We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Clepsydre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Clepsydre
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful to be back”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I'm a bit wary writing a second review but nearly a year has passed and this time we dragged some friends along. Read my previous review for the full rundown but everything's still up to Luciano's high standards.

Let me just bullet point why we like it:-
1) Friendly - nice places are nothing without nice people
2) Quality - chic, clean and well-appointed
3) Suburbs - peaceful and easy to drive to
4) Parking - free, private & gated
5) WiFi is free, fast and a good signal - ideal for Skyping back home

All I can say is, merci et à l'année prochaine, Luciano!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pia60
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We loved our bed and breakfast, it was quiet, had all the ammentities we wanted and then there was the terrace....just outside our room!
It was a short down hill walk from the B&B to the Metro Station and within 20 min. we were in downtown Paris.
Luciano was so helpful when my friend got sick and didn't get tired of all our questions and Dominique showed us to our room even though we were quite early before check-in time.
We will highly recommend this wonderful place to anyone!

Room Tip: Our room "Le chene" had the terrace. From there we could see Paris in the faaaaar distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We chose this B&B because we wanted a place near Orly for our next morning’s flight. I would recommend La Clepsydre to others who also want a nice B&B for this reason. Our GPS was broken and finding La Clepsydre without it was a nightmare. So, do be prepared. When you arrive pay careful attention that there are two homes at this address. The B&B is the 2nd home on the right. I irritated the poor fellow that lives next door when I ran his doorbell. Luciano is a gracious host. We were traveling with our son and had booked the L’Oliver suite which has two rooms that share one bath. Perfect for us. The bath for L’Oliver had no shower so you’ll want to be prepared to use the bathtub and sit using the wand if you desire. We did not go into Paris from La Clepsydre. I’m not sure this outskirts location would really be ideal for Paris sightseeing. We did walk to a wonderful restaurant Luciano recommended, Par Faim D’Aromes. Delicious food and we felt like we were truly in a French non-touristy setting. No one on staff there spoke a word of English. Fortunately a guest who was dining there took pity on us and translated the complicated menu for us. Breakfast was a self serve spread of cheese, croissants, fruit, granola, etc. Directions to Orly were fairly simple.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here on our trip to see Paris and Versailles (not on the same day though!). On arriving we were greeted by Luciano who was very welcoming and showed us to our room. We needed a cup of tea after a 500+ mile trip and it was no trouble at all to provide us with some milk (kettle, tea, coffee and sugar are in the room) - Luciano's English is more than good enough and his French is excellent.

Our room was La Chene and it's very spacious with a sizeable balcony overlooking the surroundings. Despite its urban surroundings, it's not really overlooked and with the driveway being quite long, you're set back from the street which isn't busy at all anyway - remarkably quiet in fact. Nice bed, queen size I think and very comfy. There's a flat screen tv, most channels are in French but you're not really here to watch telly are you?

It's about a 30 minute stroll to the restaurant Luciano booked for us (Par faim d'aromes) and the food was seriously good. I had no problems with the service as per a couple of other reviews, but the lovely Dutch couple staying at La Clepsydre said they found the chap serving a little unfriendly. Bear in mind a lot of places in France are closed Sundays and Mondays - Luciano will be able to advise you.

You can easily walk to the Robinson train station in about 45 minutes, more like half an hour if you're not strolling. From there it's a single 30 minute train ride into Paris. I'm not bad at French but the ticket machine was beyond me so decided to buy from the guichet and speak to a real person - you'll need to be on platform (quai) no.2 in case you're interested. We chose to get off at Notre Dame and it really does bring you out right next to the square in front of the cathedral. Coming back you need to be on the platform next to where you get off, but watch the names of the trains, you do need to get on one that is going to Robinson (it should be marked on the front of the train too).

For Versailles it's a little more tricky if you don't have a car because you can't get a direct train - you need to do the same Paris journey and then switch lines back out to Versailles. We had the car and it's just 20 minutes away from the accommodation - plenty of parking right outside the palace of Versailles - a tad expensive but stuff it, it's worth it.

Plenty of parking too at the accommodation - but a word of warning if you're in a low car (and I mean sports car low, it's fine for 99% of cars) is that it's better to drive in coming UP the hill. Our Lotus Elise didn't scrape driving in this way.

Breakfast, while being the standard sort of fare - croissants, cereals, bread, juice, tea and coffee (plus other bits I can't remember) - is good quality and served in the lounge. Luciano dips in and out at first with some provisions, the rest is on the sideboard but then he closes the door and you're left in peace. I do like this man - he runs the show so well. Luciano couldn't have been more helpful (or have better taste, it's seriously well-decorated in there!) and we'd have absolutely no hesitation in coming back or recommending this to others.

Note to Luciano - thank you again!

Room Tip: La Chene is the most expensive room being the one with the balcony, but it's a big balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wycombe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Good Value, in quiet residential area but with private parking. Loved the decor. Luciano the host was very welcoming and relaxed. Our room had plenty of space for even with an extra single bed. Our son liked looking at the butterfly display. It feels life keep a real home from home with two dogs and a cat, suspect it would be even nicer in the summer. Great! Oh they also speak English french and Italian

Room Tip: We were in petit Olivier upstairs, very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzypeg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
198 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We chose this B&B because we wanted to stay near Orly, in something other than a standard hotel/motel. This B&B is a house with three rooms which are rented out for the B&B. It is in a residential area, with restaurants about 1/2 hour walk away. Orly was about a 20 minute drive (on Sunday, with no rush hour traffic). We did not go into the center of Paris so I cannot comment on how one does that. We drove to this location and needed our GPS to help us find it. The room was clean, breakfast was simple, but sufficient. The location had Wifi and the owners made us a dinner reservation at a very nice Bistro. I rate this as very good primarily because of the cost effectiveness of staying in a nice room, near the airport, and including a simple breakfast. The owners are Italian, but do speak some English.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Ronco, Switzerland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

A wonderful stay with friends. Rooms are fantastic, house is so romantic, our hosts very friendly, clean, clean, clean, they really put their soul in this BB. I recommend it to everyone. It is a bit far away from the station, but then if you organize yourself then it is fine. Such a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patriciazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontenay-aux-Roses
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Roseraie
Hotel La Roseraie
#1 of 1 in Fontenay-aux-Roses
36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plessis Grand Hotel
Plessis Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Le Plessis-Robinson
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis budget Chatillon
ibis budget Chatillon
#1 of 2 in Chatillon
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Plessis Parc Hotel
Plessis Parc Hotel
#1 of 2 in Le Plessis-Robinson
66 reviews
123.8 mi away
Maison de l'Abbaye
Maison de l'Abbaye
#1 of 6 in Antony
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colbert
Colbert
#1 of 1 in Sceaux
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Clepsydre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Clepsydre

Property: La Clepsydre
Address: 81 bis, rue Maurice Philippot, 92260 Fontenay-aux-Roses, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Fontenay-aux-Roses
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fontenay-aux-Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast La Clepsydre welcomes you in a beautiful house with a peaceful garden and modern amenities. Paris can be reached in 15 minutes by public transport, via RER B. Double rooms and suites are equipped with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. The peaceful garden for relaxation. You can read a book or enjoy your breakfast. Every morning, products and fresh fruit, homemade jams and French pastries are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Clepsydre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing