We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but clean and lovely staff”

Fernhill Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fernhill Motor Lodge
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We arrived here late after a terrible drive over the worst road ever in the dark and rain...the man on reception had tried to ring us to check we were still coming as he closed at 10pm which i thought was lovely of him, some people may just have not bothered.
The rooms have obviously been there a long time but they are well maintained and clean. We get 2GB of free internet which was amazing.
The room i think used to be smoking rooms at one point and there is still a remnant of the smoking smell in the furniture but the beds did not have it which is where it is important for it to be clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Fernhill Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

stayed one night for work, a large room, clean,warm and cosy, quiet, excellent parking and free ,friendly helpful service.great shower,and television. not far from wellington central.would definetely stay again next time i'm in wellington. Lynette

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Our room was nice, clean & big on the main floor, closest to the car park. Kitchen & bathroom were adequate. Bed very comfortable. Had free WiFi. Close to shopping & restaurants. Good access to/from Hwy 2 (take Block Rd exit), Westayed one night on Feb 4/12. Overall, this accommodation met our needs. Would recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

My husband and I were travelling throughout New Zealand, from Canada, on a three-week vacation in January 2011.
We stayed at Fernhill Motor Lodge for one night, after returning on the evening ferry from the south island. We had already toured Wellington, so didn't need to stay in downtown Wellington again, and wanted to be out of the city for a fresh start on the road in the morning. Fernhill Lodge is in Lower Hutt and is about a 15 minute drive out of Wellington, so if you're planning on touring Wellington, I wouldn't advise this location.

The area is quiet and away from the noise and traffic. The room was very nice, very spacious, with a kitchenette, the bathroom was beautiful - nice and bright due to the sky light in the ceiling, very clean and well kept. We were on the second floor, overlooking the sitting area below.
The proprietor (I'm sorry I can't remember his name) was awesome, very friendly, easy going and jovial, even later at night after he'd been working all day. He was back at the desk, bright and early the next morning, still friendly and jovial.

If you are planning on being in the Lower Hutt area, we would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OConnorGoldwingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Stayed one night here in one of their studio units and was quite impressed on the whole.
The room seemed as though it was recently renovated with a nice bathroom and kitchen and comfortable beds and the standard of cleanliness throught out the unit was good.
Downstairs they have a restaurant which does dinner and breakfast if you require it and out the front is plenty of off street parking.
I will point out that this motel is good if you have specific business in Lower Hutt like we did but maybe it is a bit far out if your purpose is to see the tourist attractions in downtown Wellington(its about 15 minutes drive to town if you have your own transport).
If coming back to Lower Hutt we would probably return here.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We stayed at the Fernhill motor lodge as a group of senior students and parents attending a water polo tournament.
The hostess astrid, couldn't have been more friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. My room was a bit close to the railway line for comfor but there were so many good points that they out weighed this.

If you've business in the Hutt I'd recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2007

stayed her in 2005 ,its a 10 minute train rde into the heart of wellington,this area in lwr hutt has a friendly ,small town atmosphere.
the hotel is very clean and owners are very friendly.great food also

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Hutt
0.1 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#8 of 14 in Lower Hutt
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#4 of 14 in Lower Hutt
53 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#1 of 14 in Lower Hutt
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Angus
Quality Inn Angus
#3 of 13 in Lower Hutt
91 reviews
5.7 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Dupont Executive Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Motor Lodge

Address: 17-19 Pharazyn Street, Lower Hutt 5010, New Zealand (Formerly Asure Fernhill Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lower Hutt
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill Motor Lodge is conveniently located 8 minutes drive north of Wellington city centre.26 luxury accommodation units, ample off street parking and is extremely handy to the Interislander ferry, train station, Hutt Hospital and motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fernhill Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing