We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable - good for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camellia Court Motel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable - good for an overnight stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This motel was sufficient for our needs, although an extra bathroom in the 2 bedroom apartments would have been good. The hospitality was not great, but we only dealt with the hosts on check-in and check-out. We could not find an apartment motel for our extended family of 9 closer to Wellington city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelliaCourt, Owner at Camellia Court Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We take on board all constructive criticism and although some things are outside our control as lessees, (ie second bathroom), we do try to address any problem issues wherever possible. Unfortunately this reviewer has not been sufficiently specific to enable us to rectify or remedy any shortfalls. They expressed concern with "service" and scored us accordingly, however their only experience appears to have been during the 5 minute check-in and 30 second check-out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
23
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Having read some of the other reviews I can fully understand that the comment is made the owners appear to be unfriendly or are "over it" as far as small talk or being friendly is concerned.

I did feel it was "unlike" many places i had stayed at in NZ by not not being over welcoming. However i could not fault the room, it was clean and well appointed. I did make the effort to be friendly myself and I did detect that the atmosphere warmed somewhat. It does appear the owner has heard, seen and experienced just about everything a customer could throw at him and might be somewhat "jaded" with smiling sweetly at his customers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieC566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelliaCourt, Owner at Camellia Court Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are disappointed this reviewer felt they were made to feel "less than welcome" at our establishment and for this we most sincerely apologise. We believe we offer a welcoming smile to all our guests and we normally take the lead from the guests as to whether "chit chat" or "small talk" will be welcome. With Lower Hutt being more of a business centre than a tourist centre, the expectations and requirements of our guests differ to many other areas, in that corporates require a courteous but prompt check-in (without excess chit chat). Again we apologise if this reviewer was less than happy with our persona, and also the service they received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Not impressed at all with the hospitality received from this motel. Owners did not take pride in satisfying there customers & lacked manners. Went into our rooms more than once out of 'servicing' hours ( particularly in the evening when we were out for dinner) in which I do not understand what they service as our beds were hardly made - more liked the blankets were pulled up & smoothed over. No dishes were done, not even a coffee cup ( The lady owner then told me if the dishes were not done before we checked out we would be charged extra for cleaning) & our fresh towels were chucked in a pile on the dining room table.

Also found our room door unlocked in which a big dispute erupted as the owner took no responsibility for not locking the door after "servicing". Also false advertising as it says free wifi but you only get a small amount of free wifi then you have to pay.

Very annoyed as we visit Lower Hutt often & during our check out the owner - a male told us to have great lifes in a sarcastic tone & told us our company was very disrespectful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelliaCourt, Owner at Camellia Court Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
This guest unfortunately showed very little respect for our units, our staff, and our policies. We were alerted to problems by our housemaids who were appalled at the condition of their unit, and in fairness to our staff, we made the decision to provide minimal servicing. Bed making is certainly standard in Services, however our staff are trained not to disrupt a guest's personal belongings, therefore they were unable to make the bed or place the fresh linen on the dresser as normal. Beyond servicing, we certainly respect the privacy of our guests, and do not enter a unit, except under exceptional circumstances. Those circumstances being when the safety or wellbeing of our property or other guests is jeopardised, ie when wet washing is left drying in front of heaters (fire hazard), bathroom fan/lights left on (fans will burn out if left on for any length of time) and blaring TVs (annoying neighbouring guests). These circumstances are extremely rare, however do arise ocassionally, and we did discuss several issues with the guest. We do offer free limited wifi (sufficient for emails etc) but because of laws making the hosts responsible for illicit downloading, it is not professionaly prudent to offer unlimited wifi. We are sorry this guest did not enjoy their stay at our motel and hope they have found accommodation in Lower Hutt more conducive to their requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent two nights at Camellia Court in late December during our visit to Wellington. Had some unpleasant experience during check in because of the confusion over the reservation which we're given a complimentary "lecture" on the hotel policy by the male host.

We took two rooms the first night as the larger family was not available. The double bed studio is spacious and has a spa bath with some decent cooking facilities, while the double bed+single bed studio was quite cramp. The bed was comfy and extra pillows/blankets were readily available in the room. The next day we moved to the family unit, which is more spacious, with cooking facilities and living space on the ground level and all the beds on the first level. The room has separate shower and spa bath, which my kids really enjoyed it. All rooms did not have a front window so we had to keep the front sliding door opened for ventilation, which was a bit inconvenient in terms of privacy.

The motel is located at the corner of Lower Hutt and a few minutes walk to the Lower Hutt river track, which is quite handy for a morning or afternoon stroll. Traffic noise could be heard from the Western Hutt road/highway first floor bedroom of the family unit.

Even after some discount, we felt we paid a bit too much for the two nights.

Apart from the check in, the service was good and the female host was very friendly.

Room Tip: If you're solo or couple go for the double room with spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelliaCourt, Owner at Camellia Court Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We appreciate this guest's review, and can understand their frustration at check-in, and we were very sympathetic to their plight. However this was brought about by the guest failing to advise us of correct guest numbers when making the reservation, which ultimately meant the unit they booked could not accommodate their entire family (babies and children must be included in the count). A larger unit was not available for their first night, therefore the family had to be accommodated in two small units, and although we did provide a discount, from their point of view, it was not the most economical option, but under the circumstances the only option available. We must stress that it is imperative that guests read thoroughly the terms and conditions of all online booking engines, ensuring the room booked is satisfactory for their requirements. The motel cannot be held responsible for providing unsatisfactory rooms, or expensive options when the reason for the problem was outside their control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Camellia Court is a pleasant enough place for an overnight stay. It is very typical of NZ motels I remember as a kid - tiny bathroom, full stove. It is quite hard to find, being in a commercial street along with a number of other motels, and quite some distance from, well, anything really. After we found motels on the main strip to be full, we had to navigate to find this cluster. They are certainly not in a street that people would pass by. There must be some history to the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelliaCourt, Owner at Camellia Court Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for your review. I agree that we are not located in the city's "high" street, like most motels throughout the country, but that also means we are away from the heavy traffic noise. We are also well located for access to: the motorway (north and south); bars (3 minute walk); restaurants (30 second to 3 minute walk); Westfield (10-15 minute walk); Monday-Friday trainline (3 minute walk); Monday-Sunday trainline (15 minute walk). Our "old style" kitchens (ie full sized stoves) are probably our best selling point (unlike new motels that advertise kitchens but offer a microwave and a sink), especially for those guests staying more than one night who prefer the self-catering option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights, the motel is conveniently located close to the city center, railway station and motorway, no motorway noise. Unit had a full kitchen and a good wall heater for the cold nights. Very cozy and affordable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelliaCourt, Owner at Camellia Court Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Loved staying here, it must have been the coldest night in Wellington ever, yet we had a great heater in the room, good electric blankets, on a very comfy bed ! Easy access to the motorway and we didn't hear any trafic noise at all. The room was really well equipped with it's own kitchen, the managers were really friendly, the breakfast was also great. Would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STARMAN678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelliaCourt, Owner at Camellia Court Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and recommendation and hope that you will stay with us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lower Hutt hotels
1.1 mi away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
28 reviews
1.7 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
0.1 mi away
Champers Motor Inn
Champers Motor Inn
#8 of 14 in Lower Hutt
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#2 of 14 in Lower Hutt
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
79 reviews
1.5 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Court Motel

Property: Camellia Court Motel
Address: 3 Pharazyn Street, Lower Hutt 5010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camellia Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 STAR ACCOMMODATION AT 3 STAR PRICES. Our 15 quiet fully self contained studio, 1 and 2 bedroom units are ideal for business, leisure, tourist or long term stays, or for that "special occasion". Camellia Court is located a short stroll from the heart of Lower Hutt's CBD, near bars, restaurants, cinemas and shopping. Wellington city with its abundance of cafes, restaurants, theatres, museums and shopping is just a 10 minute drive. Whether on business or pleasure we are certain you will enjoy a comfortable, relaxed stay at Camellia Court Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camellia Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing