We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel close to Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foreshore Motor Lodge
Northants
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little motel close to Wellington”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I would stay here again, better that staying in Wellington.
Very helpful, rooms are Ok, TV channels a bit limited but no problems.
Across the road and you are on the beach, 3 minutes up the road and you are on the main drag with bars and restraunts.
15 minute train ride into the city.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the rooms closest to the beach, lorries in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O_Haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
13
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Friendly and help-full people. Nice old dog. Good breakfast delivered exactly on time. Gave help-full advice about how to pass the time when one of us was at a lose end. Will definitely keep them in mind in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Good location handy to motorway to Wellington city..Clean and comfortable accomodation with friendly proprietors

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillsflat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Last minute decision - to stay in Petone. This motel was close to everything that we needed. Clean and comfy and the service was very good and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funfoodfavourites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Found this motel via the internet when looking for places to stay for a night before crossing on the interisland ferry from Wellington to Picton. I wavered in wether to book here initially as it was not in 'central' Wellington but I am very happy that we picked this accomodation. It turned out to be less than 10 minutes to the ferry.
Communication was great from the initial email enquiry through to the lovely chat we had with the owners before we left.
The location being directly opposite the Petone Beach and Pier, allowed a great place for an early evening walk. Just what was needed after a long 7 hour drive. It is also only one block from Petone's main shopping street.
The unit was wonderfully clean and in excellent condition (one bedroom with 2 single beds and queen bed in the lounge) with all that you would need to self cater if required. (including salt sachets :-) The beds were very comfortable and the pillows excellent. Well insulated and surprisingly there was no traffic noise to keep you awake.
We arrived late on Christmas day and were surprised with a bottle of bubbles and chocolates - a very sweet treat. The owners were very friendly and nothing appeared to be a problem (even printing off e-tickets for us, which we had left at home).
The car was able to be parked directly outside the unit which made transferring luggage very convenient.
All in all, we were very pleased with our choice and would recommend this Motel unreservedly!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktaiatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We found this place purely by chance and it turned out to be a great find. We got the last available room and were able to park the car just outside. The reception was warm and friendly and keen to help with maps and directions. It was really close to the sea front and also to Jackson Street where there was a great choice of restaurants. It was very handy for getting into Wellington. It was an easy drive for us to return our hired car and get to the Picton Ferry very early the following morning. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The only place I would stay and this is reflected in the 8 years that I have utilised the motorlodge. The welcome and the rooms are always as they should be. Norm, Annette and Leeanne go way beyond the cause. An example is recently when I arrived in a mad dash from Auckland for an urgent meeting late at night - the room was warm, jug was on and everything prepared for a quick refresh. This is how it is everytime. The motel enviroment leads itself to meeting other quests if so wished and many other examples of outstanding comments about the establishment have been conveyed to me. I have no hesitation recommending the motel to other travellers, business public or other. The Foreshore Motorlodge is exceptionally well priced and has a brilliant charge back service with the many local restaurants. Everything is in walking distance to the motorlodge - the beach/restaurants/shops. What a cute dog - is it still alive - Ive hardly heard it bark!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham2010255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lower Hutt hotels
0.3 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Quest Petone
Quest Petone
#1 of 5 in Lower Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wellington Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foreshore Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foreshore Motor Lodge

Property: Foreshore Motor Lodge
Address: 5 Nelson Street | Petone, Lower Hutt 5012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Foreshore Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Foreshore Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing