We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lost gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa San Gennariello b&b
Ranked #2 of 10 Portici B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lost gem!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed at this residence on several trips to the Amalfi coast. It's clean, incredibly friendly and georgous - inside and out!

Its about a 4-5 minute walk from the train station, and worth every step!

We would highly recommend it to anyone looking for unique lodging in a quiet but nice neighborhood. Within a short walk are also a few good restaurants and bars for nightlife. The family who owns this property are all to happy to give you details and a great breakfast!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurinFegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    19
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
53
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights while doing day trips to Naples, Sorrento, Paestum, Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, etc. The location was great and the house lovely, but our GPS could not find it so we ended up calling Francesco, who came and found us and brought us to the Villa. He and the entire family were very hospitable and helpful, and the sunset view of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius from the roof was unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBandBBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I agree with other comments that area around villa is noisy, scruffy, littered and a bit threatening. But short walk to villa from station and once behind locked gates felt very lucky to be able to share this beautiful C18 villa with its exquisite furnishings and garden and charming hosts. Our room was large with a sofa and access to gardens through French windows andfascilities to make a welcome drink on waking, unusual outside GB. We didn't know about roof top terrace and possibility of drinks up there which was a pity! But recommended restaurant short walk away and had most delicious meals of our holiday on two nights in lively local restaurant frequented by families and groups out for a good evening and no tourists. Delicious breakfast served in garden. Although area scruffy never felt threatened and came to no harm walking there and using public transport to visit sites for which conveniently sited.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed one night at the Villa San Gennariello B&B and everything was perfect : since the help we received by Francesco (the owner's son) by phone in order to reach the Villa, to the very charming and big room we had and the great breakfast in the garden.
The venue is stunning : it is an ancient bourgoise villa reach of history and very charming; all the people we met (basically the all family) was very nice and helpful.
We definitely suggest to stay at Villa San Gennariello!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaZak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Couple in our mid 20’s – stayed here for 3 nights during a 3 week Italian Tour, this is the fairest way to assess our stay:

Good points:

- The Villa San Gennariello is a beautiful 18th century building with charm, history, and amazing panoramic rooftop view

- Francesco our host was fantastic, informative on arrival and continued to go out of his way to accommodate us with lifts to the station, local information and pointers on excursions

- The breakfast in the courtyard garden was one of the best we had during our 3 week Italian tour with wonderful surroundings, and extras as flavoursome local fruits and produce


Bad points:

- Needed assistance every time we wished to enter/leave (had no independent key to the villa – all guests were reliant on one of three hosts personally opening/closing a gate which in turn induced a ‘curfew’ and buzzer which audibly eclipsed the rooms day or evening)

- No wi-fi connection available in individual rooms – had to visit a communal room on first floor (although this is a beautiful room)

- Portici as a town is hideous – really was shocked at the consistent ‘poverty’ almost – streets did not feel safe (day or night), large quantities of animal droppings on most public walkways alongside household refuge strewn in the streets

- The public transport makes the London DLR seem glamorous – the train line between Napoli Garibaldi and Sorrento was dreadful with no signage/information and the ‘Direct train’ usually stopping at all 15+ stations – adorned with graffiti and derelict industrial scenes


Conclusion:

Wonderful hosts, premises, and great location for day-trips (e.g. Vesuvius, Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast) but ONLY recommend hiring a car. DO NOT use the public transport (trains or buses).

Anticipate little independence, and avoid Portici/Ercolano as it is a town in squalor, it amazes me how a coastal area of such natural beauty and history may possess such undesirables (locals) who fail to realise tourism is providing the majority of their legal economic activity. The irony is that the place we felt safest was the summit of Mount Vesuvius.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kfyns1ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed the company of the family and appreciated all the help we received with our travel arrangements. We especially enjoyed breakfast in the courtyard and the beautiful garden which we used as a shady refuge. The Villa is a step back in time to the 18th century, beautifully restored and maintained. Our room was clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. It was convenient for the archaeological site of Herculanuem (15 minutes on foot) and the station (10 minutes on foot) for trains to Pompeii, Naples and Sorrento. We highly recommend staying at this beautiful villa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystyna098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We just came back from a trip to Pompei and the Amalfi Coast and stayed at the Villa San Gennariello with my husband. The Villa is a former royal hunting lodge, full of character and history. Our room was spacious, with lovely furniture and a huge comfortable bed. The beauty of the villa and its garden were only matched by the charm and hospitality of the hosts. They made us feel at home from the moment we entered the front door, giving us tips about getting around Pompei and making the most delicious breakfasts. The Villa is in a perfect location 20 min by train to Pompei and a walking distance from the Roman city of Herculaneum. We loved it and will be back with the family soon!

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvetaFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portici
0.7 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
1.5 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marad
Hotel Marad
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Esmeralda
Villa Esmeralda
#1 of 10 in Portici
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Gennariello b&b? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Gennariello b&b

Property: Villa San Gennariello b&b
Address: Via Madonnelle n. 5, 80055 Portici, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Portici
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Portici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a splendid eighteenth-century villa B&B set in leafy grounds with palms, rare plants and trees over a hundred years old. The Bed and Beakfast consists of three sunny rooms - one of them with a small terrace and cooking facilities. Each room is provided with private bathroom, Air-conditioning, WiFi Internet.Close to the ruins of Herculaneum and Pompeii and well connected to Sorrento and Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa San Gennariello b&b reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Gennariello b&b Portici, Province Of Naples, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing