We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to get away from it all and just relax”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pandan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pandan Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pandan Island
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to get away from it all and just relax”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Decided to stay for one full week to really enjoy a break without moving from place to place - and we did not regret at all! A bit tough to get to, but it is worth it. If you want a truly laid back, peaceful pure beach atmosphere on a budget, this is the place. Even if you are not on a budget, this is a place to get away from it all. Accommodation is very basic, and if you can afford do go for the more expensive of the bungalows. Staff is very friendly and there really is a friendly neighborhood feeling throughout. Food is simple but good. There is a large private beach and it is wonderful to just go snorkel before breakfast and (guaranteed) seeing turtles near the shore. You then relax under the palm trees and forget civilization. Diving is also great, but the real deal (which has a considerable cost compared to the island stay) is going to Apo reef which has fantastic corals and lots of fish (including sharks). One of few escapist destinations - enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a more expensive bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    42
    13
    19
    8
See reviews for
19
46
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
212 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were on a boat trip around Mindoro and Busuanga and Pandan Island was just one of many islands we were to visit for this trip. We were blown away by the beauty of the marine sanctuary here which had turtles and a hundred fish species apart from the beautiful coral formations. We decided to stay one more night and had a remarkable experience. The cottages are a bit run down and ventilation was not so good as it was in the middle of summer. Otherwise, the overall experience was fantastic at a very reasonable price as well. I will be back!

Room Tip: choose the cottages that are right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daCoach420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our schedule didn't allow us to spend the night on the island but based on what we saw that afternoon, I think it would have been pleasant. There was a 150 peso admission fee (paid only by day-trippers, which we were). The food was priced reasonably. Service was good and friendly. The resort was sufficiently clean. Water pressure was adequate. There was power. What else could one ask for, lol. Well, the dive shop was impressive. And the hammocks were inviting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We didn't stay in Pandan Island due to bookings being fully booked, so we stayed in a nearby island hotel though we stayed most of the time in Pandan Island due to diving. Pandan Island is a very clean, peaceful and lovely island and we're really gutted every time we have to leave the island in the evening. The staffs are very accommodating and so as the DMs, it definitely looks like that they are one big family there. The trips to Apo Reef was also brilliant, I think we should have left Apo Reef as our last destination rather than comparing it to our next dive destination. It was awesome and we will definitely go back & we will make sure to book it in advance and stay with Pandan Island.

The only down side that I would say is the communication system, we were booked as per e-mail but when we arrived, our names was not written on the board. I can't blame them though as its very remote. Just make sure everything are booked in advance and everything should be okay. :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had the opportunity to experience all Pandan Island Beach Resort when I joined my cousin and some of her friends in a beach getaway. I researched the net about the island as soon as I heard it from my cousin. And the blogs I read can be summarized into two words, relaxingly beautiful.
White sands, coconut trees, hammocks everywhere, simple accomodation, pawikans, great food and beautiful people. That is Pandan Island Beach Resort.
What I like about Pandan Island, the relaxing atmosphere it is giving their guests. You don't have to bring your money when your going to the bar or restaurant, they will put it in your tab and you just have to pay everything during your checkout. Electricity is limited, they are using solar energy and that makes the island relaxing. The island is also safe, no locks on the rooms but nothing will be stolen.
Now, the things I love the most with Pandan Island, their beach, coral reefs and the pawikans. Pandan is a nesting ground for the pawikans (see turtles). During the morning, you can see lots of pawikans eating on grasses on sea beds. If you to enjoy this, you must bring your snorkles. And their coral reefs is one of the best I saw in the Philippines.
Most of the guests are foreigners, I think our group is the only Filipino staying in the island during our stay. I am hoping more Filipinos can come and enjoy this place. I think the price is cheap considering the things Pandan Island are offering.
TIPS:
1. Must bring (snorkle, umderwater camera)
2. Food serving is european size.
3. Tried the fried fish on short order.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cata_P0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

It truly is like paradise. The cabins are right in front of the sea and the hammocks are waiting for you. The food is ok but it's worth it to stay here for at least a couple of days. They have diving and snorkeling material and a "house turtle" that always swims around the island. They provide trips to apo reef and the whole island is powered by sunpower and pretty much eco friendly. I wish I could stay here longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yrelav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked three nights at Pandan Island in early March 2014 and our only regret is that we did not book more nights and days there. We arrived quite late on the Monday night as the 10am dimple star bus from Manilia does not arrive in Sablayan until around 7.30pm - but we informed the resort and they told us all was fine with the boat accross and they held back food from the evening buffet for us too!
We went for a standard bungalow which was what we expected - anyone wanted more luxury should go for the deluxe.
The bungalow was fine for us - a comfy bed, nice deck and very rustic.
The staff were lovely, we both had massages which nearly sent us both to sleep. Food was good and the buffets were very tasty.
The bar is different every night depending on the guests of course and the night we arrived several guests had instruments and were playing live music - great fun -other nights more chilled out and you can grab a board game or chat to another guest.
The island was like paradise. the bungalows are a stones throw away from the beach hidden in the coconut trees. the beach is stunning - the water was warm and very clear. The sound of birds waking you up was wonderful too.
we did not have time for diving but hired snorkel gear and had a blast - saw loads of sea turtles, lion fish, clown fish and so on. we didnt want to leave and have promised to return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pandan Island
38.6 mi away
Villa Paulina Beach Resort & Spa
45.3 mi away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
48.3 mi away
Coco Beach Island Resort
Coco Beach Island Resort
#14 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 mi away
Grace Island Resort
Grace Island Resort
#2 of 6 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
45.7 mi away
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
#10 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandan Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandan Island Resort

Property: Pandan Island Resort
Address: Pandan Island, Pandan Island, Mindoro 5104, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Occidental Mindoro Province > Pandan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pandan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pandan Island is a private island with a small resort on the West coast of Occidental Mindoro, Central Philippines.Since the island was 'discovered' and the resort established in 1986 by a French adventurer, this tropical island retreat has been voted time and again as one of the top resorts in the Philippines, not in terms of luxury (we do not have air-conditioned rooms, room service or cable television networks on the island) but for it's life close to nature and it's personalized atmosphere. Pandan Island is for people who like to spend time in tropical surroundings where you are woken up by the singing of colorful birds, where there is only a palm tree between you and the sea, where you still know your neighbors.All bungalows are built in native materials, like coconut lumber, bamboo, sawali, cogon grass to let them blend easily into their tropical surroundings. Care has been taken to provide a simple yet comfortable atmosphere with a maximum of privacy for all who need to get away from hectic life. Since all the electricity on the island is provide by a solar system our bungalows do not have air-con or fans.T he bungalows are built directly by the sea separated from the beach only by palm trees and / or bougainvillea bushes with the breeze from the sea providing for ventilation.Each house has its private gecko (lat. gecko gecko) that is believed to bring good luck to the house it inhabits.Besides spending your day in a hammock or exploring the few secluded beaches, we offer a wide range of activities to choose from. Scuba Diving in the coral gardens around Pandan or around the nearby Apo Reef is the most popular and exciting activity to engage in but we also offer you the possibility to explore the jungle rivers of nearby Mindoro by kayak or visit the small coastal town of Sablayan and meet its friendly inhabitants.However you choose to spend your vacation, our staff will do their utmost to make your stay on Pandan Island a relaxing or adventurous experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pandan Island Hotel Pandan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing