We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The luxury of silence”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kilgetty, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hugh C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The luxury of silence”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If like my partner and I you lead a busy life and crave the chance to unwind in beautiful, quiet and scenic surroundings, then Knowles Farmhouse is for you.

Firstly, the location - just a short walk from the delightful village of Lawrenny with its stunningly beautiful quay. You can leave the car at the farmhouse and enjoy great walks exploring the local countryside and rivers.

Add to this the friendly welcome and expert advice (of things to do) from the owner - who also delivers wonderful organic breakfasts.

The room we stayed in was very comfortable with a spacious en suite bathroom. The views from the room were wonderful; but for me awaking each morning to complete silence only broken by the sweet sounds of birdsong - priceless!

One other benefit was the accommodation was separate to the main house, giving us the feeling of privacy but always knowing our hosts were there to help if any was needed.

I have returned home from a three night stay at Knowles Farm refreshed and revitalised. A very special experience. I highly recommend a stay here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sockmaze
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming B&B in a lovely part of Wales”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed for 3 nights at Knowles Farm and absolutely loved it & our little bedroom (the double room next to the common room with the bath). While I agree with other reviews in that there was a definite old-fashioned quality about the place, I found that made the place really charming & homely. Despite the aging decor (everything from the colonial to the 1970s), everything was surprisingly well looked after and well-loved. Our room (which had a large window overlooking the garden, chest of drawers, mirror, chair, books & leaflets on local attractions -- no TV, as this was in the common room) was neat and clean, and while the bathroom had traces of items left by other guests (e.g. mismatching shampoos), I strangely welcomed the "waste not want not" approach...it seemed fitting. That said, there was a push-down soap dispenser, so (luckily) no sharing of soap bars. Virginia & David were fantastic hosts with a lot of knowledge on the local area, attractions & places to eat. They were also extremely welcoming in an environment which felt so much like a normal home (as opposed to a business) that you could have easily felt as if you were intruding ... but instead, you felt like part of furniture! Breakfast was simple & what you'd expect at a lot of B&Bs -- an English breakfast, plus a selection of cereals (all organic or gluten free), yogurts, juices & fruit. One thing that is definitely worth a mention is the sheer peacefulness of the place. With no traffic (or noise of any kind) or light pollution to wake you up, be prepared for a great night's sleep!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DandDdotC...
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shabby, certainly not chic!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Positives:-
Lovely location, stunning views, very nice breakfast, welcoming hosts.

Negatives:-
Outside steps up to accommodation dirty not swept, paint peeling off door at the top, not great for first impression.
Our room was shabby, curtains that had seen better days, badly faded and stained.
Bed linen had patches sown on to hide the holes. Bed head old and outdated.
A dirty dried smelly flannel greeted us in the small en-suite, shower which had a rusting shower rail plus a rusting metal shower rack and basically whole en-suite needed to be updated.
Ageing grey/white towels which I later noted on a previous rating from two years ago appear to still being used. No nice toiletries, some Dove hand wash and gents something or other in the shower. A bar of soap left from a previous guest no doubt and wereally do not want to use someone else's shower sponge that was hanging up.
The toilet had not seen bleach or lime scale remover in the bowl for a very long time.
A wall hanging that was falling to pieces and needed to be thrown away.
Dressing table mirror that you could write your name in there was so much dust.

I did point out to the owner about the cleanliness of the room after the first night and she seemed rather surprised and did apologise.

We originally booked for three nights with our two dogs, but after two we just didn't want to stay any longer, we felt it was dirty and grubby. We may have dogs but we have stayed in much nicer establishments in the past.

Whilst this maybe a working farm,we felt the owners were quite happy to take our money £70/night plus £2 for one of the dogs, but certainly did not want to invest any money in updating the facilities. We originally found this in an Alistair Sawday's book so was very disappointed and one we certainly would not recommend.

We moved on to Vine Cottage in Saundersfoot with our dogs, fantastic, how a B&B should be run, our only regret was we did not find it in the first place. Did not have the views as above, but a stunning, well tended large garden.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2013
First I should say I am so sorry our guests were so unhappy and wish that for the sake of their short break they had 'given notice' after the first night so they could enjoy the rest of their stay in our lovely county without such concerns.
To begin with we have never claimed to be chic and would not want to be, in fact Alistair Sawday describes our rooms as old fashioned but comfortable which they are.
The duvet cover had one small inch wide patch on it which was embroided with daisies and was sewn on to cover a snag from the clothes line. The mirrors are Victorian so look dusty but are just ageing.
We are an organic farm and do not use bleach at all we use Ecover which is better for the environment and ensures a good standard of cleanliness for our guests
There were other toiletries in the little cupboard hanging on the bathroom wall.
The stone steps are offered as an option and is one most of our guests take up as they lead quickly to the car park and our guests with dogs positively welcome it as it means they can take their doggy friends out last thing at night and first thing in the morning without coming through the rest of the house. A small amount of paint is beginning to peel off that doo, so it will be painted again before next season. The main door is a great oak door and is lovely.
We would have loved you to spend more time out in the front with your dogs where there is masses of space for them to run about and the wild garden area is also a favourite spot for dogs.- there is even a pond there for them to cool down in.and shady trees to shelter under.
We hope you had a happy time on your last day
.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMHasting...
London
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderfully peaceful & friendly.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We were delighted to find this wonderful old farmhouse b&b to break our journey to Ireland. Gini is a wonderfully welcoming host and as well as providing a huge & delicious organic breakfast, was also very helpful at advising us on local restaurants, pubs and things to do. We had our dog travelling with us, and the dog friendly room that we were offered was very good and spotlessly clean. Walking around the grounds, and down to the nearby estuary was wonderful for both us and the dog, it really is a stunning area of countryside. This is a venue I would happily come back to to stay for longer to explore the countryside & beaches, farm animals & for more of the wonderful organic food.

The bedroom was large, traditionally furnished, with a wonderful view over the gardens and the bed was comfortable. The en suite bathroom was fine, although a bit of updating for that particular bathroom would be my plan if I ran the b&b. Not many people like carpets in toilets these days, and some plain white tiles and a more modern or traditional shower would finish off the room brilliantly. The house itself is a treasure trove of lovely books and artifacts without being cluttered or grubby. I loved this place and hope to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
102MJW
St Albans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay in a Great Location”
Reviewed 6 February 2012 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We had a really lovely peaceful time at this B&B. The loft suite was perfect for us [family of 4] and the surrounding countryside (including the garden of the B&B) is beautiful. There's lots to do and see in the local area, and some great places to eat as well. Riverside pubs, castles, beaches, walks across fields and along estuary etc. Great B&B breakfasts as well, and don't miss the local Reptile Center - its really good despite the rather unimpressive exterior!

For a UK family holiday stay for a week or so, i think this is really top notch. My kids of 8 and 12 loved it!

Martin

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
almcf1
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Patina of aged quality and the faded charm of the well loved home.”
Reviewed 21 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
3
people found this review helpful

An ancient and unimposing gateway in a bowered lane hints at the peaceful repose and dignity of this charming home. We were not disappointed. It's a real privilege to be offered hospitality by such kind hosts who choose to open their home to us in this way. This is not a B&B business, but a real home, made home for us for a couple of nights and much appreciated.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margareta...
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Batteries recharged,we fairly flew back to London...!”
Reviewed 21 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
3
people found this review helpful

From our initial doggy welcome to Gini's farewell wave, the two of us enjoyed five pleasurable days at this farmhouse in Lawrenny. In spite of the less than summery weather, we were regaled with exciting places to visit by our host, making the most of her extensive local knowledge. Our breakfasts were enjoyable experiences, all the more so as the food was organically tasteful. Our bed was comfy to die for, the shower warm and inviting, the quiet and total darkness at night a paradise for townies like us. Oh, and if you like a good yarn, there are books everywhere...! We spend time at chain hotels and enjoy those experiences also, but for sheer bucolic 'awayness', this was something else. Ambridge it wasn't, thankfully. You will love this place, believe us!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing