We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Villa in the Hills of Urio”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Casa Fontana

The look out is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The look out is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the view.
The lake as viewed from the garden Dine inside or alfresco. Kitchen windows fold back so you can experience the outdoors indoors!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The look out is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the view.
The lake as viewed from the garden
Dine inside or alfresco. Kitchen windows fold back so you can experience the outdoors indoors!
The ground floor double (or twin if preferred) room
An alternative view first floor living room
The first floor living room has been beautifully appointed
The home is beautifully appointed throughout.
The lake as viewed from your private garden at dusk!
The main bedrooms feature zippable bedding to make twin or double beds
Wake up to glorious lake views
The lake as viewed from your home
Both main bedrooms feature ample wardrobe space
2 bathrooms with showers ( 1 en suite)
Two immaculately presented bathrooms
The stylish kitchen features all mod cons.
Third children's bunk bedroom
Relax in your private garden
Dine alfresco in your private garden.
The villa gardens in bloom!
By George! Somebody famous owns this Laglio lakeside villa.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carate Urio, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lee f
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa in the Hills of Urio”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We just concluded a 10 day stay at the villa and loved every minute of it. The stairs from the low road are a bit daunting when you arrive with 150lbs of luggage! Yes I’m married. The villa itself is very up to date and the views from every window are fantastic. The table outside is just perfect. The wisteria on the trellis bloomed during our stay, which enhanced the beauty of this already idyllic spot. During our stay we bought a 6 day ferry pass for traveling the entire lake. It was perfect for visiting a different village for lunch or exploration every day. You just need to be prepared to start your day around 10:00am so that you can enjoy a leisurely day on the boats.
The only small suggestions we could make is for the bathrooms to have washcloths and hand towels and the kitchen to be better stocked with spices. There was only salt, balsamic and olive oil. The pepper mill was empty.

Thank you Helen and Chiara for a wonderful holiday, and we hope to return someday with the rest of our family. Ciao!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2018
Lee thank you for your lovely kind words.

I will add some spices and I am so sorry about the pepper mill!

I am here just now getting the last of the wisteria ... it does look great.

Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewen A
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely villa with beautiful views”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Situated in the village of Carate Urio this villa has beautiful views across Lake Como from both bedrooms and the main living area. The accommodation was perfect for two couples sharing although the main stairs to reach the villa are not recommended for those who are in any way unhealthy or unfit. Walking in this area is challenging as pavements are very limited but traffic does seem to take account of pedestrians. There is an hourly bus service into Como town and to other villages with a nearby boat service for trips further up the Lake.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you, I'm so pleased you enjoyed our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandolph2...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Modern villa with fantastic views of lake”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved staying at this villa, enjoyed its location which was in an area that wasn't too busy but had everything you needed not too far away. The views of the lake make it such a pretty spot and there was a good choice of restaurants close by. After spending time on the Amalfi coast the stairs were no deterrent to us, once you get your luggage up, it is not an issue. The villa was well equipped and check in was easy. There was a small issue with one of the bathrooms and the owner got the matter fixed promptly which was appreciated. I would recommend Villa Fontana and would love to stay again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thank you for such a nice review and also for being so understanding about the 2nd 'loo'. Come back soon. Helen and Chiara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zara S
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just a great holiday”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed in this villa in the village of carate urio, it was just fabulous.
The villa was so quaint, from the look out, views and the garden, just such a lovely spot. The steps could be a slow one at times, the weather was incredible so was very war, this made the climb up to the villa some days a little hard.
The local village was just perfect, the local shop, the lady was delightful, the lovely people in cafe aurora, the ice cream was amazing......only a short walk to get the boat to como, to bellagio was such fun....Helen you have a great holiday home, thank you for sharing it with us .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you so much. What a nice review. We look forward to welcomng you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V1053TSma...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous stay at Villa Casa Fontana.

A great house with fantastic views over the lake from most rooms and the garden.

Chiara was a great help and was at the end of the phone if we had any queries - and arranged help with luggage on arrival (as I was recovering from a cycling accident!)

Yes - there are steps (166 from the road - we counted!) but they are well worth the climb and it is a good introduction to village life in Carate Urio (there are lots of steps!) Also there are alternative routes in from different levels.

We didn't hire a car - there are regular buses that go through the village and they stick fairly close to the timetable(!) - and the Arriva ASF app was really useful.
Whilst pick up is outside of Bar Aurora - most times coming back to Carate Urio - the bus arrived at the top on the Via Regina Nouvo - but it is downhill back to the house (the map in the house book was very useful in planning best routes through the pathways)

Ferries to como are a 20 minute walk away in Urio (opposite a fab cafe for light snacks at the Piccolo Hotel)

Carate Urio is quiet at night with a couple of places to eat - so It is not a place for lovers of lots of night life - it is a place to experience Italian village life among friendly people.

A home from home in a beautiful country, with fantastic views. A real gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you Mark, so happy you enjoyed.it just the way we do and got a taste of Italian village life. Look forward to seeing you again one day.

Helen and Chiara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelikus
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved this villa”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A fabulous property in fabulous Lake Como. We just loved this place. The rooms are clean, bright and so comfortable. The villa is kept to an excellent standard. The kitchen has every appliance, cooking utensil and equipment you can't think of. The cantina downstairs is lovely and very unique.
The Look- out is the jewel in this villa with spectacular views over the lake in all weathers and all times of day. Actually all of the rooms have a beautiful lakeside view!
In my opinion the stairs to this villa added to the uniqueness of my stay here and allowed me to indulge in additional treats without too much guilt! There is also an entrance to the villa with no stairs. The hosts were superb to deal with. We will certainly be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, it's a lovely time of year to visit. We hope to see you back some other time of year.

Many thanks

Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paddy h
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“romantic wonderful beautiful”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

this is real find for us. stayed in August and fell in love with Lake Como and especially Villa Fontana so returned for my Wife's Birthday.

loved it even more this time.

we miis it already and look forward to next year

Paddy and Ursula

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Hi Paddy Thank you for your lovely words. Look forward to seeing you both back soon. Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing