We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern & Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poldark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poldark Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Delabole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Went down to Cornwall to visit friends at the end of January and "the boss" decided to make it a short break. We stayed in a self-catering apartment at the Poldark Inn and it was great - the apartments are modern and comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. The kitchen was equipped with a cooker with oven, microwave, fridge and toaster - just about everything needed.

We had not been down that way for a few years and found this is a very good location as a base for exploring North Cornwall and the excellent coastal walks.

Food and drink in the bar was very good and reasonably priced - we both had rump steaks and a bottle of house wine and then moved on to the bar... good job we weren't driving!

Overall it was a nice break and excellent value. We hope to return in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    52
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Had planned to stay 3 nights but only made one night. The room was failrly clean but very outdated and in great need of improvement. The reason we only stayed one night was de to the strong smell of tom cats (or something similar) in the entrance lobby and especially when sat around the var in teh evening. Unfortunately the bar area was also where breakfast was served, the smell left us wondering what else might be gong on in teh kitchen.....
Internet access was also advertised but was not available because the staff had forgotten the passwords....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apache_sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poldarkinn, Owner at Poldark Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2010
Thanks for your review.

Taking your points in turn, yes we are aware we need to update the property, this is not possible at this time due to an illness within the family, however, this is reflected in our room rates that have been frozen for over 5 years now.

The smell that you referred to was due to flooding in one of the guest rooms that leaked through the ceiling into the bar area, you may have noticed that the plaster from the ceiling in the bar area had been removed.

We serve breakfast in the bar area given this is the warmest room, however, in these circumstances this was a mistake for which we apologise.

We are sorry that you did not mention these issues when you checked out early as we would have done our best to make amends or refund your monies.

Regarding your speculation about our kitchens, we are subject to regular health and safety inspections and we have no problems here. Most of our clientele are regular customers who dine with us on a regular basis.

Finally, regarding advertising, with the exception of our web site and a google place page, we do not advertise and therefore your claim regarding the internet being advertised is not correct.

We are a small family business and take great pride in taking care of our customers, this is reflected in the repeat business that we enjoy despite the fact that we do not advertise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

A great escape from the rat race. A family run hotel/inn with good beer and excellent food. Not too far from the mainstream beaches and off the main roads. Cornish hospitality at it's best. Chill and enjoy

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penguinlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed bank holiday weekend at this family run b & b. It's off the beaten track, on the outskirts of Tintagel (4 miles) and within walking distance of Trebarwith Strand.
It has to be said that the hotel itself seems a little isolated on the edge of Delabole. Take a torch if you plan on walking into the village at night as there is street lighting only part of the way. There is a feeling of being miles away from anywhere, but it is only a 10 minute drive to Camelford and 15 minute drive to Bosscastle. The coastal walk into Trebarwith was stunning.
The location is peaceful, surrounded by beautiful countryside and views across the fields to the sea.
There is ample parking available.
The entry into the reception area has a definite feel of the early 80's as does the rest of the hotel.
We were greeted by a very friendly lady who showed us to our room.
which was large, and bright with lovely views and a clean and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean with a decent shower over the bath and constant very hot water.
Check before staying if the hotel has any functions or private parties before you stay as there is no food available at these times. There is a pub called the Bettle and Chisel in the village that serves excellent food, (the staff were great as was their choice of music).
The Poldark Inn bar stays open as long as residents require it to, there is a pool table and tv for residents use.
Breakfast was served in the function room by a very pleasant, efficient young lady. The food was absolutely gorgeous, all locally produce too (apart from the coffee, I don't think that was local)! In all a very pleasant stay ........

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delabole
2.8 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.3 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
4.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.0 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poldark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poldark Inn

Property: Poldark Inn
Address: Treligga Downs, Delabole PL33 9DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Delabole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Delabole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poldark Inn is a family run Pub set in a very tranquil location. We provide affordable Bed & Breakfast and One and Two Bedroom Self Catering Accommodation on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast.All major attractions on the coastline are easily accessible and the location is also linked by footpath to the stunning North Cornwall coastal path.The Bar is open from 6pm each evening and provides meals and drinks at very competitive prices for this area.Pets and Children are welcome and given our competitive prices, we strongly recommend that you book early over peak seasonal periods to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poldark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poldark Inn Cornwall/Delabole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing