We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy stay ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harmony Hill Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harmony Hill Country House
Ranked #4 of 16 Ballymoney B&B and Inns
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy stay ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just the one night & we were the only people staying that night. Fire was lit in bedroom for us when we arrived & we ate in restaurant too. Room abit chilli when we came back from dinner, but the fire had gone out :( however, slept well in the huge bed.
Food was good as was welcome & hospitality.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MKP669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
43
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a false start in Room 6 which, unlike the other bedrooms in this property, was a massive disappointment when compared with the online description. However, my expression of dissatisfaction was met with a faultless response. We were moved to one of the main rooms and came back after a day out to find a open fire filling our room with flickering shadows and homely warmth.

This is a lovely old house surrounded by pleasant gardens and adjacent to a derelict mill which adds to the charm. The hosts were personable & friendly and we had a delightful, relaxing stay. We ate in the restaurant twice and on both occasions the meals were perfect. I found it rather odd that I wasn't offered a decent choice of wines but I did accept the anonymous house red without query so I can't really fault the proprietor.

All in all this is an excellent place to stay and very good value for money. If it wasn't for the fact that we spent one night in an unsatisfactory room I would be awarding 5 stars. Don't be put off though - I would recommend this upmarket B&B.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Curmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We loved this place so much last March that we returned for an end-of-Summer vacation with my Husband's children and our beloved big mutt Bear.

Richard and Trish were as welcoming as ever and accommodated our every need during our 5 day stay. There wasn't a thing for us to do as we relaxed in their fabulous guest house.

The food is incredible and Cora the chef makes the most satisfying and mouth-watering meals in the evening restaurant. The Hake was out of this world, as was the Trio of Temptation seafood dish. Apparently the lamb and the burger were delicious and filling too.

They accommodated all my quirky dietary needs, providing Vegan food made out of vegetables grown in the garden and offered Gluten-free alternatives for every meal. There is nothing more relaxing than sitting in the drawing room after dinner, by a roaring flame fire in good company.

The weather was so good, we spent evenings out on the verandah - truly a haven of peace if ever there was one, and is particularly romantic with all the lanterns lit.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds are comfortable.

It truly is a home from home and a place you want to return to.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a nice double, and has a bath tub and shower en-suite. Room 2 is a good Kingsize or Twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeeThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We also took awhile to find the place, but once we were there we were in heaven. Both Trish and Richard greeted us and showed us to our room, two story--one for my husband and I and one for my kids, both adults but fit in the beds perfectly. We went to dinner and came back and just chilled. I did my exercises in the beautiful living room, no problem. Slept extremely well and had a spectacular breakfast. It was a grand way to start our vacation! And the location! Close to Dunluce Castle and the Giant's Causeway! Beautiful gardens as well. Check it out, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We got a better price dealing directly with Harmony Hill! I expect any room would be delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mag121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

It took a while for us to find it. Then as we drove up a long gravel drive, I thought I had entered the wrong road at first, we were happy to see the beautiful country house and grounds.

Richard met us at the door and greeted us. He showed us to our room. The room was spotless and really nice. The loft upstairs for our twin teenage boys was great.

We were tired and did not feel like looking for a restaurant so, we decided to dress up and have a quiet dinner there. I am so glad we did!

The food prepared for us was gourmet quality that one would be hard pressed to find in the best upscale hotels with restaurants on the premises. To get this in our little country cottage was a welcome surprise.

We had starters, mains and deserts for four and we each tasted each others and all the dishes were excellent.

There was a nice wine list and some good whiskey from the local Bushmills distillery.

The next morning we returned to the dining area for breakfast. Again, great food. A complete Ulster fry or your choice of cereals, fruits, nuts, muesli etc.

Terrific stay all around! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Great family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a remotely located B and B in the Antrim area of Northern Ireland. The property is lovely, just what you would expect for a B and B in Ireland. The public rooms are spacious and the breakfast room is totally charming. Delicious breakfasts. Trish will even cook you dinner if you plan in advance. The garden is spectacular. Use the latitude and longitude on GPS - it took us a bit of time to find the place but it was worth it. It was very easy to travel to all the North attractions, Giant's Causeway, Bushmill's Distillery, et

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

driving up the drive you get a feeling of expectation and suddenly there you are at a beautiful country house. We were greeted by the owners son Philip who was home from London for the weekend - he showed us to our room which was really lovely and had a huge bed ! Our only disappointment was that it was summer and we really couldn't justify lighting the fire - but we will return in the winter so we can take advantage of this. We met Trish as we left our room to explore the grounds, which are extensive and she made us feel very welcome and at home. We had booked for dinner and after having a drink in the beautiful drawing room we went through to the charming restaurant and had an excellent meal - the food is out of this world. We slept extremely well and the following morning went for breakfast and were spoilt for choice from the wide range of items on offer - not just the usual breakfast items but nuts, dried fruits, stewed fruit, fresh fruit salad to name a few - then a full cooked breakfast which set us up for the day. We ate again in the restaurant that evening and again the food was exceptional my partner said his fillet steak was the best he had ever. All in all it was an extremely pleasant experience and we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymoney
2.9 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
10.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Hedges Hotel
The Hedges Hotel
#3 of 16 in Ballymoney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
7.5 mi away
Gardenvale Bed & Breakfast
Gardenvale Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 16 in Ballymoney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinetrees Bed & Breakfast
Pinetrees Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 16 in Ballymoney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hill Country House

Property: Harmony Hill Country House
Address: Balnamore, Ballymoney BT53 7PS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymoney
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymoney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Harmony Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hill Country House Hotel Ballymoney
Harmony Hill Country House Ballymoney, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing