We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
100
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantipasto plattergreat wineself containednew zealandsmall sitting roomhome baked breadfantastic hostswish it could have been longerone nightcomfortable accommodationweek honeymoonlong driveyogurtfridge was stockedthree nightslong dayswe loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We had two wonderful nights staying with Philip and Marilyn in their beautiful home. They are great hosts and we left feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. Philip is an ex chef and cooked some wonderful food. We experienced their super "host dinner" which they offer at extra cost, sharing the table with a NZ couple who were also staying there. Philip is also a wine expert and provided a personalised tour of some selected wineries. This is not a cheap stay but if you want to be totally pampered, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1468VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Marlborough B&B is in a beautiful and quiet spot, close to Blenheim and the vineyards, but tucked away from the beaten track.
The hosts there are exceptional, with great local knowledge but also helpful information regarding other South Island locations too. We felt welcomed into their home as friends.
The accommodation is superb - we stayed in Adelaide's Barn which was peaceful, comfortable, and stylishly furnished.
Great food here, both for breakfast and dinner if requested. Wine flows, and the hosts are also knowledgeable in this area - do take advantage of Philip's wine tour to find the best wines in the area, meet friendly producers and staff at the vineyards, and sample wines without having to drive.
We felt that Marilyn and Philip were very flexible and did all that they could to make our stay enjoyable with great success.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspleyguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Our room was perfect and we had a delightful dinner with our hosts Marilyn and Phillip. The next day we took a half day wine tour with Phillip and I learnt more about wine in those few hours than I had ever before. In the evening we had a bottle of wine with a Antipasto prepared by our hosts. Both our breakfasts were a culinary feast and we were sad to leave.
In Christchurch we dined at a restuarant reccomended by our hosts and it was the perfect end to our holiday

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEEPINGIMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We had booked to stay in this B&B 2 months in advance. We rang from Nelson to inform hosts of our arrival time. Our bedroom though beautiful was freezing as was bathroom. The water was cold in shower and we had to use host's bathroom. We were due to stay 2 nights but it was so cold in bedroom and freezing bathroom, we left after one night. We paiid in full for 2 nights, no reduction given for lack of heat.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleyNZ, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

We are truly sorry that these guests were so uncomfortable in our Garden Suite. Unfortunately on their arrival it was discovered there was no hot water in the guest room due to a subsequently diagnosed fault in the electricity meter. We offered our private facilities so they could shower before having dinner with us. The hot water was reinstated and fully functioning the next morning.
During the dinner the guests talked of replanning their tour and mentioned they may choose to alter their booking assuring us that there was no issue with the accommodation. There was never any mention of their room or the bathroom being cold. At breakfast the next morning they advised they did in fact wish to change their itinerary to leave us that day. When we mentioned our cancellation policy, they said they accepted this. We are committed to offering a high level of service and had we known of their dissatisfaction we would of course not have charged a cancellation fee. The Garden Suite is permanently equipped with two electric oil filled radiators (stored in the guest wardrobe in the summer), the bed had an electric under blanket, and the bathroom has a heat lamp. We will ensure that guests are fully aware of their existence in the future and will also upgrade the bathroom heating to ensure this situation never occurs again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

For our second stay here we decided on "Adelaide's Barn" a new self contained "flat" which Philip built in the barn at the rear of the main house. The exterior retains the appearance of an old barn,however once inside there are all the necessities-fully equipped kitchen,bathroom (with washing machine) lounge with TV,and of course the bedroom.All this while still retaining the old barn/cottage feel with exposed timbers,antique style furniture with lovely views of fields and gardens. The accommodation is actually a bonus..the reason to come here are the hosts-Philip and Marilyn. Philip is very inovative/informative with his wonderful breakfast and dinner menus using local produce- and Marilyn can't do enough to help her guests enjoy all aspects of the Marlborough region...If that isn't enough...Jess the dog will keep you amused....

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews