We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but tired property in sketchy neighborhood”

Fernhill Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fernhill Motor Lodge
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean but tired property in sketchy neighborhood”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We booked this in a hurry - would not have booked if we'd realized ahead of time just how rough the neighborhood was - certainly no incentive to go walking about the area. The room was spacious and clean, but a bit tired and dated. Also very noisy with both a train track and a motorway within 500 m. The front desk clerk was helpful and friendly, but ignored our wake up call - fortunately we were already up, so we didn't miss the ferry.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
11
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We arrived here late after a terrible drive over the worst road ever in the dark and rain...the man on reception had tried to ring us to check we were still coming as he closed at 10pm which i thought was lovely of him, some people may just have not bothered.
The rooms have obviously been there a long time but they are well maintained and clean. We get 2GB of free internet which was amazing.
The room i think used to be smoking rooms at one point and there is still a remnant of the smoking smell in the furniture but the beds did not have it which is where it is important for it to be clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

stayed one night for work, a large room, clean,warm and cosy, quiet, excellent parking and free ,friendly helpful service.great shower,and television. not far from wellington central.would definetely stay again next time i'm in wellington. Lynette

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Our room was nice, clean & big on the main floor, closest to the car park. Kitchen & bathroom were adequate. Bed very comfortable. Had free WiFi. Close to shopping & restaurants. Good access to/from Hwy 2 (take Block Rd exit), Westayed one night on Feb 4/12. Overall, this accommodation met our needs. Would recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

My husband and I were travelling throughout New Zealand, from Canada, on a three-week vacation in January 2011.
We stayed at Fernhill Motor Lodge for one night, after returning on the evening ferry from the south island. We had already toured Wellington, so didn't need to stay in downtown Wellington again, and wanted to be out of the city for a fresh start on the road in the morning. Fernhill Lodge is in Lower Hutt and is about a 15 minute drive out of Wellington, so if you're planning on touring Wellington, I wouldn't advise this location.

The area is quiet and away from the noise and traffic. The room was very nice, very spacious, with a kitchenette, the bathroom was beautiful - nice and bright due to the sky light in the ceiling, very clean and well kept. We were on the second floor, overlooking the sitting area below.
The proprietor (I'm sorry I can't remember his name) was awesome, very friendly, easy going and jovial, even later at night after he'd been working all day. He was back at the desk, bright and early the next morning, still friendly and jovial.

If you are planning on being in the Lower Hutt area, we would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OConnorGoldwingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Stayed one night here in one of their studio units and was quite impressed on the whole.
The room seemed as though it was recently renovated with a nice bathroom and kitchen and comfortable beds and the standard of cleanliness throught out the unit was good.
Downstairs they have a restaurant which does dinner and breakfast if you require it and out the front is plenty of off street parking.
I will point out that this motel is good if you have specific business in Lower Hutt like we did but maybe it is a bit far out if your purpose is to see the tourist attractions in downtown Wellington(its about 15 minutes drive to town if you have your own transport).
If coming back to Lower Hutt we would probably return here.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We stayed at the Fernhill motor lodge as a group of senior students and parents attending a water polo tournament.
The hostess astrid, couldn't have been more friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. My room was a bit close to the railway line for comfor but there were so many good points that they out weighed this.

If you've business in the Hutt I'd recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Hutt
1.2 mi away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#7 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wellington Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#1 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.6 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
5.7 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Motor Lodge

Property: Fernhill Motor Lodge
Address: 17-19 Pharazyn Street, Lower Hutt 5010, New Zealand (Formerly Asure Fernhill Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill Motor Lodge is conveniently located 8 minutes drive north of Wellington city centre.26 luxury accommodation units, ample off street parking and is extremely handy to the Interislander ferry, train station, Hutt Hospital and motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fernhill Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing