We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely motel”
Review of Green Gables Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Gables Motel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Taihape, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely motel”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great room (1 bdrm), very clean and modern. Great value for the price. Parking at the door, pleasant grounds. The lady at reception was just lovely when we checked in, she let me see a few rooms so we could get the one that suited us the most.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 421renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
14
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Was in Lower Hutt for just over a week. Lovely owners and very helpful. Will recommend this motel to anyone going to this part of the world. Such a great location for township,Hospitals and excellent bus service to take you anywhere if you don't have a vehicle

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyS2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
322 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Excellent place to stay.
Rang the night before we stayed and motel all full except one 3 bedroom unit, Dave gave it to us for $160 instead of $225.
We were in late too but not a problem.
Room was very spacious and clean.
Ample bathroom shower etc.
Very quiet even with the bad storm raging outside. Horizontal rain.
Not far from restaurants.
Not far from SH2 and Petone and Ferry and Wellington CBD.
Was so good we went back for another night on our return from the South Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

WoW! wow wow!
Top marks for service, cleanliness, location and those little extra bits.
Good quality soaps, linen, coffee and teas all add up to a fantastic stay.
They have not scrimped on using budget gear, they have gone that
extra mile and supplied quality.
We have stayed there several times and appreciate the quality.
Owners are not afraid to welcome you to their motel.
Great fulfilling breakfast as well.
As a fire-fighter I like a big breakfast, this filled the spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This place had everything you needed. We were there attending a conference. This motel is central and close to restaurants and supermarket. The unit was clean and perfect. The room had everything you needed.....a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paranoid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The service at this motel is first rate. We have two small children and when we sought directions from the bus stop they picked us up and then invited us to use the hotel vehicle to use. Very friendly and welcoming but not in your face - a mixture that can be hard to achieve. Very child friendly with a netted trampoline and slides and a fenced play area. In addition they have sky decoders in every room which means there are 50+ channels including the childrens ones - this was perfect when the kids needed down time. There were nice little touches - complementary organic perc coffee, biscuits, mini bar and nice toiletries. The room itself suited us fine, there were no issues with noise. We were in the one bedroom unit. We have stayed at a lot of motels with the kids and this one was great - The extra effort put in at this motel means I would highly recommend it for anyone visiting lower hutt.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in lower hutt as comparably the price appeared cheaper than Wellington booking.com came out with a figure of 422 for 2 couples and 1 child for a 2 night stay, however when we tried to checkout we got asked for 578? Apparently previous issues with booking.com misquoting prices but nowhere in small print did it clarify we would have to pay any set figure per person. We finally paid 548 as the management in error charged do an extra child. Can't say I was best pleased as if there had been a previous issue with booking.com the amount could of been clarified by the motel from the start.
If it hadn't been so early I would of made more if a fuss however the stress of that would not of been worth it.
On a plus side it was good location for lower hutt on a downside u pay Wellington city centre prices.
Would I stay again ? Not with the attitude of us paying for there issues with booking.com.
Never had issues like this with another booking.com booking as usually very clear.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTuros77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lower Hutt hotels
2.9 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
2.4 mi away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#2 of 14 in Lower Hutt
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Champers Motor Inn
Champers Motor Inn
#9 of 14 in Lower Hutt
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#7 of 14 in Lower Hutt
56 reviews
2.5 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Motel

Property: Green Gables Motel
Address: 560 High Street, Lower Hutt 5010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your Motel Accommodation needs we have 14 superbly appointed self-contained suites,all with cooking facilities, including Business, one, two & our exclusive three bedroom apartment accommodation, ideal for family transfers and long stays. Free Dominion Post delivered every morning on request except Sunday's 2 minutes to Westfield Queensgate Mall Hutt & Boulcott Hospitals 2 minutes along High Street Ferry Services (Inter Islander or BlueBridge)and Westpac Stadium are all 15 mins drive 20 minutes to Te Papa Museum of New Zealand 32" Televisions in all units Fully fenced children's play area Safes in units for all your valuables Cooked & Continental Breakfasts available Guest Laundry Irons, Ironing Boards & Hairdryers in all units Restaurants & Supermarkets within walking distance Handy to Bus & Rail Services Meals delivered & charged to your account Cot & Highchair available on request Car parks outside all units Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing