We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated, unusual, nice”
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It’s a short drive from the international airport (MAN; ~40€). Advance request for early check-in was honored even though I arrived at 0800. The hotel is a converted country estate house. It was a maze to get to the room, up a flight of stairs, down narrow winding halls, down a flight of stairs, with a wrong turn to two on the way. The carpeting is showing it’s age, as are all the windows, which assure plenty for fresh air exchanges, even when shut tight. Bathroom was clean and contemporary. Bed was very comfortable. Despite the fact that much of it is made of stone, there was a surprising amount of outdoor and next door noise. No problem for me, I was dog tired throughout my stay. Dinner at the Carrington Grill was not exceptional but good and filling. Same for the Claret Jug, which offers somewhat more casual environment at the clubhouse. The Cocktail Bar & Library felt “odd”, though all was overlooked after a round or two. Selection of libations in all 3 is good. I might stay here again, as it was convenient to my meetings and is in an idyllic part of the Isles. If you’re without a car (as I was) and looking for diversion away from the hotel (I was not), this may not be the place for you. Aside from communing with nature (and it is at its loveliest here, in the Spring) there doesn’t appear to be anything around for many, many miles.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UglyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear UglyBuffalo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay here at Mottram Hall and that you found that all the team were friendly and efficient throughout the stay, assisting you with checking in early.

We hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
There are newer reviews for Mottram Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,230 - 1,236 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We,a group of eight adults( M.Lymer Group) have just returned from a two night stay at Mottram Hall with four rounds of golf in the three days we were there. The golf course itself is a test for all golfers with a pleasant front nine leading to a long hard back nine which can prove very testing indeed. The hotel was clean and well sfaffed,the food which we sampled in both the main restaurant and the Claret Jug was tasty and well presented. Throughout our time in the Claret Jug we were impressed by all the staff but Natalie (supervisor) and Joe dealt with our group and ironed out a minor problem straight away to the satisfaction of everyone.They were pleasant, made conversation and contributed to our experience of the hotel.
The room 823 was clean and tidy but on the second day we only had one bath towel to use and our tea making items had not been restocked.This was rectified straight away when we informed reception.There was building work taking place outside our window but it has to be done at some time so it was luck of the draw.
Overall very enjoyable and would visit again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigj0hn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear bigj0hn05,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased to hear all your group had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found all the team to be helpful and efficient when dealing with some of the issues you experienced during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Looking forward to another stay at Mottram Hall for my birthday and our anniversary on Sunday 25th May.
Stayed plenty of times now but always look forward to another visit and relax in the spa. The staff are lovely and hotel & grounds beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear dee61,

I am so pleased that you have decided to return to Mottram hall to celebrate your birthday and anniversary. We hope you have another relaxing and enjoyable stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff at Mottram are really great, however the hotel needs some work. Radiators rattle and kept me awake, curtains are not great (need black out blinds) and rooms are bare. Most importantly food choice is poor especially for veggies. Way too much salt is used in food - needs to be reduced. The hotel is however on beautiful grounds and has great potential - just needs investment to justify prices charged

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manutd36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear manutd36,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. If you would like to discuss this further please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manger via Isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our 2nd Visit to the Spa at Mottram Hall Spa, again a wonderful experience. All the staff are lovely,friendly and very professional. Excellent warm welcome, treatments very good. Wonderful and very relaxing. Vicki massage & facial was done by Lucy, mine by Jenny Thank you both.
Intend to visit spa again to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1958Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear 1958Christine,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent spa day. I am very pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable day with us, and that all the spa team were friendly and professional and helped you to feel so relaxed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Don't have many positive things to say about this beautiful resort I am afraid: Quick and efficient check in, no complains about that. Average size room, nice decor but the window and the bathroom definitely need an update. Sound-proof windows and doors would be great.

Left the "Library" bar (absolutely overpriced) due to a drunken wedding guest, we were woken up at 3 am but the same party. Once again we were awoken by some guests leaving around 7.

We had to wait for the breakfast, which is fine, however the standard of the buffet I would liken to a Premier inn, except for the fresh orange juice.

Aimed to go to the spa and, surprise (we were not told), the pool was closed and under construction. Tried to relax at the sauna, which was disturbed by the drilling in the pool.

If I had something positive to say about the resort it would be the Claret Jug, the bar at the golf club, the countryside sorroundings and the gym equipment, however I will certainly not go back nor recomment it.

Room Tip: If you are planning a weekend getaway ask if there is a wedding taking place first! If so, avoid
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superclarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear superclarker,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. If you would like to discuss this further please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on Isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrived early afternoon and enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea before checking into our room. After entering the room which initially looked nice there was a distinctive fusty smell. As soon as I walked into the bathroom I immediately noticed numerous pubic hairs around the toilet basin, all over the floor and in the bath tub along with long regular hairs on the floor as well. I then pointed this out to my partner who came to look and agreed that something was not right. We then started to look around the rest of the room and noticed the carpet was covered in 'bits' and the table was thickly covered with dust - all this then made us check the bed - again another combination of pubic and regular body hairs but top it off it also looked like somebody had cleaned their nose and used the bedsheet as a tissue. There was also a hole in the duvet cover. I then checked the pillows and turned the cushion over to discover what can only be a semen stain. By this point we were both disgusted and went down to inform reception. We informed the receptionist and I showed her our photos. She agreed it wasn't acceptable and very kindly upgraded us to another room.... only for the same to happen again!!! MORE hairs in the bath and on the bathroom floor (less than last time!!) AND in the bed!!! Again, we started to look around more - dead mosquito on the dusty window frame, hole in the net curtain, mould spores on the pillow cover (which was flipped over!!) Dust so thick in the wardrobe you could write in it, hairdryer thick with dust, grease on the table, carpet covered in bits again. The bedding looked reasonably ironed on the top but when you turned it down it was severely creased. The door stop had gone through the door and the bathroom handle was held on by two screws. More lovely stains on the walls, the mirror looked like a guest over 6ft had sneezed on it and the 1 chair (1 missing) has another fowl stain on it that had been turned over. At this point we went downstairs again and spoke to the receptionist to point out that we were slightly concerned that this room was in a similar state... She apologised again and said would send the cleaning supervisor up to sort it out. We went a walk around the beautiful grounds (cleaner than the room) to give them chance to clean it however when we came back no one had been. We then had a drink and a further 2 hours had passed at this point. As we were going down to raise our concerns again we bumped into the same receptionist on the stairs who seemed suprised that we wanted this cleaning and didn't think this had previously been agreed - we also asked to speak to the manager at this point. The cleaning supervisor came to our room and we pointed out the issues. He wasn't apologetic and again we asked for the manager with no direct response. We then went down and spoke to another receptionist who was very helpful and immediately found the resident manager. We explained what had happened and that something clearly wasn't right with the cleaning team. He was very helpful and provided excellent customer service however by this point unfortunately the damage had been done. We cancelled our dinner reservation and went out for a few hours to get away from it all as this had totally ruined our stay and has now put us off staying with DeVere again. We couldn't relax and had a terrible night's sleep as the walls are paper thin and continuous banging throughout the night. I disagree with other comments about staff being rude when dealing with complaints. All the staff we spoke to were lovely and it's a shame that the cleaner's have ruined the reputation when everyone else in the team does such a good job. We couldn't wait to leave this morning and this was the first time we relaxed from 3pm the day before. So glad we didn't book two nights I would have cried!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harric88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Harric88,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry that your stay at Mottram Hall did not meet your expectations; I understand that you spoke with the Resident Manager on the day and he was able to rectify the problems for you. I apologise for the disappointment caused.

Kind Regards,

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,490 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
382 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range: £93 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing