We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Restaurant!”
Review of Hotel Orso Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orso Bruno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We spent the last three nights of our honeymoon at the Hotel Orso Bruno and are so glad we did! As others have stated, the couple who runs the place could not be nicer or more accommodating. The hotel was extremely clean and our room had a balcony overlooking the lake. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant 2 of our 3 nights in Carate Urio and thought it to be some of the best food we had on our entire 2 week trip. If you want to explore Lake Como but are looking for a quiet and relaxing place to do so from, I can't recommend this hotel and the town of Carate Urio highly enough. Both the ferry boat and local bus have stops literally right out the front door of the hotel, so getting around the lake (even if you didn't want to drive your own vehicle) could not be easier. Also, this place is exactly one hour by car from the Malpensa airport in Milan and makes a fine place to spend your last night in Italy, even if you have a relatively early flight out the next day (ours was 10:30 a.m. and we had no problem getting to the airport, returning car, etc in plenty of time).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

We just found ourselves in this small very clean family run hotel .Antonia and Samuele her Husband could not do enough for us. The rest of the staff followed their example and this produced an extremely friendly atmosphere. The big bedroom with shower was comfortable and we had a great view of the lake from the balcony.The resturant was busy the food was good,the local fish was delicious and with their own pizza oven was very popular. The local people came to the cafe every morning for their coffee which is always a good sign. We were lucky to be able to stay an extra couple of days. The ferry port is opposite and took us on the lake. We highly rate this hotel and location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

A very nice and comfortable hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are big and bright with a wonderful view on the lake. The young owners are extremely friendly and helpful.
The location is ideal as it is in a calm and characteristic town along the lake but very well-connected, a dock with frequent boats to visit the area is just in front of the hotel.
We already look forward to going back and taste the simple and tasty dishes on the terrace of “Il filo d’olio” (the restaurant of the hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladoucevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We had a great time. Antonia is the best hotel host and manager one can ask for. She deeply cares about her customers and she makes sure to provide everything to make your vacation perfect. The lake view is fantastic. And the restaurant is amazing. We loved everything. We will certainly come back! You can reach the hotel easily with the boat and you arrive in front of the hotel. It is a romantic hotel, but works amazingly well with kids (and we had two who loved their stay!).

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are superb! You may pay a bit more, but it is worthy it every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavia_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We came across this super little hotel on cycling trip. Owners extremely helpful, excellent food nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Loved this little hotel on the banks of Lake Como. Boat shuttle across the street from the hotel to Bellagio. Great food and lovely owners who make you feel at home. Very romantic location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Proximity to Como is very comfortable when you travel by car. Otherwise, there is a reliable boat shuttle directly in front of the entrance connecting you with Como and all the other nice villages in the area. The room was small but clean and comfortable. It offers an excellent view on the lake. Very romantic!
The hotel is run by an extraordinary committed couple who offer a really good service.
We can recommend the accomodation especially to young people!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJJStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate Urio
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
856 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
836 reviews
12.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
634 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orso Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orso Bruno

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 45, 22010 Carate Urio, Italy (Formerly Piccolo Hotel Orso Bruno)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Carate Urio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Price Range: £54 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orso Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'albergo lo scoprite dopo infinite curve dagli scorci sempre diversi ed emozionanti, arrivate accostando comodamente l’auto sul piazzale di fronte e scendendo vi accorgete dell’incantevole posizione di questo piccolo albergo che si specchia orgogliosamente nel lago ed è avvolto dal rassicurante abbraccio delle montagne. Se arrivate di mattina il colore predominante è azzurro dalle sfumature d’oro, il tramonto invece è rosa.Ad accogliervi troverete sempre noi e sempre un sorriso e dopo un celere check in potrete andare direttamente in camera o rilassarvi un attimo nel nostro bar o nel nostro salottino sbirciando attraverso le vetrate l’animata quotidianità che si svolge al di fuori. Dicono che non ci sia panorama più affascinante del lago visto dal lago e per i nostri clienti più curiosi l’imbarco della navigazione proprio di fronte l’albergo sarà un’ irrinunciabile comodità per una gita in battello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Orso Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Carate Urio
Hotel Orso Bruno Lake Como/Carate Urio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing