We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, welcoming place in the heart of cinque terre”
Review of Hotel Il Saraceno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Saraceno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quiet, welcoming place in the heart of cinque terre”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Il Saraceno and were very happy with our choice.
The hotel is small and quiet and has a cosy atmosphere. We were given a huge room with balcony and a spacious bathroom. Parking was free of charge in the garage of the hotel. The location is also a bonus. It is situated in Volastra, a village at about 2 km from Manarola, in the heart of the cinque terre national park. There are hiking trails going down to Manarola and to Corniglia. There are hourly buses to/from Manarola but only until about 19.30 -- so might be less practical for those visiting without a car (Volastra is really tiny and has only one restaurant and one take-away). Finally, the staff was very friendly, ready to give loads of advice on restaurants, transport, hiking trails and so on. In all, a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viola_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    66
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife, 11 year old son, and I stayed two nights at Il Saraceno in June. It was a hot time of year and Italy was progressing nicely through the Euro Cup. Needless to say, Cinque Terre was crowded, so this hotel was a nice little oasis. From the moment we stepped in, Antonella gave us her undivided attention. Our room was large (triple) and very clean, although plain and simple. Breakfast was excellent, with fresh parties to go with the fruit, meats, and cheeses. And good coffee. We did some train riding, some hiking, and some beaching in the Cinque Terre towns, and this hotel made a good base for that. But to others' points, if you plan to take public transportation, make sure you get back up in time (I think the last bus left Manarola at 7:30pm), or it's a long, steep, dark walk. Luckily we had a car, so on the night we went to Manarola to watch the soccer game, we drove down and had no trouble parking. On the night we came back to the hotel early, we ate dinner at Gli Ulivi in Volastra, and it was one of our most memorable meals in all of Italy. So, in summary, Il Saraceno worked out perfectly for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CartmansBadKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Really nice hotel in the small town of Volastra. We stayed here after hiking there from Monterosso. The room was adequately furnished and really clean. We had a great breakfast in the morning and hit the road again. Like I said we hiked here, it was a really steep workout up from Vernazza to get to Volastra, but well worth it! There is a really nice restaurant in the town, not sure about the name, but I think there is only one - also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacoVoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is an interesting alternative to staying in one of the Cinque Terre towns. Volastra is charming and not touristy at all. It is quiet and the weather is cooler on the hill.
Rooms are large but not luxurious.
Antonella was very helpful and friendly.
The only downside is that the last shuttle bus to Volastra from Manarola is at about 8:30 pm. This makes it difficult to do a late night in one of the other towns. The only other alternative to taking the shuttle bus is an arduous walk up to Volastra on a twisty road.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gefilte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hotel is situated conveniently just outside the Cinque Terre National Park which makes it convenient if travelling with a car (The drive is very scenic and worth doing). The hotel offers a small garage which I managed to park a Form Mondeo in. Be careful if arriving on a Tuesday since the one restaurant in the small town of Volastra will be closed. The lady that takes care of the hotel is quite helpful and speaks good English. There is a very nice walk from the hotel to the nearest town (Manarola) which involves walking downhill through vines and lemon groves.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms available so book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleDebono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We loved Hotel Il Saraceno for a number of reasons. First, it is in the hills of Volastra, a small picturesque village above the main towns of the Terre. We were driving and the hotel provided secure off street parking in their garage. There was a bus that stopped just up the street from the door which took us to the top of any of the other towns in the Terre (from there you have to walk steeply down to the town center) and ran frequently. The owner was a warm and enthusiastically friendly Italian woman that spoke English very well and was generous with information about the are . The rooms are large and newly remodeled. Although spartan they are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is totally quiet at night so any of the 7 rooms will grant you a peaceful nights sleep. Breakfasts are simple but adequate and the coffee is plentiful. There is also an espresso maker and a small bar behind the front desk. There is no restaurant in the town of Volastra so we drove a short way to one of the other towns to eat. Also there are a few small places and a market where you can put together a take out meal and eat it on the terrace or the breakfast room at the hotel. There is free wifi as well all for only 100 euros a night for a double. As an aside, this hotel is very popular with hiking Germans. Watch out for those collapsable poles and big boots and have fun!

Room Tip: You might want a room that doesn't face the walk to the hotel entrance for privacy and quiet dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My son and I stumbled upon this hotel during a recent visit to cinque terre. What a find! Modern, minimalist, wonderfully accommodating hosts. Antonella is a sweetheart, so helpful, friendly, and willing to share her tips for the area. Her restaurant suggestion was fabulous, and we had a delicious dinner that we will not soon forget. Comfortable beds, wonderful views, garage parking...what a wonderful hotel. I hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwayshonest39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volastra
0.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
400 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Saraceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Saraceno

Property: Hotel Il Saraceno
Address: Via Volastra 8 | Cinque Terre National Park, 19017 Volastra, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Volastra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Saraceno 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Saraceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Volastra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing