We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Pandan Island and cant wait to go back”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pandan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pandan Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pandan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked three nights at Pandan Island in early March 2014 and our only regret is that we did not book more nights and days there. We arrived quite late on the Monday night as the 10am dimple star bus from Manilia does not arrive in Sablayan until around 7.30pm - but we informed the resort and they told us all was fine with the boat accross and they held back food from the evening buffet for us too!
We went for a standard bungalow which was what we expected - anyone wanted more luxury should go for the deluxe.
The bungalow was fine for us - a comfy bed, nice deck and very rustic.
The staff were lovely, we both had massages which nearly sent us both to sleep. Food was good and the buffets were very tasty.
The bar is different every night depending on the guests of course and the night we arrived several guests had instruments and were playing live music - great fun -other nights more chilled out and you can grab a board game or chat to another guest.
The island was like paradise. the bungalows are a stones throw away from the beach hidden in the coconut trees. the beach is stunning - the water was warm and very clear. The sound of birds waking you up was wonderful too.
we did not have time for diving but hired snorkel gear and had a blast - saw loads of sea turtles, lion fish, clown fish and so on. we didnt want to leave and have promised to return

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Quite simply the closest you get to Paradise. It is so beautiful so quiet so delicious and so is the sea wonderful adventure right outside the cabin cooling shade. We snorkelde with the largest and most beautiful sea turtles and thousands of amazing fish .. The food is beautiful and the atmosphere is unique... Don't miss out on this adventure - the tip there is a little long and hard but it's worth it...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and the island is beautiful. From the beach, you simply walk out to snorkel amongst some really great coral heads or towards the sea grass side to view sea turtles. Dinner buffet was just ok one night (mostly Western-ish food) but the next night, it was great since there was more Fillipino food (very tasty sinigang, whole grilled fish, coconut curried sweet potato). Stick with the Fillipino food, Pandan, and the guests will appreciate it!

We showed up one day late since we arrived late in Sablayan (we were told by locals on our bus that the boat to Pandan would not run at night but it does and they were expecting us). Nicolas, the owner, was very understanding and did not charge us for the missed night. Yes, it is not for everyone as it is rustic - saltwater showers, no fans at night (which does make sleeping a bit tough), but we would return in a flash. We missed out on Apo reef since the next trip was occurring after our check-out date (I wished I had known to ask) so we will return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

No question, the island is more than lovely, the bungalows are nice, the snorkelling is great.

BUT: the owners don't seem to enjoy their job very much. And this is what gave us a really bad vibe. When we arrived the place was fully booked, so we hang around in Sablayan for three days, just waiting to get the first free room. We contacted them several times, also for a dive-trip (but the boat was always full, don't forget to make a reservation for that as well if you want to join them). When we were finally allowed to come over we were welcomed by a very rude : "Oh you. YOU were supposed to be here three days ago!" (no, we would have loved to, but...) Then it turned out that they weren't sure about where we should stay and left us with a: "We will see if we have a room available. You have accomodation for tonight. Everything else tomorrow." Nothing you want to hear on your last two nights of vacation, when you waited three days to just stay there. When I complained - since I had them on the phone twice and wrote several emails, so I expected everything crystalclear by then - the owner told me "not to make a scene". Never made a "scene" in my life... But after that remark I was quite close...

They got us a room in the end. But I was never treated that harshly by a host.

Try to stay out of there way, make a reservation weeks ahead, enjoy the amazing beach and the nice huts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Have spent one week in Pandan Island resort. wanted to go diving at Apo reef 1 day after my arrival, was not possible, as the diving boat was already fully booked. Means max. 4 passangers on the diving boat only. had to wait 2 days to finally get a daytrip to Apo reef. Boat was not in good condition. 1 daytrip with 3 dives at Apo incl. boat, apo-parkfee more than USD 100.- (boat charges for all 4 passengers total PHP 9000.-, other diveshops in the Philippines the boatcharges were included and I said, the boat was in really bad condition). absolutely too expensive. would recommend a live a board instead of this island (for divers).

Food was OK but PHP 470.- for Dinnerbuffet too expensive for what you get.

Rooms are very simpel, no electric van in the rooms, can get very hot during the night. also absolutely too expensive for what you get.

all in all, first and last time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank masterdiver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Warm weather -in spite it was rainy season-, nice staff, lovely beaches, coconuts, snorkeling with turtles and over the coral reef, very good dive center -Butterfly dive center, it's called-... what more can you expect from a tropical island... We were there four days and its one of the best memory i kept from my travel to Phillippines. The dive center also arranged a dive trip to Apo Reef, the best place I've ever dived.
Backpackers rooms makes Pandan Island affordable for everyone. Bungalows are awsome. And much more expensive, of course.

Room Tip: Backpackeers rooms have communal bathroom. In fact, very very basic wc... Obviously is not the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaumeCatalunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 4 night stay on Pandan and we didn't want to leave! We travelled in the Philippines for 5 months and this was one of our favourite islands and resort.
We had to book in advance as the resort is only small and is often full during the high season. The owners and staff were super friendly and welcoming, the service was excellent.
We stayed in a budget room for p750 per night, great value! The room was very basic, traditional style with just a bed and the ceiling is open so you can see the lights in the next room and hear everything, be considerate to your neighbours! This was fine and we met some wonderful people. There is also no lock to the door but you can leave your valuables in the safe at reception, the island is very safe. There is no electricity in the room, only a light from a 12v battery but you can charge items in the dive shop. The bathrooms for the budget rooms are shared, very clean with a salt water shower and a bucket of fresh water to rinse, back to basics, but we loved it! There are also bungalows with private bathrooms, if you aren't on such a tight budget.
The beach is absolutely beautiful, fine white sand, turquoise water and usually deserted. Snorkelling off the beach is amazing, sea turtles feeding on the grass, sting rays and an abundance of fish in the coral garden.
The island is tiny and very peaceful, the resort is the only place on the whole island, the restaurant is very good, big breakfasts and a buffet style dinner. The buffet is expensive and you are required to take one buffet each day, but there is lots of choice and we enjoyed having so many dishes to try.
The reason we stayed at Pandan was for my husband to dive Apo reef on a day trip from the island. He was required to do one dive around the island so they could check his diving ability, he was thrilled to have an excuse to do another dive! The trip to Apo took about 2 hours, the boat was big and lovely with a group of divers and snorkellers. I was snorkelling and it was amazing, I've never seen so many beautiful fish and dolphins, we saw a giant manta ray, it was amazing. The diving was also pretty spectacular, some of the best dives my husband has ever done. The only issue I had was the very strong currents, too fast to swim against, we had to float with the current and were picked up by the boat. I can understand why they want to see you dive before talking you out in such strong currents. The day trip to Apo, the diving and the enviroment fees were expensive but absolutely worth it, definitely one of our highlights from the Philippines.
We had such a wonderful stay and really hope to go back one day. Pandan island will not be to everyones taste, the accommodation is very rustic, escape to paradise, castaway, Robinson Crusoe. It's simply amazing

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hollies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pandan Island
40.2 mi away
Sikatuna Beach Hotel
Sikatuna Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Jose
61 reviews
45.3 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#22 of 54 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
48.4 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gustav's Place Beach Resort
45.3 mi away
Mountain Beach Resort
Mountain Beach Resort
#13 of 61 in Puerto Galera
46 reviews
48.3 mi away
Coco Beach Island Resort
Coco Beach Island Resort
#21 of 54 in Puerto Galera
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandan Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandan Island Resort

Address: Pandan Island, Pandan Island, Mindoro 5104, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Occidental Mindoro Province > Pandan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pandan Island
Price Range: £13 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pandan Island is a private island with a small resort on the West coast of Occidental Mindoro, Central Philippines.Since the island was 'discovered' and the resort established in 1986 by a French adventurer, this tropical island retreat has been voted time and again as one of the top resorts in the Philippines, not in terms of luxury (we do not have air-conditioned rooms, room service or cable television networks on the island) but for it's life close to nature and it's personalized atmosphere. Pandan Island is for people who like to spend time in tropical surroundings where you are woken up by the singing of colorful birds, where there is only a palm tree between you and the sea, where you still know your neighbors.All bungalows are built in native materials, like coconut lumber, bamboo, sawali, cogon grass to let them blend easily into their tropical surroundings. Care has been taken to provide a simple yet comfortable atmosphere with a maximum of privacy for all who need to get away from hectic life. Since all the electricity on the island is provide by a solar system our bungalows do not have air-con or fans.T he bungalows are built directly by the sea separated from the beach only by palm trees and / or bougainvillea bushes with the breeze from the sea providing for ventilation.Each house has its private gecko (lat. gecko gecko) that is believed to bring good luck to the house it inhabits.Besides spending your day in a hammock or exploring the few secluded beaches, we offer a wide range of activities to choose from. Scuba Diving in the coral gardens around Pandan or around the nearby Apo Reef is the most popular and exciting activity to engage in but we also offer you the possibility to explore the jungle rivers of nearby Mindoro by kayak or visit the small coastal town of Sablayan and meet its friendly inhabitants.However you choose to spend your vacation, our staff will do their utmost to make your stay on Pandan Island a relaxing or adventurous experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pandan Island Hotel Pandan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing