We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome conference facility, superbly renovated!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silverstream Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silverstream Retreat
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome conference facility, superbly renovated!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a six bed bunkroom for a weekend conference. Very basic but clean and modern room, well heated. Comfy beds. Bathroom brand new, ran short of hot water for shower, but my bad for being up so late!
All meals were top class for bulk catering! Simple but delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigJ0HN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    17
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
18
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I had the pleasure of attending a Conference recently held at Silverstream Retreat. Having been stayed at many complexes over the years I would have to rate Silverstream as the best yet. The facilities were immaculate and clean, the food delicious and plentiful and the staff super friendly. I look forward to having the opportunity to come back and would definitely recommend Silverstream to others to enjoy the great experience I had.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed here for a conference over the weekend and really enjoyed my experience here. The staff were friendly, accommodation really cool and the shared bathrooms with the heated tiles pretty neat. Love the history of the place and the views to the river and the Hutt amazing. Would love to come back for sure. Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaiah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We used this venue for our conference and they bent over backwards to accommodate us. Most of us stayed onsite in the cheap and cheerful bunk accommodation. The toilet and shower facilities have been very nicely renovated. The conference hall was spacious, and Silverstream Retreat had everything set up for us before each session and break out session. The food was lovely and plentiful. All in all a great weekend, and I would highly recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here last week, and coming from Aust, the weather was bitterly cold. Check in was quick and it was wonderful to get to our loft apartment to find the heating had been on for some time and the place was warm.
There is a full size oven and ceramic cooktop, microwave, toaster etc and a reasonable range of kitchen utensils. The apartment was clean. Local phone calls are free.
The bathroom is good and the beds comfortable. The view across the river is lovely and the double glazing blocks most of the traffic noise on the far side of the river.
Now for the things we didn't like, and really, if the owners stayed in their own accommodation, they notice these shortcomings too.
WIFI wasn't available at the time in the apartment and having to go to reception to be able to get coverage was a little annoying as it was so wet, cold and muddy underfoot.
There is nowhere to put your groceries that don't need to go in the fridge. A shelf above the bench area would solve this problem.
There is no coffee table in the lounge, so we had to use one of the dining chairs for our coffee cups.
The tv had a pay tv programme guide, but apart from pay-per-view movies, it was all free-to-air tv, but no guide.
The loft upstairs has 2 single beds, no bedside tables and no wardrobes. If a family of 4 stayed here, those sleeping upstairs would either have to leave their clothes in their suitcase, or put them on the floor.
The main bed downstairs had an electric blanket, but upstairs beds did not, and it was needed while we were there.
The bathroom had the usual note about being eco-friendly and placing used towels on the rail if the guests wanted to reuse them. One small towel rail, and no hooks makes it hard to do that. There was a tiny rail under the wash basin - the bath mat and one face washer took up that room. So again, for a family of 4, they would have had nowhere to put all 4 towels if they did want to reuse them..
As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the walls are paper thin between the units. When someone was washing dishes next door, we felt we could reach through and do the drying up for them!
Parking is not good. You cannot get your car very close unless you're in one of the end units and although there was a grassy area we saw others had parked on, as it had been very wet, it was extremely 'squishy' underfoot, with the potential to either get stuck or to damage the grassed area.
We realise that it is a large site undergoing refurbishment, and it seems to be used for a number of purposes - we saw a wedding, a seminar, church service etc but the accommodation could be a real income earner if these shortfalls were addressed, and more advertising of this side of the business was done - we stumbled across the website by accident. Friends who live nearby had no idea it was anything other than a place for school/church camps and functions.
The location suited us but at $180/night, it is not, at present, value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for an end loft apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelaidenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Love this place! Modern accommodation surrounded by some awesome old buildings. Units were nicer and larger than anticipated and had everything we needed and more. I am super picky with the places we stay at but everything was perfect. Staff were very friendly and helpful too.
Wont stay anywhere else in Wellington area unless I really have to. Keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Hutt
5.2 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#1 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wallaceville House
Wallaceville House
#1 of 2 in Upper Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wellington Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Champers Motor Inn
Champers Motor Inn
#8 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.6 mi away
Totara Lodge
Totara Lodge
#2 of 3 in Upper Hutt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
7.9 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverstream Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstream Retreat

Property: Silverstream Retreat
Address: 3 Reynolds Bach Drive, Lower Hutt 5019, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverstream Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Hutt River and the Valley beyond, our fully serviced motel units are ideal for those wanting to relax and unwind in a secluded bush setting. We have seven, two bedroom units which have a master bedroom with a super king sized bed, and a loft bedroom with two single beds. Our luxurious River View Studio overlooks the Hutt River and the Manor Park Golf Club beyond. This unit has an open plan living area with a super king sized bed and accessible bathroom facilities. Our Forest Studios are ideal for a couple. These have a modern rustic feel and have been designed to compliment the surrounding native bushland. We also have Group accommodation available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Silverstream Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverstream Retreat Hotel Lower Hutt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing