast was good although there wasn't masses of variety. Being an out of town hotel the quality of the restaurant is important as you become a captive market for them as there is nothing else in walking distance. The Claret Jug (which is part of the golf facilities - don't be put off by that, jeans are allowed!) is a lovely place and the food on the bar menu was excellent and well priced. Unfortunately it only seems to be open for evening food on Fridays and Saturdays so on our second night, Sunday, we had to try the 'Carrington Grill' (the main restaurant where breakfast is served). The food was reasonable but overpriced. Our meal came to £100 but you could have had the same standard at a high street chain for £60. For example, desserts are £7.50 (plus a 10% service charge, so actually £8.25). They were really only £5 desserts i.e. nothing special.
It is a nice hotel in a beautiful location but just didn't quite hit the mark.
One more thing - some of the staff in the restaurant were under trained and not right for a good hotel - 'how are your meals guys?' is for Nando's not for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fgsdgnsingrng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Stu_StAlbans_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your experience in the Carrington Grill didn’t meet you expectations. We would like to discuss this further with you and would ask that you contact Jonathan Boycott, Restaurant Manager via email on jonathan.boycott@devere-hotels.com and he will be able to assist you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a lovely time. The bar staff were superb, really friendly and helpful in fact I think they made our stay.

The spa was good too and made an effort to make you feel individual and remembered me from earlier in the day. Reception was also good.

The room was clean, comfortable and we slept well.

The evening meal was lovely although the lighting could have been improved to help me read the menu!

The only disappointment was the breakfast, although we had no wait it was rather disappointing and more of the standard of a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Stephy S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Mottram Hall and that you found all the staff to be helpful and on hand to make your stay so special.

We hope you choose to return to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My partner and I recently visited De Vere Mottram Hall, and were absolutely blown away by the level of service. From the moment we checked in through to the spa treatment and the waiting staff, each department added something extra to the trip.

My partner had a back, neck and shoulder massage from Rihanna and it was first class, she was greeted by Hayley who was also brilliant. I headed to the gym and all the equipment was brand new and in excellent condition.

The best bit of the trip had to be the outside spa...

We were lucky and got upgraded to a suite, the room was brilliant and the bed very comfortable.

It was also a simple and easy booking experience through bookaspa... thanks to all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knightstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Knightstuff,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am always so proud to hear such positive comments regarding the whole team at Mottram Hall and I am so pleased they were able to make your stay so special.

We do hope you will choose to return to Mottram Hall in the Future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here recently and found it difficult to find a positive. We have stayed in many other hotels that are far superior for less cost ! Reception is dull and pokey and anymore than a few people there at the same time causes congestion. Even though we had reserved the room a few months in advance they could not find our reservation and took nearly an hour to allocate us a room which was at the back overlooking the trade entrance and we assume the kitchens. Couldn't leave the window open without having all the associated smells. We requested a room change but told they were fully booked due to a wedding booking. Our evening meal was a long time being served, was nothing special and was warm not hot as though it had been standing for sometime waiting to be table served.
We had a disturbed night from lots of passing noise outside our room door well into the early hours and again from 6.00 am onwards.

Breakfast left a lot to be desired, took ages to get a luke warm cooked breakfast and the staff were otherwise occupied with some employment trauma rather than providing a service !

Overall a terrible experience

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank third-dimension50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear third-dimension50,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.

If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact Matt Townley, Resident Manager via email on matt.townley@devere-hotels.com and he will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
16.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Property: Mottram Hall
Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing