We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, friendly management...”
Review of Green Gables Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Gables Motel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
auckland, new zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super clean, friendly management...”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Spotlessly clean spacious motel room. Comfortable bed with quality linen. Quiet room with good drapes for keeping light out.
Great kitchenette with ample tea/plunger coffee etc.
Good pressure shower with nice bathroom gels etc.
Good variety of tv channels, not just usual motel SKY type.
On bus route. Close to Hutt Hospital.
Friendly management who were willing to change our booking and took time to explain bus routes.
Would have given five stars but accom was a little bit away from the shops for me (I was disabled at the time), but in saying that it is close enough for able bodied people.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
14
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The room is clean and cozy. It was pretty standard and nothing overly exciting.
I came here on a business visit and they gave me only 300MB of free internet. I used it in a day and I have to pay for the rest. I'd rather choose a motel with unlimited internet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bhaskar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our three night stay at Green Gables was disappointing on a number of fronts. Whilst our arrival was welcoming and the room was clean and well presented, there were other issues that left us disappointed that we had chosen Green Gables as our place to stay. There were three chocolate bars, a packet of chips and biscuits in our room and everyone of them were 'out of date' ( one by more than 12 months). On our second day there were no face washers or dish cloth in our room and we got a very strange response from the office when we requested them. We were so disappointed when the information given to us about bus services into Wellington was incorrect and we had to find out from locals at the bus stop as to which bus to catch. The buses that were the cheapest fare and the one used by locals was not even mentioned to us and in fact the motel office told us that we could not use that service to get to Wellington. Guests rely on this information and we expected the hosts to be able to give us this info accurately. Our biggest issue was our free internet allowance. Being told that the allowance was 100MB, I questioned that allowance as we were staying 3 nights. The man at the office said he would make it 200 MB and when I logged in I noticed he had given us 300MB which we expected we should have been given. On check out we had a charge put on our account for the usage over 100MB and when questioned both hosts said we were only given 100 MB and had to pay for the usage over that amount. They said the allowance was always 100 MB, regardless of the number of nights you stayed. Rather than make an issue we paid it, knowing we would never return and would not recommend the motel to others. Such a shame as we have been staying at HOST accommodation all through our five week holiday and this experience is such a complete contrast to every other place of stay. We cannot recommend HOST highly enough, but not Green Gables.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed in Lower Hutt for a school holiday break, travelled down after staying in Whanganui, nice motel and was easy to locate on the map. Motel was fully booked but it was not noisy at all, very handy to the shopping centre and to the train station. Left the car at the motel and did lots of walking around. Motel was nice and tidy, the rooms have recently been revamped. Had all that we needed and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happymum73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taihape, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great room (1 bdrm), very clean and modern. Great value for the price. Parking at the door, pleasant grounds. The lady at reception was just lovely when we checked in, she let me see a few rooms so we could get the one that suited us the most.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 421renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Was in Lower Hutt for just over a week. Lovely owners and very helpful. Will recommend this motel to anyone going to this part of the world. Such a great location for township,Hospitals and excellent bus service to take you anywhere if you don't have a vehicle

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyS2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
322 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Excellent place to stay.
Rang the night before we stayed and motel all full except one 3 bedroom unit, Dave gave it to us for $160 instead of $225.
We were in late too but not a problem.
Room was very spacious and clean.
Ample bathroom shower etc.
Very quiet even with the bad storm raging outside. Horizontal rain.
Not far from restaurants.
Not far from SH2 and Petone and Ferry and Wellington CBD.
Was so good we went back for another night on our return from the South Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lower Hutt hotels
2.9 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
2.4 mi away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#2 of 14 in Lower Hutt
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Champers Motor Inn
Champers Motor Inn
#9 of 14 in Lower Hutt
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#7 of 14 in Lower Hutt
56 reviews
2.5 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Motel

Property: Green Gables Motel
Address: 560 High Street, Lower Hutt 5010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your Motel Accommodation needs we have 14 superbly appointed self-contained suites,all with cooking facilities, including Business, one, two & our exclusive three bedroom apartment accommodation, ideal for family transfers and long stays. Free Dominion Post delivered every morning on request except Sunday's 2 minutes to Westfield Queensgate Mall Hutt & Boulcott Hospitals 2 minutes along High Street Ferry Services (Inter Islander or BlueBridge)and Westpac Stadium are all 15 mins drive 20 minutes to Te Papa Museum of New Zealand 32" Televisions in all units Fully fenced children's play area Safes in units for all your valuables Cooked & Continental Breakfasts available Guest Laundry Irons, Ironing Boards & Hairdryers in all units Restaurants & Supermarkets within walking distance Handy to Bus & Rail Services Meals delivered & charged to your account Cot & Highchair available on request Car parks outside all units Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing