We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Sunday lunch.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great value Sunday lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

A very nice Sunday lunch experience. Good food, good wine and excellent service. We were not rushed as we stayed a long time. Will be back very soon. Great venue to take visiting friends due to the lovely view of the golf course.

Room Tip: Restaurant used only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Lynnie97,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent visit to Mottram Hall. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    379
    228
    108
    61
See reviews for
247
540
20
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Mottram hall and there fantastic team organised and delivered a high standard across the board. Fantastic venue and food. Couldnt of asked for a better venue to hold our wedding. Excellent day and night had by all. The team went above and beyond for our day and we are truly greatful xxx

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Claire P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear that Mottram Hall proved to be a fantastic venue for your wedding day. Weddings at Mottram Hall are certainly a team effort and it makes me feel proud to hear that all the team went above and beyond to make your day so special.

We hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co. durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

impressive on approach, although it would be a massive help if there was lights on the sign at gateway, difficult to see when dark.
check in swift and easy. our room long way from main parts of hotel.
breakfast was a let drop, not much choose, greasy serving spoons on cooked breakfast area. floor a disgrace behind cooked food area !! on first two mornings had to ask twice for a pot of tea !!!!! staff seemed as though they didnt want to be there. Had better service and experience in B&Bs
we had breakfast delivered to our room on last morning, so much more choose, not greasy but not very hot and no charge. take note HAVE BREAKFAST IN ROOM.
a dead wasp lay in the windowsill halfway up stairs all the time we where there !!!!!!!!!!!!

fire alarm went off at 4am on morning(false alarm) when we went down all the guy said was false alarm can i offer tea or coffee no apology
now the best bit. The spa area was excellent, friendly polite staff, whole area clean and tidy

Room Tip: ask for room closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear katvillas,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spa facilities here at Mottram hall and that you found all the spa team to be friendly and polite.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the fire alarm in the early hours of the morning. We would like to assure you that all fire alarm activations that occur happen due to a detection of a suspected fire and we do treat every incident as if it is a confirmed fire until our investigation confirms otherwise.

We do hope you will choose to return to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Daughter bought me two days at hotel and spa
Spa massages for me and ny husband were wonderful very relaxing
Service was excellent
Offerd fizz water or whatever no pressure to buy their products
Pool was large two jacuzzis sauna husband said was brilliant hot air and wood chips
Facilities good hair dryers robes slippers everything
Hotel had no lifts to fourth floor suite but room was large and pleasant
It was August but cold heat came on at night
Water sweets biscuits and toiletries in room equipped with iron etc tea coffee kettle very good
This could be a top top hotel
Service fantastic
Breakfast tea and coffee immediately
Let down by self service area one toaster for lots of people four basic cereals fruit on the turn
Choice of bread minimal
Small area crammed with people
Dinner was cold potatoes not cooked properly
Desserts were extremely sweet so much so I left most of mine both nights
Husband ordered cheese board which was very good selection and biscuits good quite expensive but enough for two people
Sandwiches in bar ok beef sandwich had one small piece of beef
Asked for horseradish supposed to be with it
Such a pity this hotel with sports facilities and beautiful grounds could be wonderful
Service and attention by staff the best ever
Spoilt by food quality

Room Tip: No lift so choose carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kailiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear kailiverpool,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit and that you found the spa to be very relaxing. It makes me so proud to hear that you found the service level and attention from all the team to be ‘The best ever!’.

I do hope that you will return to Mottram hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

As a 60th birthday treat, my daughters bought me the 'Spoil Me' package which comprised 115 minutes' fabulous massages. I started off in the gym, it was at the start of the day, just after 10 O'clock, so I was the first visitor that day. Unfortunately, there was no one in the gym to show me how to use the impressive-looking equipment and I didn't want a full 'tour', so I just had a go on a cross-trainer and enjoyed a 20-minute 'jog'. At the end, there was still no staff member in the room, so I went for a swim and to use the sauna, steam room and jacuzzis. They are second to none that I have used - and I've used a fair few - and I had a fantastic, relaxing day. It was quite busy in the spa, but there were enough pool-side beds for all and there was room for a good swim at all times. I especially loved the not-too-hot sauna cabins outside the main spa, where you can actually read in a lovely warm atmosphere without roasting and the two cabins have huge windows so you can enjoy either looking out onto a wet day, feeling pleased that you've made a good choice to be indoors, or - as on this occasion - a lovely sunny day which was not quite warm enough to be sunbathing in the back garden! The steam room had a delicious menthol air, rather than the oppressive clamminess usually associated with steam rooms and the outdoor jacuzzi was lovely and warm, contrasting the cool air above, but incorporating the blue sky and sunshine into a delightful experience. I had a full facial treatment, and trance-inducing back, scalp, leg, ankle and foot massage which left me knot-free and walking on air. My package included a lunch in-a-box which comprised chicken wrap, cous cous, tomato/onion side and a fruit & yogurt dessert which was tasty, but took a long time in arriving, once ordered. Staff were all very helpful and professional and I had a fantastic day; I'll definitely be going back for more soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Annette C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent visit to the spa. I am so happy to hear that you had a fantastic day celebrating your 60th Birthday with us and that you found all the team were helpful and professional.

I do apologise that there was no one around in the gym to help you use the equipment and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We do hope you will choose to return to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Went for the Spa day and afternoon tea. Hotel looks more modern than i expected but impressive on approach.If you want a relaxing day then this is the place. Staff in the Spa helpful. enjoyed treatments and the afternoon tea, although it be very calorific .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear julie f,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing day in the spa, followed by afternoon and that you found the spa team to be helpful.

We do hope you will choose to return to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The course is beautiful but the golf membership is totally inflexible. On numerous occasions I have tried to book but you cannot get through to the pro shop. It will ring out then go to an answer machine nobody rings back if you leave a message. When you do get through it often booked up by golf society or days. This in itself wouldn't be such a problem if the points membership wasn't so inflexible. I cannot play as frequently as I would like, so thought the points system would work well, however my point runout in three weeks, with almost £165 worth left , you have to use up your points within a 12 month period, I feel you should really be allowed to use them all over it as period of time is best for you. Granted I can top up with another £375 but then I'm still stuck with unused points. I did this last year which is where I am now in this position. I decided to try use them up in the spa. Had a very poor facial which had a cash value of £95, and even worse manicure with £55. The therapist was was pleasant enough but fresh out of college and despite me wanting a French manicure, she said she was too nervous is to do it. I feel under pressure to use my points up which is difficult when I am working and I have a sick mother l to tend to. I would be more inclined to stay a member and top upc when they run out, but at this rate they are going to lose a member. I cannot deny the course is beautiful, but this point system which is advertising to inflexible is really really not. If you have to cancel your game on the day because of "the weather, you don't lose the value of the points, which is around £38 per person per game

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 62susiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 62susiem,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your visit to the spa did not meet your expectations and that you have had trouble when trying to use your points. We would like to discuss this further with you and ask that you contact Paul Blain Spa and Leisure Club Manager via email at paul.blain@devere-hotels.com who will be happy to assist you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Property: Mottram Hall
Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing