We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Ettalong Beach(Ettalong Beach)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brooklyn Motel(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Galaxy Motel(Gosford)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat(Terrigal)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
582
249
72
27
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
582
249
72
27
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids activitiesgames roomcaravan parkschool holidaysgo kartsorganised activitiesfamily holidaypowered tent sitebig parkgreat parkgumnut cottagegreat facilitiesspa villacamping tripride their bikesjumping pillowbmx track
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for a three night break in the plantation cottages. These have the potential to be fantastic but a few things and details could be better. The cleanliness of the cottages on arrival was dissapointing. The floors were filthy. The beds not v clean, the pillows v uncomfy. The outdoor setting was filthy but housekeeping came to clean it when we asked. Air conditioner faulty cut off every ten minutes v frustrating. No security in the park therefore v noisy neighbours after ten pm. Pool could be wonderful but again no supervision therefore kids and some adult's ruining it by bombing and running riot. Utterly mad. Pool chair's filthy as well. Ladies on reception ok but far from friendly and no smiles. Will try again as enjoyed but so many things could be improved!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyMorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for this review, we are pleased to see that overall, your stay with us was a positive one.

We would like to apologise that you had an interaction with a staff member that was less than satisfactory; the inferior level of customer service you reported is certainly not the standard for which our staff members strive. We have spoken to the park manager who in-turn has raised the issue with the staff member in question as there is no question that you should have been able to access the phone to make your call. We strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience and are disappointed that this has marred what would seem to be an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable stay.

We hope that you choose to return to Ocean Beach in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our family of 6 (2 adults, 4 young children) spent our third Christmas and New Year camping at Ocean Beach just over six weeks ago. Whilst we still enjoyed the location and amenities, including the new Splash Park, we were severely disappointed with the lack of security and complete lack of enforcement of the park's 'no noise after 10pm' policy.

This was in stark contrast to our previous two years experiences where 2 security men would patrol in a golf-cart from 10pm advising of the 'no noise and restriction of large social gatherings after 10pm' policy and ensuring that it was met. I was advised by a staff member this year that new management had taken over the park and had reduced security staff numbers. I was also told that the remaining security staff (appeared to be 1-2 only) had been asked not to ask people to stop making noise. Essentially, during our three weeks stay, we felt that we saw/heard security staff on 3 occasions only. Each time, they just advised us to put our bikes away at night-time.

I spoke to a member of the new management team who told me that security would increase from 27 Dec. We did not see that occur apart from on New Year's Eve - which was actually one of the quietest nights due to the increased security available!

The excess noise from certain closely-packed tent sites really spoilt our stay and we have decided not to visit the park this Christmas. If you are in a cabin or a caravan site, it would probably be much quieter. However, you can be really affected if you are a single family camping in the packed powered tent-site areas and are surrounded by large groups (e.g. multiple groups of up to 6-8 tents per group) at busy, peak periods.

I am going to put my complaint in writing to both Ocean Beach directly and to the NRMA. It is supposed to be a family friendly park but excessive noise up to 1am on multiple nights is not acceptable. Also, this last experience was in complete contrast with our previous 2 experiences at the same park where we were delighted with the experience overall. In fact, one of the park's previous big drawcards was its attention to security from 10pm so that everyone could get a good night's sleep. I feel we were paying too much money ($800/week) for the experience we've just had.

We are NRMA members and have visited many of their parks, and others, over the past 8 years.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank ElizabethC732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for you taking the time to leave us this review; all feedback and comments are utilized in our continued efforts to improve all of our services.

Security is certainly an issue that we take very seriously, with an extensive network of CCTV cameras in place and uniformed guards during all peak periods, including weekends. This provides guests with added peace of mind that many parks do not offer.

While we did vary our security arrangements this year, we did allocate additional hours to the provision of this service when compared to previous years. In addition to both our managers and assistant managers being onsite and on-call at all times, we had a minimum of two guards on nightly, and on many occasions this cover went through until 5am.

If you are unable to locate a security officer in the evenings, there is an after-hours number available at reception for you to directly contact staff who can assist you.

As you have identified, peak times are quite busy with almost 100% occupancy over the Christmas/New Year period. As such, for those looking for a more sedate experience, many guests opt to visit our park in the less busy low and mid seasons, where you will find the prices also differ from peak season.

We thank you again for your feedback, and hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

On the weekend my husband, I and the children came in our new caravan on our first trip away in the van at the park

What a beautiful park it is. Completely 5 star, The activities for the kids were out of the world and being right on the beach is a huge added bonus. Not only was i completely impressed with the pool, water park, parks, touring around on the buggies and our site location but the staff all had huge friendly smiles on their faces and were generally willing to spend time talking and offering assistance in anyway. They were natural and generally lovely people. Its been a very long time since i have stayed in accommodation where i could tick all the boxes.. its hard to find staff like the ones you have there.. most of the time you can tell they dont want to be working but your staff all were so happy to be there, I have stayed in the years in 5 star hotels and id rather come back in my caravan and stay here then pay all that money in a hotel.

I will 100% be looking to book this as a regular holiday and we may even come back in two weeks time. I almost cried leaving today and wish we didnt have to work so we could stay longer!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hvbd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for leaving this great review!

We are very proud to have been the first destination you and your family chose to visit in your new caravan, and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The biggest drawcard for this property would have to be its waterfront position and adventure like swimming pool. This is a huge ‘Big 4.‘ So big in fact, I lost my way getting back to our villa, more than once - as well as our children on a couple of occasions! There were lots of hidden corners, turns and thick scrub, particularly on one side of the park, which was good for privacy, but you did need to be vigilant in watching the little ones. I must say - and l’m not sure if this is due to the size of the park - but we did find the staff (particularly at reception) to be a little less personable than some of the smaller parks we have stayed at. There was one particular incident, where, after discovering my mobile phone had died, l asked one of the ladies on reception if l could borrow the phone to call my husband, (of which l offered to pay for) to which she told me, curtly, that their phones were not available for public use. It wasn’t until l made a point of telling her that my husband was waiting to meet me, and would be concerned, that she allowed me, must l say, under great duress. I wasn’t impressed. However, we did come across some nice staff too. The gentleman who took the trailer ride (a free service for kids) at the park, was very friendly and also gave a short commentary, which came in handy for getting back to our Palm Tree house which we chose for our 6 night stay. Our villa was positioned up the back of the park - which meant it was a little walk to the pool and playground - but it was quiet and private, with a nice grassy area for the kids to play on out the front. The Tree house was basically a cabin on stilts, (not high) with a canvas lining inside - giving it a safari like feel. It had a large covered balcony and built in BBQ for cooking, and inside had one open living and sleeping room combined. If you don’t mind bunking it in with the kids, this was great experience for the children, and really added a sense of adventure to the trip! The walk to the township of Umina - which has a reasonably sized shopping village (with a supermarket) - takes about 10 minutes, and can also be achieved by walking along the beach. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay at Umina Beach, this is a huge, well maintained park, with lots of things to keep the children entertained.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Officer at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for this review, we are pleased to see that overall, your stay with us was a positive one.

We would like to apologise that you had an interaction with a staff member that was less than satisfactory; the inferior level of customer service you reported is certainly not the standard for which our staff members strive. We have spoken to the park manager who in-turn has raised the issue with the staff member in question as there is no question that you should have been able to access the phone to make your call. We strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience and are disappointed that this has marred what would seem to be an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable stay.

We hope that you choose to return to Ocean Beach in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked here sometime ago, as we thought it would be good to get away and we had heard good things about this park. We were slightly nervous on arrival given some of the previous reviews, however we found our concerns unfounded. The park was absolutely packed on the weekend with almost no spare sites, and whilst it was busy it was not out of control. We had a powered site almost right on the beach, which was large enough for our 7m long tent + dining awning + car + trailer. This was a good location, however the disadvantage of a site so close to the beach is you may need more pegs and poles due to the high winds. The site had a mat large enough for our tent, however the ground was slightly sandy and so we needed longer pegs. The amenities closest to our tent had recently been refurbished and were cleaned regularly. Sure, they weren't perfect but after all the park was packed. There was also a new camp kitchen which was well fitted out with many sinks, bbq's and fridges. The old amenities were also kept clean although are showing their age. Plenty of things to keep the kids busy - a great beach within 5 mins walk, jumping pillows, a large pool with waterslide, a brand new water play park, various things to hire and lots of other activities. Everything was very busy, with kids riding bikes everywhere. No complaints about noise - it's a caravan park after all, not a 5 star hotel. Visible security presence at night who told us to lock up our bikes, but no issues and we had loads of stuff unsecured with no problems. We did notice that some of the caravan sites appeared to be fairly crammed in as you moved towards the old centre of the park where there were still a few permanent looking holiday vans.
We will probably book again for next year and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beach side (Sunny side) is great but can be windy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 38NHLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

It is always great to read how much our guests enjoyed their stay with us so thank you for leaving this review!
I hope you and the family join us again next holidays,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews