We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Anniversary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Special Anniversary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I have just returned from an overnight stay at Mottram Hall as a treat to ourselves for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. On arrival the drive up to the Hall is so lovely and tranquil lined with trees and golf course heading towards the Hall which looked stunning with vibrant flowerbeds and fountain. We were greeted by friendly polite staff at check who made us feel very welcome. The room was beautifully decorated and easy to relax in. The bed was huge and aided a very restful nights sleep. Evening meal in the Carrington Grill was delicious. The staff were attentive and so polite. Nothing was too much trouble. We felt very comfortable and relaxed. After dinner we walked around the grounds taken in the beautiful landscaped gardens and enjoying the sunset. We didn't use the facilities in the pool and spa so cannot comment, but that was purely through choice. We had a lovely stay at Mottram Hall and enjoyed the experience very much. This was a real treat for us and it was worth every penny. We would like to visit again and stay a little longer. Thanks to all at Mottram Hall, an anniversary never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Arthur D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us celebrating your 20th wedding anniversary and that the Reception team were on hand to make you feel very welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the future. Maybe next time you will be able to make full use of the Spa and Leisure facilities.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    379
    228
    108
    61
See reviews for
247
540
20
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We arrived 30/8/14 for afternoon tea with my nanna n her sister n my mum. On arrival there was a wedding party, so we couldn't sit in the conservatory we had asked for. We were shown into the tea room they were using and to say I was disappointed would be an understatement! There were people sat in their dressing gowns who had been using the spa and there was no table just a sofa and small coffee table. When we complained our server Matt was very helpful and showed us to another part of the hotel with complimentary champagne. We had beautiful service delivered and staff couldn't be helpful enough. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LouiseA1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear LouiseA1990,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your afternoon tea booking didn’t get of the best of starts, but that Matt was soon able to rectify this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile


Mottram is without doubt the perfect Wedding venue, the Georgian facade and fountain as you drive in is sure to impress. As you enter the magic continues, the grand hallways, welcoming reception rooms and intimate bar make guests feel really welcome. The staff are all superb, very efficient and genuinely helpful.

To say that everything is taken care of is an understatement, James the Wedding Organiser was amazing, always available, never intrusive.

On arrival, during the Bride and Grooms photo session, the guests were treated to Pyms or Peroni with delicious Hors D'oeuvres whilst mingling in the Garden Room or enjoying the sun on the patio. The gardens are perfect for family photographs or videos.

The reception was in The St Andrews Suite, spacious but intimate. The 60+ daytime guests and over 100 evening arrivals were easily accommodated. The food was 5 star in every respect, efficiently served by Mottrams amazing staff. The acoustics are great for speeches, no amplification required here.

The room was magically turned around in about an hour for the evening reception, a live band positioned at the opposite end to the bar and a lovely outdoor area available too. A barbecue style buffet served in the adjacent Orangery was delicious. Candle lit lanterns in the garden and the hotels facade lit in purple, the couples choice, made for a lovely atmosphere after dark.

Many guests, including ourselves, stayed overnight. We had the Hogarth suite with a large four poster bed. Comfortable and quiet, we slept well and happy.

Our party had the delicious breakfast next morning, served buffet style in the Carrington Grill, with Full English and quality Continental available. The room is large but intimate. For those staying longer the spa facilities are available too.

So, if you are thinking about Wedding venues, look no further, Mottram is unbeatable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cabbie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear cabbie37,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you found Mottram Hall to be the perfect venue for your wedding and that all events team were on hand to help make the day such a success.

We hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Booked very last minute the day before and was not disappointed. Immaculately refurbished with welcoming staff. We were upgraded in arrival which was a bonus and had a super Junior Suite. All staff so attentive and willing. We enjoyed a really first rate dinner in the Carrington Grill, cooked to perfection and great service.

The formal grounds are quite extensive and so well maintained.

Some minor niggles: don't like having to pay for vegetables separately they should be included and the breakfast whilst all well cooked perhaps lacked some variety and quality. We will be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Whoneedsnameanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Whoneedsnameanyway,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed stay and had a ‘first rate’ dinner in the Carrington grill and that all the team showed attentiveness and willing.

We do hope you will return to Mottram Hall in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Family room was booked but had been assigned standard double and no other available family rooms so were given a larger room with z bed and cot. Room was nice although a tight squeeze with the extra beds. Staff were very helpful esp deputy mgr. Room svc food was terrible, given raw chips, food in general was fairly average. During our stay we attended a large family meal and the chef appeared to have little to no knowledge of gluten free foods and asked what I would normally eat in order to cater for me during this meal.There was a wedding om the day and with regard to communal areas we felt we were intruding whenever we passed through. Beautiful grounds however leisure facilities dated

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Family4Ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Family4Ds,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss this further please contact Jonathan Boycott, Carrington Grill and Cocktail Bar Manager via email at jonathan.boycott@devere-hotels.com who will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

My friends and I recently spent a wonderful day in Mottram Hall Spa having facial and manicure treatments. The facial I experienced was very relaxing and soothing and well worth the money. The manicures were top class. The therapists were friendly and polite and although fresh from college delivered treatments that were professional and of a high standard. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside/basingstoke
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Mottram Hall for our 1st wedding anniversary.

We stayed 1 night in the "chambre unique " with dinner at the Carrington Grill and breakfast. Our room overlooked the lake, and came with Starbucks coffee!

The hotel is an impressive building in beautiful surroundings with a golf course & has an impressive looking thermospa, which we sadly didn't have time to use (NEED to return to try it- if Devere are reading this, I certainly wouldn't turn down a complimentary spa day! )

When we arrived we parked in our own named parking space, which I thought was a really nice touch, The checking in process took a matter of minutes & we were greeted with some complimentary champagne in our room, which was a lovely surprise!

As there was a wedding going on, we decided to have drinks in a bar separate to the main house & watch the football. We mentioned to the lovely Jess that it was our anniversary, and she very kindly gifted us both a glass of bubbles!

I am the world's fussiest eater but the fillet steak in the Carrington Grill was cooked to perfection, honestly the best steak I've eaten.

Breakfast was standard de Vere buffet style, cooked, continental etc.

It's a lovely hotel, but what really makes it is the service, every single member of staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable & and for that we are really grateful xxx


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank oldclazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear oldclazza,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you chose Mottram Hall to celebrate your 1st wedding anniversary and that all the team throughout the resort were on hand to make sure that your stay was so memorable.

I do hope that you will choose to return to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Property: Mottram Hall
Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing