We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silverstream Retreat
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“top spot”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

An interesting history, beautifully refurbished rooms and a large acreage make this a special place to stay. We had 3 nights here recently and found it a great place to stay. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. While it is a distance from the city it wasn't a problem for us.
There was a large school group staying at the same time as us but that was not a problem, their accommodation was a good distance from ours.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    20
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
18
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed earlier this month for a wedding. Stayed in a new room which was pleasantly decorated, clean, fresh and with everything you need. Wedding held at venue and was well run, lovely food, very pleasant and accommodating staff. The venue is a work in progress that is being properly and well done with thought. Fabulous function and accommodation centre. Keep up the good work and I look forward to staying another time in the future. Definately need to have own vehicle though given its slightly out of the way setting.

Room Tip: Ensure you stay in one of the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenedictRyan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My partner & I had the pleasure of staying for a wedding which was held at the retreat recently. The rooms were lovely and modern and the wood touches made it feel homely with a large queen which was super comfy. Loved the stone floor in the shower. Nice and clean and very peaceful and fairly priced.Would love to stay again when next in town with the kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

A lovely room in a quite special surrounding

The silverstream retreat is located in a former hospital of the US army/navy. The owner has started to renovate all the old buildings into accommodations. A substantial part has already be done , but there is still a lot to do. So you will find renovated barracks with surprisingfull modern hotelrooms next to barracks that still have to be done.
It will be clear that the room we have had, was great, clean and had even floorheating in the bathroom.
Staff: we were welcomed warmly and guided to our room under a big umbrella as at that moment it was raining and how!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed at the Silverstream Retreat with my 2 teenage children in January 2012 for 3 nights. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The actual apartment was lovely. It was very spacious, lots of wood everywhere and the kids loved the mezzanine level 2nd bedroom. The main bedroom is lovely and looks out to the Hutt River down below. The lounge area has doors that open out onto a lovely balcony that looks over the valley and down to the Hutt River. The only thing we found quite strange was the derelict buildings all around our accommodation. I was already aware from previous reviews that the Silverstream Retreat is not finished and there are a lot of derelict buildings still to be renovated, so I was expecting this. The 2 bedroom apartments are all next to each other down the end of the whole complex. They are on their own and have derelict buildings all around. My daughter found this quite unnerving at night time, but it definitely didn't help that we had gale force winds for 2 of the nights. However that aside, the accommodation was very unique and lovely. We will definitely come and stay again, and really look forward to seeing the whole complex renovated and completed. Once it has been finished, it will be an award winning accommodation complex.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverstreamRetreat, Front Office Manager at Silverstream Retreat, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for your response and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we are undertaking extensive construction works to renovate the entire property, we thought you may be interested in reading a little bit about the history of the property. Please go to our website, click on "About Us" and go to "Our History". You will then be able to see what we have come from, to the great facility we have today.

We look forward to having you stay with us again so that we can show you our recent upgrades, and we look forward to sharing our 10 year plan with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago.whilst i was very impressed with how clean it was i have to
say most of the staff were rude and unhelpful.the worst were the staff in reception who didnt
seem to have a clue about anything.shame it wasnt up to the standard of the cleaners as
it has the potential to be great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_p255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Excellent accommodation for a large group - 38 of us, we all stayed together in the Forest Wing. Well appointed and clean, plenty of space for the kids to explore and run around. Silverstream provided all the catering, the food was good but a little repetitive when staying 4 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful - as one of the kids summed it up 'I liked the ladies!' (but actually the token male was nice too) Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Hutt
3.8 mi away
Wallaceville House
Wallaceville House
#1 of 2 in Upper Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
5.2 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#2 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.5 mi away
Champers Motor Inn
Champers Motor Inn
#8 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Dupont Executive Motels
7.6 mi away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.3 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#4 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverstream Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstream Retreat

Property: Silverstream Retreat
Address: 3 Reynolds Bach Drive, Lower Hutt 5019, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverstream Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Hutt River and the Valley beyond, our fully serviced motel units are ideal for those wanting to relax and unwind in a secluded bush setting. We have seven, two bedroom units which have a master bedroom with a super king sized bed, and a loft bedroom with two single beds. Our luxurious River View Studio overlooks the Hutt River and the Manor Park Golf Club beyond. This unit has an open plan living area with a super king sized bed and accessible bathroom facilities. Our Forest Studios are ideal for a couple. These have a modern rustic feel and have been designed to compliment the surrounding native bushland. We also have Group accommodation available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silverstream Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverstream Retreat Hotel Lower Hutt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing