We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Orso Bruno
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,647
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posta(Moltrasio)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Imperiale(Moltrasio)(Great Value!)
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,731
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$949
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plinio Au Lac(Laglio)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta(Cernobbio)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Ristorante Giardino(Cernobbio)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Miralago(Cernobbio)
US$200
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Centrale(Cernobbio)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
125
84
17
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
84
17
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat stoporsolovely little hotellake viewcold buffethotel is locatedfirst floorvisited lake comofamily hotelair conlarge bathroombus servicebalcony roomsmall villagefilolocation was perfectenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The reason why I'm giving not giving this hotel a higher rating is because of location. It's not easy to get to, nor is it quick and easy to reach other attractions in the area. The reason why my rating is not lower is because we got a great room - 204. The view of the lake is excellent and the AC works! Fantastic!
If you are considering this hotel here are some tips.
First, stay in room 204... that's a must.
Second, the closest ferry to Bellagio that runs regularly and from early in the morning to late at night is Cadenabbia (if anyone says that Tremezzo is a good place to catch the ferry, just take a look at the schedule). Cadenabbia is a 30 minute drive and there is parking next to the terminal (8 euro per day (or 1 euro per hour I think)).
Third, the hotel has 6 dedicated parking spots. Other than that there is, believe it or not, street parking - it's hard to imagine until you see it. In order to have guaranteed access at any time to one of the dedicated spots there is an additional charge (10 euro per day). What that means is that if there's someone parked in one of the 6 spaces who did not pay the extra amount then they have to find somewhere else. The only time we found parking to be an issue was when the restaurant was open.
Fourth, as I mentioned this hotel is not easy to get to/from. It's on a street that's a combination of one and two lanes wide. If you're used to that then you're good to go, but if not you're in for quite an experience. There are some things within walking distance (small convenience store, couple of restaurants) but walking along the road is somewhat risky. Even though these things are close it's safer to drive (and they have parking).
Overall, if you want to stay in Carate Urio then there is no better place, but if you want access to restaurants, shopping and ferries within walking distance then to be honest a hotel in Menaggio would be a better option.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEO_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent 2 nights in this comfortable and quaint bed and breakfast style of hotel. Owners were very friendly and helpful. In house restaurant served some of the best food I had in Italy. Spending the extra money for the lake view room was well worth it. Off the beaten path. Be prepared for a limited amount of ferries in the off season. Good spot for hopping around the lake. Hotel literally right across from the ferry dock. Limited parking for those driving and staying.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Orso Bruno for three nights during a motoring tour of the Italian lakes. What a delight! We had booked a balcony room with Lake View and were not disappointed. The rooms are not huge, but have all that is necessary for a comfortable stay. The bathroom was large and well appointed and everything was beautifully clean. The small table and two chairs on the balcony completed it. Breakfast is good – continental of course. On the two occasions that we had dinner in the hotel (closed Tuesday) we were very pleased. The menu is varied and well balanced and the food is very well cooked and presented. The wind list is also good and well priced. Car parking for a few cars is across the street (10 Euro per night) or one can park without charge on the road. The area is quite with very little noise from the road. The lake ferry stops immediately across the road, as do the buses. It is the very best place to stay and greatly value for money. The owners and their staff made us so very welcome and we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it. Book with confidence.

Room Tip: Book a room with Lake view and balcony. What a way to wake up !!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adoughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had an extraordinary time in Lake Como. The owners of Orso Bruno went above and beyond to accomodate our stay at a beautiful location. The view was spectacular and the staff was beyond helpful with any request. The location sits directly across from the water taxi and the bus stop is directly in front of the hotel. We would recommend this location and look forward to another stay at Orso Bruno. The location was perfect and the room was modern and immaculate! We cannot say enough about the wonderful hospitality of the owners and the staff of Orso Bruno. Grazie!!

Room Tip: Great location overall and you cannnot go wrong with booking a room at Orso Bruno!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked the hotel for 2 nights based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor and the reasonable (almost low) price level.

The hotel itself is a beautiful building in a great location. In a nice small village with the boat stop right on the doorstep. For less than 4 Euro you are in the center of Como and the boat trip is enjoyable as well.

The rooms are pretty basic (small tv, bed was a bit on the hard side, no luxury finish) but clean. There are enough small points that could be improved, like the decoration of the room. Nevertheless the rooms have a nice atmosphere and feel. Next to the stunning view from our window. overlooking Lake Como.

But the best thing are the owners. The speak fluent English and are extremely friendly and enjoyed running the hotel and helping the guests. Personal approach that really works well. And the entrance there is a sign saying something like: "you will come as a guest and leave as a friend". That really expresses how they run the hotel.

Some practical things: dinner was good at a very reasonable price, free WiFi worked very well, parking space can be reserved (we did that) which I would recommend. Breakfast is simple, but had everything we needed.

Doubted between a 4 or a 5 point rating, since the hotel has some improvement points, but to be fair: at this price level on such a location you will not find it any better. And the owners make the difference to get a 5 point rating. They deserve it. We really enjoyed it and will come back. And that is what matters.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room, the view alone is worth the total price of room....
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews