We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss wine and canopes on the roof with views of the whole bay of Naples.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa San Gennariello b&b

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa San Gennariello b&b
Ranked #2 of 10 Portici B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't miss wine and canopes on the roof with views of the whole bay of Naples.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We were picked up at the station by the son who spoke good English and was very helpful.
We even got a lift to the airport for a small contribution - less than taxi.
Wine and canapés not to be missed on the roof with excellent wine costing less than the bottle shop.
Historical residence with Mamma catering.
Pappa in the background also very friendly.
Gardens to sit in quiet location close to Ercolano and Ercolanium

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillfromMullum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    19
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
53
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We were a family of five with three young children. Historic house full of charm and character (securely walled off from surrounding area) and lovely garden. It was refreshing to spend time in a family home with such beautiful people. Great breakfast and very warm hosts that the girls adored. We used it as a base to take the train into Naples and explore this amazingly intense, historic and bewildering city. We really wanted to see a number of attractions in Naples,like the Museum but remained underwhelmed by the quality and affordabilty of accommodation for a family of five. This home away from home was perfect and quiet. The lady of the house even hugged all my girls on departure. Other guests were using the place as a means for exploring the ruins of Pompeii and Ercolano. Some were return guests. We'll defintely return and explore Ecolano next time. Great experience.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suttn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Historic ex royal hunting lodge, in the family now for four generations. Packed with historical artefacts. Very friendly owners. A good base for travelling into Naples & seeing Vesuvius, Herculaneum & Pompeii. Just over 20 mins walk from Ercolano & Portici stations. The one downside is that there isn't a lot to do at night nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Wonderful, large old former hunting lodge. Marble floors, large rooms, large bathrooms.
Great views of Vesuvius and Bay of Naples from rooftop patio.
Family owned and operated. Son Francesco is very helpful and is the manager. Mom and dad cook and clean and help. PS Momma is a terrific cook.
Airport pickups at Naples can be done. It is hard to find because of road construction on main highway if you are driving.
Good walking distance to Ercolaneum/Herculaneum ruins. Maybe better than Pompeii from historic living. Certainly less crowded.
Highly recommend to others but reserve early as they only have a few rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

They were very helpful, kind and nice! The rooms were good and the location were great.

The only negative thing I have to say is that you have to be back at the place at 23.00 o'clock in the night (though very understandable).

I am looking forward to come back to this bed and breakfast :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildaAndersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great location for visiting Ercolano, Pompeii & Mt Vesuvius. Picturesque gardens abit overgrown but a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle outside the walls of the b&b. The main part of the villa, where we had a simple breakfast, was really lovely. I booked our accommodation nearly a year in advance so thought we would have been staying in the main part of the villa but our room had its own entry door to the side suggesting it might have once been the servants quarters. The decor was very ordinary and the room had a musty smell the entire time we were there. The bathroom needs an update and the balcony off the room would have been a lovely place to sit but it was too dirty. Very hard bed that was just 2 singles put together. Francesco and his elderly parents are extremely friendly and helpful. Francesco recommended a friends restaurant down the road which we was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colourcooljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kajaani, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Thank you Cozzi family for serving us an unforgottable stay in your villa 4th - 8th June 2012. Beautifully styled huge rooms with lots of interesting antiques. Very nice exterior with stunning views to Mount Vesuvio and the gulf of Naples from the roof terrace, wonderful tranquil garden with a terrace where the big appetizing breakfast was served. Easy access to Hercunaleum ruins by foot and by train to Pempei site and Naples. Surely can be recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aulis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portici
0.8 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
1.5 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Marad
Hotel Marad
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Esmeralda
Villa Esmeralda
#1 of 10 in Portici
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Gennariello b&b? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Gennariello b&b

Property: Villa San Gennariello b&b
Address: Via Madonnelle n. 5, 80055 Portici, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Portici
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Portici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a splendid eighteenth-century villa B&B set in leafy grounds with palms, rare plants and trees over a hundred years old. The Bed and Beakfast consists of three sunny rooms - one of them with a small terrace and cooking facilities. Each room is provided with private bathroom, Air-conditioning, WiFi Internet.Close to the ruins of Herculaneum and Pompeii and well connected to Sorrento and Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Villa San Gennariello b&b reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Gennariello b&b Portici, Province Of Naples, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing