We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Mom's Birthplace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence La Piazzetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Piazzetta
Certificate of Excellence
Avondale, Pennsylvania
1 review
“My Mom's Birthplace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My three sisters and I traveled to Fara San Martino after a tour of Italy. It has always been a dream of ours to see our mother's birthplace and the site of her many stories. The Residence la Piazzetta was a perfect choice for us. The Rotunno's - Pietro, Antonietta, and Lorenzo were gracious and hospitable. They even helped us plan our trip to Fara via many emails. Upon arrival, we were greeted as friends. Our accommodations were perfect - extremely clean and welcoming, access to WiFi since we recorded our trip on Facebook, and close to the center square. Pietro took the time to help us make the most of our time in Fara by suggesting places to eat, visit, and tour. The townspeople were so kind to us in our quest for information about our mother's family. After a busy ten day tour, we sisters relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful mountain town of Fara. We walked to the Verde River from The Residence and saw the area where our mother had played as a child. Pietro suggested a walk to the gole of San Martino - what a beautiful and breathtaking (in more than one way) walk. He also told us about the Terra Vecchia , the historic area of Fara that was certainly within walking distance.
Antonietta prepared a beautiful breakfast for us during our stay and offered her kitchen to us in the evenings. Should I ever be able to return to Italy, I will definitely be spending my time at The Residnece la Piazzetta.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The town of Fara San Martino always has a special place in our family and this was a trip back to say "hello" to our family and re experience the joy of village life.The setting of the village, with the mountains towering over it always gives it a special feeling and views.

The Residence is centrally located and convenient to all aspects of the village. It provides the best accommodation in town and at an affordable price. The rooms all have spectacular views of the mountains as does the open lounge area on the guest terrace.The operators give it a family feeling and are most obliging.

Room Tip: They are all good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have to echo what others have said about La Piazzetta. The host, Pietro Rotunno and his wife were charming. The apartment was spotless and well-equipped, and the private terrace was wonderful. The breakfast was amazing. We only spent one night in this lovely town and have vowed to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaVernagrandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eltham, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We recently visited Fara San Martino from mid July to mid September and stayed at La Piazzetta. The apartment was very clean, roomy and comfortable - it was a pleasure to stay there. We had fantastic views of the mountains and of the town. The owner/managers are one of the nicest couples we have met and they went out of their way to make us welcome. They advised us on the most interesting places to visit and dine. Whenever we wanted to travel to any other towns they made enquiries on our behalf regarding bus and train times and booked them on our behalf. We definitely plan to stay there again.

The best time to visit Fara San Martino is in August. This is the time when the town comes "alive and all the festas (festivals) are held. From the 1st August to 31st August there is always something on. There are processions, concerts, food festivals, fireworks, fashion parades, dancing in the streets, etc. nearly every night. During the day there are numerous places to explore - the old town "Terra Vecchia" built hundreds of years ago, the mountains and valleys, the rivers and waterfalls, the newly discovered Monastery which archaeologists are digging up, and the town itself which is a tourists delight.

Food and fruit are very cheap compared to other places and the quality is excellent.

There are many places to visit which are close by - beaches, the Grotte Del Cavallone is only about 15 minutes away (by car) and is an experience that should not be missed. The caves are magnificent.

We were there for 9 weeks and we were very sorry to leave. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PINA495048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Hill NSW Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed for the month of August and absolutely loved it. Optimum location , well equipped and scrupulously clean. The hosts were a delight and very helpful. Highly recommend it and we hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I stayed at "la Piazzetta" in Fara San Martino for 2 days (not nearly long enough!) and fell in love with the place. Never have I stayed at a place where I can honestly say I have it all: a central location, a breathtaking view, delicious food, cleanliness and last but definitely not least, the best hospitality and service I have ever seen! Once you have stayed at the Piazzetta, you never want to go anywhere else. Definitely value for your money.

As for Fara San Martino, if you love unspoiled nature and culture, this is the oasis you are looking for. A five minute walk from the town centre brings you through a gorge in the mountain to a place of complete serenity: you find yourself in the Valle Santo Spirito, in the middle of the mountains. Right behind the bend, you can see an ancient monastery being excavated, and if you continue along the valley you can reach hights of more than 1000 metres within just a couple of hours. Along the way you can admire the rich diversity that the National park of Majella has to offer (I even saw a chamois!!). If you enjoy rock climbing, Fara is the perfect place to stay, as it offers a variety of routes, the closest ones located on the rock wall of the town itself. In terms of culture this region has much to offer as well: you can visit the old town in Fara or travel easily to some of the surrounding villages, where you can visit archeological sites and museums.

Fara is the perfect location for both shorter trips and longer ones. As the distances to sights are not long, you can experience a lot in a short time. However, to really benefit from everything this magical region has to offer, I would suggest you stay for at least two weeks!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saga82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Wonderful nature and one of the best places to relax. In the heart of the national park (abruzzo) you can enjoy the mountain and the river and escape from the routine of the city life. It is the perfect place for nature lovers and people that would like to live for a while in a traditional Italian environment.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fara San Martino hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Camerlengo
Hotel del Camerlengo
#1 of 1 in Fara San Martino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Piazzetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Piazzetta

Property: Residence La Piazzetta
Address: Via Trento 8, 66015 Fara San Martino, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Fara San Martino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fara San Martino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property features 10 apartments with TV, free WIFI, air conditioner and equipped kitchen. Short as well as long rentals are welcome. Each apartment is composed of a kitchen/living room, one or two bedrooms and a bathroom and can host up to four guests. Three units at the first floor have their own balconies. Surrounded with a wonderful garden, the property boasts of a panoramic elevator and a terrace to enjoy the stunning view in front of the Majella mountains. It is located in Fara San Martino, a small town better known as the capital town of pasta, 40km far from the Adriatic coast and 50km far from Abruzzo International Airport, in Pescara. The location is a perfect gate to fascinating hikes through the unique settings of the Majella National Park. A stay at Residence La Piazzetta is a great opportunity to enjoy the natural, historical and culinary heritage of the Abruzzo countryside in a relaxing and friendly way. A B&B option is available upon request. Daily and weekly rentals are available. Looking forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence La Piazzetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing