We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le spighe: a little paradise if you are looking for culture and countryside!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agriturismo Le Spighe
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a wonderful time in Le Spighe. Francesco and his family are very nice people and very caring too. The house is comfortable and the large garden is simply fantastic with all the fruittrees and flowers. The house is situated in a green area not far from the Etruscan sites. We particularly enjoyed the birds in the garden: a.o. golden oriole, the europian scops-owl, common nightingale and the common buzzard, It certainly is a place to be recommended!
Yvon

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were very, very, very happy with our experiences at Agriturismo Le Spighe. After 3 days in Rome, we spend 3 at Le Spighe, it was such a wonderful change of pace. Francesco and his father greeted us with a bottle of white wine from their farm and a cake and were unbelievably kind and immediately made us feel at home, while respecting that we were tired and needed to get some rest! They gave us recommendations to local restaurants (including one in a little town, Treviano, that was AMAZING. The day before we were to leave, we met Francesco and his wife, Katiuscia, in the cellar of the charming farmhouse where we stayed for coffee and it was like having coffee with old friends. Additionally, they very kindly gave us handmade sachets of local lavender and bells made from local pottery. The house itself was well equipped with everything you could need and was clean, cozy and very efficient. I am confident that we have started a long and deep friendship with Francesco and his family. I unreservedly recommend Francesco's Le Spighe...the experience could not have been better.

Room Tip: Don't believe there could have been a "bad" room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

It was our good luck to find this place! This area was not even mentioned in our popular guidebook, and were happy to have discovered it. Right away, Francesco and his family made us feel like friends, not just guests on their beautiful farm. His knowledge of the local villages and special activities in the area was a personal touch that we really appreciated. The cottage we stayed in was clean and very well taken care of, and the kitchen included the basic things we needed to do our own cooking. Of course, Francesco can tell you about any restaurant you may want to visit too! We also enjoyed fresh produce from the local truck just down the road. This is a place that invites you to explore or relax and visit a part of Italy you might not have known about. Mille grazie for a highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: We liked the cottage in the back of the property. Although it is in the country, the road can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamtgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My friend and I spent five days at le spighe. We were warmly and generously welcomed by Francesco and his family (wife, mother and father). Our cottage was surrounded by their farm of berries, grapes and hay fields. Each cottage has an indoor and an outdoor eating area plus access to the community room which has a small library, coffee and tea. Francesco is a wealth of information about the area...close to many hill towns, Eutruscan museums and hiking in the refuge. Our cottage had pamphlets,and maps to help us plan our days. We were there in the summer when the temperature was extreme. Our cottage had air conditioning and was well appointed with cooking and eating utensils. A delightful location with many places to explore close by. I plan to return share with friends.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank happytraveler60820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Le Spighe was a little hard to find (but getting lost in Proceno was probably the most fun I had on my entire trip), but once we (young American couple) settled into our private 3-room stone cottage, we couldn't have been happier.

We wish we could have spent way longer than 2 days exploring the beautiful orchards and rows of berry bushes. This place could not be more perfectly situated just a short drive (if you like driving, let me tell you, these are the most amazing roads in the world- bring/rent a convertible sports car if you can) gorgeous medieval towns that are devoid of tourists. This is what Italy is all about.

Our caretaker Francesco was friendly
as can be. He helped us find a great restaurant, but mostly just stayed out of our way and let us take in the scenery.

Seriously, I highly recommend Agriturismo Le Spighe to anyone traveling on ANY budget..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robinhargadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at Le Spighe en route from Florence to Rome to break our trip up in shorter legs. Had we known what a special place it was, we would have knocked a night off of one of our other stays so that we could have stayed longer. The hosts are so gracious. They had a frest made tart waiting for us in our cottage/apartment along with milk and water. They allowed us to pick the fruit from their trees to enjoy. The apartment itself was quite roomy with two bedrooms, kitchen, bath and living/dining area. The kitchen was well-stocked with everything we needed to prepare our fresh pasta bought in the nearby town. We left wanting more so make sure to allow at least two nights to enjoy this special place.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank izeguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at Agriturismo Le Spighe in May 2012 and it is an amazing place to stay and it exceeded our expectations. It is very highly recommended. This is the first time I have written a review on Trip Advisor which should indicate how impressed I was with this place. It is very well located; many of the Tuscan towns and cities are easy day trips and very close as is Orvieto in Umbria. It is near Acquapedente, which is a small town with some great restaurants. The owners are amazing hosts; they greeted us when we arrived with maps, tips, directions, recommendations and all the information we would need for our stay. They are friendly and made us feel very welcome and comfortable during our stay and provided superb customer service. We stayed in our own cottage and it was incredibly clean, safe and very spacious and well equipped. There is a separate bedroom, bathroom and a kitchen and living room area with a TV and fireplace.
The gardens surrounding the cottage are beautiful and immaculately kept and the scenery was stunning. We felt very safe and had everything we needed and more. The owners went above and beyond to ensure we had a good stay and if you stay here, you will be very happy you did! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Proceno hotels
2 mi away
Castello di Proceno
Castello di Proceno
#1 of 6 in Proceno
109 reviews
0 mi away
Poggio Porsenna
Poggio Porsenna
#5 of 6 in Proceno
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casina Centeno
Casina Centeno
#1 of 2 in Proceno
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Le Spighe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Le Spighe

Address: SS Cassia km 140, 01020 Proceno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Proceno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Proceno
Price Range: £52 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Agriturismo Le Spighe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing