We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hosts canceled our booking 1 week prior to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Villa Stables
Ranked #1 of 1 Carrick B&B and Inns
hobart
2 reviews
“hosts canceled our booking 1 week prior to stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We received a call advising that our booking had been double booked only one week prior to our stay. This created a lot of stress for us especially as we needed to stay in Carrick on that particular weekend. We were not offered any type of compensation/incentive to re-book etc. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia999958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

When drove through the gates it was a bit like entering an English estate...but here we were in Tasmania! The English influence is very evident throughout Australia and a pure joy to stay here even if just for one night. Nicole was there to meet us - our rooms were ready. Upon entering the 'stables' where our rooms were, we found them very inviting and cosy. She turned the heat on for us and showed us where the light cords were and the rest was ours to discover. Breakfast had already been laid out in a nice wicker basket and there was plenty of tea and coffee at the ready. A jug of milk in the fridge.

Very comfy beds, a queen and single in the same room - in the loft. Large brightly lit bathroom with shower on the main level with kitchen and living room.

A quiet space is found here and along with that some really beautiful gardens to wander. I especially loved the curving boxwood hedges surrounding the beds.

There is wifi here but because of the thick stone walls you really do have to go outside to get the best connections. There are benches to sit at and what could be nicer than to have the sounds of birds as background music while you troll your email.

In speaking with Nicole, she has many more ideas about the garden that will only make this a more wonderful place to stay in the future.

We can recommend the Happy Chef to enjoy dinner at...delightful meal and indeed a happy and chatty chef. I had the salmon with macadamia nuts, scallops and prosciutto - delicious!

A wonderful place to stay and I would recommend reservations well in advance as there are only 4 rooms!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We recently stayed here for one night and wished we could stay longer. Nicole was extremely accommodating and the gardens were an absolute delight. It is only a short drive to Launceston so is the perfect place to make day trips from.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alipesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My companion, Coral, and I stayed three nights with Nicole and Innes at The Stables. Not only did they 'muck them out' for us (just kidding!) The Stables were quaint, rustic and simply a lovely place to spend the all too limited time we had available. Heating (this was Tasmania in an early Winter blast) was by heat pump, which was more than suitable; it maintained a comfortable 24 deg for us. The beds (both queen and single) were equipped with electric blankets, a nicety but not a necessity because we were otherwise warm enough. The bathroom was brand new and modern, the kitchenette and dining/sitting area perfectly suited to our needs. Everything was neat, tidy and spotlessly clean.

Even though we stayed in Winter, the gardens surrounding The Stables and the beautiful old Hawthorn Villa are stunning, including everything from hellebores through English Box borders to Silver Birches and even a couple of magnificent old Douglas firs. A photographer's paradise!

That's just a start: Reception was warm and friendly; a smile and good eye contact work wonders. It was evident from the start that we were welcome (and strangely, in an industry that should be all personality and easy charm, it is rarely found in such a natural form). At some time after our stay, I realised I had lost my wedding ring. There was no way of knowing where or when it had slipped from my finger but I phoned a number of places we visited. One of those I rang was Nicole at The Stables. She had Innes check the unit in which we stayed and voila, within a few minutes, he found the errant item where it had rolled under the queen bed. It was a great pleasure to alter a trip, not just to pick up the ring but to return again to such a lovely place... and lovely people.

As a couple (and both business professionals), we were charmed by the whole experience.

The Stables are highly recommended.

John R

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I wished we stayed there for a week, so much to see around and so splendid to come back to after the day's visits. The location is so convenient to Launceston, the Tamar Valley and so many other places around the north coast and you know that you return to the splendor and tranquility of a garden and the excellent comfort of a spotlessly cleaned home. We know now how to plan our next trip toTassie and look forward to see our hosts again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My partner and I have stayed here twice now and both have been quite memorable experiences....the first was the place for the proposal for marriage and next getting married in their beautiful gardens! The hosts/owners bent over backwards to help us out with the preparations and getting the garden in tip top conditions! Everyone loved it!!! Oh and we love the ducks!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradntash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Our first visit to Hawthorn Villa Stables in Carrick certainly won't be our last. The location is so convenient... only 15 minutes from Launceston, with nearby attractions to visit in every direction. The accommodation itself was spotlessly clean and comfortable... modern furnishings combine with a rustic feel to make it a unique place. The onsite hosts were very friendly, without being intrusive and the vast gardens were absolutely outstanding. We loved eating breakfast on the lawn, and thought it would be a nice place to gather with friends for a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Think-Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick
6.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
717 reviews
9.1 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
346 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quamby Estate
Quamby Estate
#1 of 2 in Hagley
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Westbury Gingerbread Cottages
8.5 mi away
Fitzpatrick's Inn
Fitzpatrick's Inn
#1 of 2 in Westbury
35 reviews
3.2 mi away
Entally Lodge
Entally Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hadspen
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Villa Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Villa Stables

Property: Hawthorn Villa Stables
Address: 1 Church St, Carrick, Tasmania 7291, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Carrick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Villa Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Villa Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing