We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Hotel Il Saraceno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Saraceno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Antonella is awesome. She has a nice property in Volastra, above Manarola. If you are driving, figure out how to make this your home base. Good host, good trails, good walks and good views from up high.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    65
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
111
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed one night. The rooms are really spotless. The staff is extremity helpful especially if you've never been to this area. The price is reasonable. Small family environment. The breakfast was very complete . When I come back next I'm staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles
Level Contributor
187 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed three nights at the Il Saraceno during our visit to the Cinque Terre. This was the perfect place to stay away from the crowds and also because we had a car. There is a garage under the hotel for the car, as well as spaces in front to park. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was great, although we had to supplement it was early coffee in the cafe that is run by Antonella, the hostess. The wi-fi worked in the lobby area, not in our room. Antonella was very welcoming and helped us get into the local tennis court to play. She is very helpful with the hikes in the area and places to eat. We got the "volastra" room, which was at the end of the hall, had its own terrace, and was very quiet. We ate two nights in town (there's only two places), and then drove into Manarola for the last night. You really do need to drive - walking up from Manarolo after dinner would not be an easy task! It was perfect to be out of the tourist chaos! This was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyPasoRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We climbed up to this tiny hill town, Volastra, from Riomaggiore. It is a good climb but watch out for the vineyard terraces. When we arrived we found the most spectacular views and the most comfortable town to walk around. We enjoyed a beer on the veranda and a wonderful nights sleep. The next day we walked back down to Corniglia, the most elevated of the 5 towns. Views were memorable all day long!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Pulled in recently on a Friday night off season without reservations and in the pouring rain and were greeted by what felt like sunshine when we walked through the entrance! Antonella could not have been more friendly! And there was a fire in the fireplace and a nice bar. The room was spotless and large, The bathroom is especially nice and roomy, and I loved the towel warmer! The sheets on the bed were clean and prettily decorated with lace! Went down to the local restarant and had the best meal and local wine! What a cute town! Slept well, enjoyed her more than generous breakfast with wonderful coffee and off we went to explore the Cinque Terre armed with a map and directions from Antonella! Grazie!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights recently and it was pretty good.
The room and bathroom are large, comfy and spotlessly clean, but the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything that is going on in the room next to you, I suffered 3 nights of the man next door loudly snoring all night and when he wasn't snoring he was in the loo making all sorts of unpleasant sounds.
Breakfast was pleasant with a variety of choices except the coffee which was so strong it could have stopped your heart.
Antonella and her husband Guiseppie were pleasant people.
There were a few negatives (1) No tea/coffee making faciliies in the room. (2) This place also doubles as a local bar and the locals use it a lot and they tend to be very noisy and they stop talking and stare at you when you walk into the room making one feel really uncomfortable, on the last morning there were a couple of young lads making a lot of noise and being very silly, with burping and other noises. With the locals walking in and out at all hours it's impossilble to have sleep in or have a nice quite breakfast. (3) The floors are tiled and you can hear every clank and clunk, plus the cleaners started whirling away with their vacumn cleaners very early. (4) On the last morning Antonella was not on breakfast duty and the woman who was only offered xsants to the Italian guest which made us feel really uncomfortable and unwanted.

As I said this place was comfy and spotlessly clean,but a bit pricey for it's location. I wouldn't stay here again as it is too far away from all the action and the bus stops running at 1945, so you can't do anything. Also watch out as one of the bus driver is a very rude, obnoxious, unpleasant man who yelled at us when we got on the bus early in Manarola.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 62bethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Il Saraceno and were very happy with our choice.
The hotel is small and quiet and has a cosy atmosphere. We were given a huge room with balcony and a spacious bathroom. Parking was free of charge in the garage of the hotel. The location is also a bonus. It is situated in Volastra, a village at about 2 km from Manarola, in the heart of the cinque terre national park. There are hiking trails going down to Manarola and to Corniglia. There are hourly buses to/from Manarola but only until about 19.30 -- so might be less practical for those visiting without a car (Volastra is really tiny and has only one restaurant and one take-away). Finally, the staff was very friendly, ready to give loads of advice on restaurants, transport, hiking trails and so on. In all, a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viola_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volastra
0.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
158 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Saraceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Saraceno

Property: Hotel Il Saraceno
Address: Via Volastra 8 | Cinque Terre National Park, 19017 Volastra, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Volastra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Saraceno 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Il Saraceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Volastra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing