We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice alternative to the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foreshore Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foreshore Motor Lodge
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Good location handy to motorway to Wellington city..Clean and comfortable accomodation with friendly proprietors

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillsflat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
12
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Last minute decision - to stay in Petone. This motel was close to everything that we needed. Clean and comfy and the service was very good and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funfoodfavourites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Found this motel via the internet when looking for places to stay for a night before crossing on the interisland ferry from Wellington to Picton. I wavered in wether to book here initially as it was not in 'central' Wellington but I am very happy that we picked this accomodation. It turned out to be less than 10 minutes to the ferry.
Communication was great from the initial email enquiry through to the lovely chat we had with the owners before we left.
The location being directly opposite the Petone Beach and Pier, allowed a great place for an early evening walk. Just what was needed after a long 7 hour drive. It is also only one block from Petone's main shopping street.
The unit was wonderfully clean and in excellent condition (one bedroom with 2 single beds and queen bed in the lounge) with all that you would need to self cater if required. (including salt sachets :-) The beds were very comfortable and the pillows excellent. Well insulated and surprisingly there was no traffic noise to keep you awake.
We arrived late on Christmas day and were surprised with a bottle of bubbles and chocolates - a very sweet treat. The owners were very friendly and nothing appeared to be a problem (even printing off e-tickets for us, which we had left at home).
The car was able to be parked directly outside the unit which made transferring luggage very convenient.
All in all, we were very pleased with our choice and would recommend this Motel unreservedly!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktaiatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We found this place purely by chance and it turned out to be a great find. We got the last available room and were able to park the car just outside. The reception was warm and friendly and keen to help with maps and directions. It was really close to the sea front and also to Jackson Street where there was a great choice of restaurants. It was very handy for getting into Wellington. It was an easy drive for us to return our hired car and get to the Picton Ferry very early the following morning. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

The only place I would stay and this is reflected in the 8 years that I have utilised the motorlodge. The welcome and the rooms are always as they should be. Norm, Annette and Leeanne go way beyond the cause. An example is recently when I arrived in a mad dash from Auckland for an urgent meeting late at night - the room was warm, jug was on and everything prepared for a quick refresh. This is how it is everytime. The motel enviroment leads itself to meeting other quests if so wished and many other examples of outstanding comments about the establishment have been conveyed to me. I have no hesitation recommending the motel to other travellers, business public or other. The Foreshore Motorlodge is exceptionally well priced and has a brilliant charge back service with the many local restaurants. Everything is in walking distance to the motorlodge - the beach/restaurants/shops. What a cute dog - is it still alive - Ive hardly heard it bark!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham2010255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

Always recieve a warm welcome and smiles. Beach within walking distance, as well as town. Quiet and friendly cute dog, and polite kids.
Little road noise but you get that anywhere. Always a pleasure to stay and look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.S.W.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2008

We usually stay in New Zealand every year for our February holiday.

We stumbled across Foreshore Motor Lodge by accident and found it the best value for service and location we have had, during our stays.
It was only a short stroll to the terrific Jackson Street, the local harbour ferry and public transport as well. Wellington city was just a few minutes away.
The rooms were very clean, comfortable and very quiet & a laundry was also available for our use. Parking was complimentary and outside our door. The hosts were also very friendly and interested in us.
There is a fantastic rainforest walk just a short stroll away as well, which was a delight!.
This motel exceeded our expectations! Well done!

Keiron and Marika

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lower Hutt hotels
0.3 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Kenlea Cottage
Kenlea Cottage
#1 of 1 in Petone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dupont Executive Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foreshore Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foreshore Motor Lodge

Property: Foreshore Motor Lodge
Address: 5 Nelson Street | Petone, Lower Hutt 5012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Foreshore Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Foreshore Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing