We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Gateshead
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the Gainsborough suite . Nice room with doors opening onto a patio area . Comfy bed . Our family had two family rooms on the top floor . Each had two children's beds set up . These rooms were nicer than ours we thought . Appeared to be updated . We looked in the pool area and were sorry not to have time to use it . It's a lovely area . Some of our family did use it and said the water was warm . We had breakfast in our rooms as we left early for the airport . Plenty of choice . However one of the family rooms asked for breakfast to be delivered at a certain time and it arrived late so didn't have time to eat it all . Otherwise , it was a lovely hotel .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pixie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Pixie056,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that although your stay was short you had an enjoyable experience.

Hopefully you will be able to return to Mottram Hall in the future to make use of our spa and leisure facilities.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    387
    236
    110
    62
See reviews for
254
560
20
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

So after treating the girlfriend to a spa we stayed the night at the hotel. It was perfect, good corner room looking over the golf course and the main fountain at the front of the hotel! The only downside is that the cleaners took ages to clean our room and this delayed check in. Also when we did check in, you could smell raw sewers in the reception area? I don't know where it was coming from but it wasn't the best smell in the world. Out room didn't smell though so that's the main thing :)

Had a good tea and coffee tray in the room well stocked and loads of other handy essentials like ironing board and iron.

The tv was good aswell, big clear screen with many freeview channels.

You can tell the attention to detail has been highly presented throughout the hotel and everything was well cleaned and looked after.

The morning breakfast was well stocked and the staff were quick and efficient to clean and offer tea and coffee, nice people aswell.

Like I said the cleaners took ages to clean our room before we could go in and it was just the smell of sewers what put me off? Otherwise this would of got 5 stars.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Ryan F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the breakfast team efficient and friendly.

I am sorry to hear that you were delayed checking in to your room and that you witnessed a sewage smell, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dukinfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Mottram hall was the perfect venue for our wedding everything was organised professionally by our wedding co ordinators netty and james and they really took the worry away. The st andrews suite was beutifully decorated for us and everything went without a hitch. The food was also faultless every guest commented on it and everyone had an excellent time. The room we had was also fantastic, plenty of room and very well equipped. On the whole a perfect day thanks to the venue and the team at mottram hall.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chriskerry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Chriskerry2013,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is fantastic to hear that all the team were on hand to make sure your wedding day was so perfect, special and memorable for you both.

We hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was a birthday break for my husband The location was chosen as his brother and wife were joining us and the hotel was about halfway between us and them. We also chose the hotel as it had a swimming pool and spa facilities.

We were greeted warmly by staff who had been extremely busy with a wedding fayre the same day, but who were still smiling. Directions to our room seemed strange but we managed to find it following notices on the wall. The layout is not easy and could be confusing. We did not find a lift to our room on the middle floor but had to carry suitcases up one flight of stairs.

The room was a reasonable size with all facilities you need for a short stay. We were overlooking the golf course. Internet access was good but mobile phone reception limited.

We had an evening bar type meal in the Claret Jug. The choice was a bit limited with no items for vegetarians on offer. Luckily I will eat fish so had a decent meal of fish and chips. Perhaps if I had asked there would have been a non meat meal offered. Breakfast was good and plentiful and served in the main dining area

The swimming pool was a decent size and we used it at least twice a day. Perhaps the temperature was a little warm for swimming. There are also 2 jacuzzis, one inside, one out. We particularly enjoyed the outside one but it was only in use one of the afternoons. There is a steam room and a sauna as well as 2 further rooms outside, a stone bath which was intriguing, and a fairly cool sauna with pine branches on the floor. We made good use of all of these even though it was a bit of a hike up and down stairs to get to the Leisure facilities!

A very pleasant and enjoyable few days. We would consider returning, the location being convenient to us and the experience good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude41045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear jude41045,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that the team were friendly and welcoming towards you.

I am sorry that you needed to take your own luggage up the stairs to your room, we do have a concierge service and they could have assisted you. I apologise they did not, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Fantastic staff, fantastic food, fantastic service, this place is amazing!!! An amazing weekend!! Couldn't ask for anything better :) the swimming pool and spa was amazing and we had a really relaxed time. Zara and Matthew were brilliant and helped us through the night! We love them and looked after us all night! Couldn't ask for more! Xx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Anna O,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found the team to be friendly and helpful.

I hope you choose to return to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

It has been a while since I last visited Mottram Hall and when my friends booked a spa day I was a little sceptical. I was pleasantly surprised, the spa and public areas have all had a makeover and are nicely decorated. The spa in particular was all focused on relaxation, with the candles throughout and chilled out treatment and relaxation room. I was very impressed and will be looking to book my next spa day very soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HugPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear HugPud,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent spa day. I am so pleased to hear that the Club and Spa exceeded your expectations and that you had a relaxing and enjoyable day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the Future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a great stay here, we were lucky that our room was available to check in from 1pm but only due to the cleaner just being in that room otherwise would of been 3pm which I would have been disappointed with. Only think we was unhappy with is we ordered from the room service menu only to find out when they got to the room there's and additional £4 tray charge to the room, this was in fine print on the menu but I think as it's a room service menu it shud just been next to or included in price. This ment it was £10.95 for a sandwich which I think is a little steep. Other than that we couldn't of been happier. Room was perfect, facilities were fab and staff were great. Breakfast was also lovely , looking forward to staying again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellymarie1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Kellymarie1605,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that the team here at Mottram Hall were accommodating so that you were able to have access to your room earlier than expected.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Property: Mottram Hall
Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing