We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stopped here along with another 5 ladies, each pair sharing a twin room, It was for a small intimate hen party.

We where unable to check in till 3, so we went off to the spa area and enjoyed the afternoon in the jacuzzi and pool area and took advantage of the sun outside.
During this time we each had individual treatment which where amazing. So professional and relaxing.

We was able to lunch wearing our gowns in the cocktail bar area. The service was very good and food delicious.

Around 4pm we went to check our rooms out, Unfortunately there is no air-conditioning in the rooms and our windows was bolted down......we had no fan. We was absolutly boiling hot.
After phoning reception they brought a fan! a small fan.

The evening meal in the Carrington Grill was superb,the e la carte menu really was nice.
We continued the evening in the bar and then headed back to our rooms.
Unfortunately just as we settled in bed we noticed a large party of ants!!!! Again another call to reception. We was moved promptly and offered complementary drinks and a very apologetic concierge.
Again lovely room, a fan and a window which opened.

Having being moved this meant that we avoided the drunken couple who smashed their hotel room up and each other and brought this out on to the corridor direct facing "the hen" room. She had to call for security as she was scared for her life. Security and police plus the drunk female guest back and forth out of her room disturbing everybody on that floor.

All though these things can't be avoided and guests can't be vetted it would of been nice for a quick
check up on the guests disturbed by this disruption to ensure there wellbeing.

After all these hiccups I'm pleased to say i would return as i enjoyed myself and the spa

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear ferndrea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time in the spa and were made to feel relaxed. We are very sorry again that you were disturbed throughout the night by other residents in the hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We always find it hard to review a 4 star hotel because everything should be right, and was here but with bells on. Check in smooth and efficient, Philip was very friendly leading us to our room. It's a very big building so his guidance was most welcome. The room was to a very high standard and the bed matched our needs perfectly.

Having cycled over a 100 miles to reach the hotel the spa / pool was brilliant and very well equipped. If you like to swim then the water like most hotel pools was too hot but tired and just wanting to relax it was prefect.

The best bit just has to be the food in the main restaurant and Matthew in particular. His knowledge of the food and wine was perfect. His attention to detail excellent, by far the best bit of our stay. He was very well supported by the chef who made too brilliant dishes for us. Food portions were as they should be for a healthy diet and very nicely presented on the plates.

In the morning the breakfast looked to be very well prepared and a very good choice. We only have cereal so can't comment further.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BarcodeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear BarcodeUK,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and such a lovely meal in the Carrington Grill and that you found all the team to be efficient and friendly.

We hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We organized an event for 120 people at Mottram Hall and all the staff were amazing. They were always attentive, organized, and willing to help. The event wouldn't have been the success it was if it hadn't been for all their support.

Thank you guys!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Mariana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Mariana H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to the recent event you held at Mottram Hall. It is fantastic to hear that the event was such a success and that all the team were on hand to help with the running of the day.

We do hope you will return to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

After high expectations for Mottram Hall my wife & I left extremely disappointed. The staff on the front desk weren't very helpful or friendly as they completely ignored us upon arrival & decided to fuss over some golfing regulars. When we finally made it up to our room with no help what so ever with our bags, we arrived to a room which to be fair was very tidy but was barely big enough to move in. We were awoken several times in the night by people walking along the corridor with the walls being so thin so not a great nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning was mediocre & again the staff were none existent. Over all a disappointing stay but one thing I did enjoy was the spa.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dreamer2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Dreamer2783,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. We would like to discuss this further with you and ask that you contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email at Isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she will be happy to assist you.

Kind regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Played at Mottram Hall on Friday 27th June '14 - Really, really impressed with the standard of the course! My golf partner and I, both off single figures (not to brag, but to put it into context) thought the course was in fantastic condition and very well presented. Greens were true, aprons and fringes were well manicured, fairways were lush but not too long and great surfaces to play off. Staff in the Pro Shop were really helpful and accommodating. Front 9 quite open but still a good test. Back 9 reminiscent of The Montgomerie at Celtic Manor - tricky off the tee but still very fair.

I can't vouch for the Hotel but if you want a round of golf on a well presented, testing but fair course, you could do a lot, lot worse than Mottram Hall - can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mjd604215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear mjd604215,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very please to hear that you enjoyed your day on the golf course and that the team in the golf shop were helpful and accommodating towards you.

I do hope you will return to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A bit old fashioned, but a reasonable base for visiting relatives. A bit crowded when there is a wedding on - screaming kids etc, but that is the kind of place it is. Very narrow corridors, and access for a wheelchair.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear john g,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I hope you were able to enjoy your stay with us and would come back to us in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked for our wedding night...Disturbed all night by drunken louts in the corridors...The room was average...no fridge...pretty basic really.
I should imagine a B&B in Blackpool would have been more romantic

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Gari P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so sorry to hear that your stay at Mottram Hall did not meet your expectations. We would like to speak with you further and ask that you contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email at Isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
388 reviews
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
160 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range: £86 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing