We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay to visit the Cinque Terre”
Review of Hotel Il Saraceno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Saraceno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay to visit the Cinque Terre”
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Thank you Antonella for being a wonderful hostess at this excellent bed and breakfast property which is a brilliant place to stay to see the whole of the Cinque Terre. It is easy to get to by car and thereafter the bus service is well designed to assist visitors to gain maximum benefit from this beautiful area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamperPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    66
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix az
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Up in the hills of Volastra above Manarola, this B & B is away from it all. A shuttle takes you up and runs 2/hr. There is also a trail if you want to hike. It was a nice, quiet location away from the crowded towns below. It is also cooler, which in Aug. was a real plus. Rooms are large as well as baths, with terraces. Antonella runs a very attractive, clean inn. There is a full service bar, as well, so it was nice having a drink on the terrace after a long day in the Cinque Terrre villages.
web site is www.thesaraceno.com

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyinphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

The hotel was perfect place to stay while visiting Cinque Terre. Antonella was wonderful and very helpful. The price was reasonable, 90euro for 2 adults including breakfast and parking. The walls are thin in the rooms. But the hotel is not large with a lot of guest. There is not a lot of noise. It is mainly couples. I think we were the only couple with a child. It is located in a small town above Manarola. The bus stop is 20 meters from the hotel. The bus runs every hour to take guest to Manarola. You have to buy the tickets from the local grocery store that is on Italian time. The store closes 1pm. Once you get to Manarola there is train to take you to the other 5 towns. Volastra, which is where the hotel is located, is a small town not a whole lot of going on. I would recommend eating in one of the Cinque Terre towns before going back to the hotel. I thought the location of the hotel was a great spot for visiting Cinque Terre. The owner, Antonella was great.

  • Liked — Owner, Antonella
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

While not located in one of the 5 villages of Cinque Terre, this hotel offers a hassle-free alternative to trying to park around Cinque Terre and walking with bags up and down the hills. Covered parking is a plus, and you can either take a gorgeous hike down from the hotel to the villages, or take a bus. The hike from Volastra down to the villages is absolutely stunning (even better than the hikes between the villages in my opinion). The hotel is nice and new, if not a bit sterile. Breakfasts were good, and the hotel offers a bar and terrace with a nice view. At a reasonable price, we thought it was an excellent way to see Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berserkervike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2008

I enjoyed our stay in 2004 as it had just opened the previous year. Well decorated and very clean. The breakfast spread each morning was excellent, and they have a bar there and a terrace on the roof with good views. The have an underground garage which was great because there is limited parking in Volastra. Nice quaint village, a good stay and easy access to Cinque Terre. Ciao, Renzo

  • Liked — Well furnished, clean, breakfast, host
  • Stayed July 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Renzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2006

To make your visit to wonderful Cinque Terre even better, I suggest you stay at a family-owned, charming, comfortable hotel in the tiny town of Volastra. Volastra is up the mountain from Manorola, one of the Cinque Terre towns, and is accessible to Manarola by shuttle bus. Antonella is the delightful inn-keeper of Il Saraceno Hotel. She is fantastic as she knows the National Park area well and happily gives information to guests when asked. (Volastra is part of the trail system of Cinque Terre and ties in with the more popular trails.) Parking in Il Saraceno's covered garage is included with the room rate which is a great feature. We stayed 2 nights and never moved our rental car. At night, we walked to a local restaurant with very good quality food, and all trail heads are close by. Our room was tidy and very clean with a good-sized bathroom with shower. We had a small, private terrace, as did all rooms. However, there was also a large terrace for the use of all guests. Il Saraceno is nestled into the mountainside among terraced vineyards and olive trees making it a very relaxing spot. Antonella's high energy for customer service is truly amazing and her breakfast is great, too.

Helpful?
7 Thank agfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volastra
0.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
400 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Saraceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Saraceno

Property: Hotel Il Saraceno
Address: Via Volastra 8 | Cinque Terre National Park, 19017 Volastra, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Volastra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Saraceno 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Saraceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Volastra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing