We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Inn with BEST Owner”
Review of Hotel Il Saraceno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Il Saraceno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Antonnella did everything to secure an amazing stay!. From the fresh baked croissants every morning to the fresh fruit....All was divine. The rooms were spacious although the bed was a bit hard and the pillows very flat. That can be overlooked because the location and the attentiveness was so great!. A heavenly place with very nice quality guests.

Room Tip: Room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a5035805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Il Saraceno is a quiet nicely outfitted hotel (only six rooms), out of the crowds on the Cinque Terre coast, in a village called Volastra. Good breakfast and great hostess in Antonella. It is on the bus route to Manarola, or you can take the walking track to Manarola or Corniglia. We did the track down to Manarola (some rough parts) in an hour, although the locals claim it is a half hour walk. The lovely views made it the best part of our day. Volastra only has two restaurants but we were glad to escape here after the crowds down on the coast. Snacks, bar and coffee at Il Saraceno itself.

Room Tip: Monterosso room had a little terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaralla421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location! Get out at Maranola and catch the local transit if you come in on the train.
Donatela was a great host, very helpful. The B&B had a wonderful terrace and her little dog was fun to play with on the large terrace. Breakfast met our needs. Volastra is quiet and away from the tourist zoo of Monterosso and Vernazza. Lovely restaurant nearby.
Volastra is a great starting point for hiking the Cinque Terre trails, which was the purpose of our visit.
Donatela had the local wine available for a very reasonable price and the room was very nice, complete with a safe and a lovely bathroom.
We plan on visiting Cinque Terre again and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. For 100 Euros a night you just cannot beat this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlJamKicksAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We only stayed one night but wished it had been more. The host, Antonella, could not have been friendlier or more helpful. She made us feel very much at home. The hotel location is not in the thick of things, but we liked it that way. Volastra is about a 20 minute downhill walk to Manarola and if you don't feel like walking back up the hill, you can take the shuttle bus that drops you off at the gate to Il Saraceno.

Room Tip: We requested a quadruple room and it was had plenty of room for the four of us. Our particular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you are going to Cinque Terre, look up this hotel. It is locate in Volastra, just a few km above Manarola, one of the five towns that comprise CInque Terre. It is in a quiet location away from the busy towns on the ocean. What makes this a great place is the proprietor, Antonella. She is a bundle of energy, helping you with everything---restaurant suggestions, reservations, tips on hiking, giving directions, you name it. There is also a bar inside (and on the terrace) that she runs simultaneously. We were also able to park our car in her indoor garage, which is a big plus as cars are not allowed in Manarola. The only disadvantage is that you need to take a shuttle that runs about every hour to reach it from the train station. In my opinion, it is a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeshiMusafeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We drove to Cinque Terre and looked for a place that would allow easy parking and luggage transfer. Hotel Saraceno met both requirements. We were able to keep the car behind the hotel gate and the luggage was not a problem...just up a single flight of stairs. The hotel was spotless and breakfast was a treat with delicious homemade croissants each morning. The owner and host, Antonella, worked from early am to late pm.....constantly helping guests, cleaning, serving coffee/drinks, etc. She was wonderfully helpful in assisting us with a package we needed to mail. The bus down to Manarola was very handy. Train to other towns was efficient. Volastra restaurants were very good.....don't be afraid to try both. Reasonably priced and tasty meals.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midwesterner061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned from Cinque Terre. Great place resembling more of a bed and breakfast than hotel. Very clean, good breakfast, helpful staff. Great location despite our initial concern that we were not in town - peaceful location with garden or patio on each room and great to get away form the crowds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volastra
1.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Saraceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Saraceno

Address: Via Volastra 8 | Cinque Terre National Park, 19017 Volastra, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Volastra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Price Range: £88 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Saraceno 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Il Saraceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Volastra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing