We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally clean and well staffed.”
Review of The Poldark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Poldark Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Delabole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The room we stayed in had been recently refurbished and was done to a most acceptable quality. As we regularly stay in the Marriott chain and other 4* plus hotels we feel that this being a pub the comparison with those hotels is very favourable.
The room was large, the bathroom excellent and the double aspect room great for watching the sheep graze.
The food was well cooked and the service was first class. My only complaint would be that the selection of both beer and whisky was poor, but that may be against a background where there is insufficient throughput to widen the choice.
Is the price we were charged was reasonable although I suspect that those travellers who are irregular in their visits to such establishments may see the price as being in the high side.
Overall very good value for money and were we in the area again we would be happy to revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yoshik53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Comfortable and well decorated (if dated style). Main thing for us, it was the only hotel available (and a few weeks in advance) that was a reasonable price and took dogs (apart from travelodge which we had previously stayed in, this was better!)

Bar decor was firmly based in 70s! Food choice limited but good quality, value and portions. Would benefit from some fresh vegetables being offered instead of the usual chips & peas!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nigelom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Although the apartment we stayed in is spacious , it was quite tired. No hot water for a bath but thankfully the shower was hot . No food as a 70 birthday party on which was fine but after a long days walking and paying £90.00 for the room it was a pain to have to drive out to find somewhere. Breakfast was also disappointing . We stay all over Cornwall and £55.00 a night is about right in our opinion . Sorry we will not return and this could be so special . I read the reviews before we booked and do not agree with the comments written from our experience.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poldarkinn, Owner at The Poldark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Ms Willis, thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are sorry that your stay wasn't up to expectation. We did advise all customers that we could not serve food after 7.30pm due to the function that you mention, so hopefully it didn't come as too much of a surprise. Secondly, from our discussion, we understood that you managed to find and operate the boiler in the apartment for the hot water. Regarding the breakfast, we do offer a choice at breakfast as we cater to all dietary requirements and therefore would be been pleased to have offered an alternative meal. We have received very positive reviews over the last couple of years regarding our breakfasts, so we would have welcomed your direct feedback and been given the opportunity to put things right. Regarding the room rate, we believe 90 pounds for a self-catering one bedroom apartment for two people, two dogs, including breakfast in North Cornwall as being very competitive. Kindly note that the nearest alternative costs in the region of 120 pounds per night and excludes breakfast. We do have rooms within the hotel similar to the price range that you mention so would strongly suggest that you book these should you give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed one night b&b. room a little on the small side but had all that was needed for a goods night sleep. Bathroom clean and towels white! Evening meal good and freshly cooked so was hot. Breakfast good and kept you going for good few hours.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stopped off here for a bite to eat - pub is a little basic, but the friendliness of the staff and the freshness of the food more than made up for it. Really lovely meal, wine was chilled and beer cold.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DaisySorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was our first hold with our dog and the self catering cottage could not have been better.It had it's own little walled garden with no way of getting out.It was clean and even had a washing machine which was a big help.From the minute we arrived until the time we left nothing was to much trouble.The staff were friendly and always willing to chat..The food is good and good value.We have stayed in the b+b before as family live nearby and can't wait for our next visit.thanks made and Tracey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on a recent trip to St Ives. We stayed in a self contained cottage.

The bed was a bit lumpy but overall a great place for us to stop over. The cottage had a small, self contained garden as well whihc was great for our dog.

We ate in the pub in the evening. Whilst it is your typical pub offering, we found the service, value and food to be great.

I am not sure I could stay there for a week as it is quite remote but we would definrely stay there again for an overnight stop or long weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delabole
3.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,333 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
281 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
1.7 mi away
Port William Inn
Port William Inn
#4 of 24 in Tintagel
634 reviews
2.8 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poldark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poldark Inn

Address: Treligga Downs, Delabole PL33 9DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Delabole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Delabole
Price Range: £67 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poldark Inn is a family run Pub set in a very tranquil location. We provide affordable Bed & Breakfast and One and Two Bedroom Self Catering Accommodation on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast.All major attractions on the coastline are easily accessible and the location is also linked by footpath to the stunning North Cornwall coastal path.The Bar is open from 6pm each evening and provides meals and drinks at very competitive prices for this area.Pets and Children are welcome and given our competitive prices, we strongly recommend that you book early over peak seasonal periods to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Poldark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poldark Inn Cornwall/Delabole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing