We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax by the lake”
Review of Hotel Orso Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orso Bruno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were very pleased with our choice of this property as we wanted a small intimate hotel. The owners a young ambitious couple are ever so anxious to help make your stay just what you desire. The restaurant we found to be wonderful---menu definitely to our liking and served beautifully at lake front. It is a bit out of the way but boat and bus service is at your doorstep and so much nicer than driving around trying to find a premium parking space. I do suggest that you pay for a guaranteed parking spot at the hotel. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. If you are lucky and can get either 202 or 204 with balcony you will be treated to a beautiful view. We truly enjoyed our 6 day stay and say a sincere thank you to Antoinia and Samuele. If we ever return to Lake Como area we will absolutely stay here.

Room Tip: This is a relaxed slow pace hotel with wonderful service and a beautiful lake view experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 202JCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We researched before going so knew what to expect before arrival. Situated in a quiet area but close to the water bus stop that will ferry you around the lake this place is a little gem. Friendly, welcoming owners, as others have said, with a nice bar with lake views and a restaurant next door which was very nice. If you are looking for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle but close enough by car or boat to Como this is ideal. Rooms were comfortable and large and can't complain about anything. Would return.

Room Tip: Lake View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ok, the location is a little middle of nowhere esque, but not in a good way.

Nothing was open for lunch in the area at all we walked about two miles.

Our room was dark and dingy but clean.

Reception staff were nice but we felt like "lake view" rooms were being pushed on us by email, and in person.

Breakfast was nice.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sammie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you are looking for a big fancy Lake Como resort then look elsewhere. If you are looking for a small, very comfortable hotel run by a delightful family then this is your place. The owners are great. Very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant is also very good. Great pizzas and lasagna. The location is very quiet. No crowds, but also not much for services...just a few other restaurants within walking distance. But it sits right next to a water bus stop, so all the beauty of Lake Como is just a few steps away. The Orso Bruno was the perfect home base for our recent two day visit to LC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MrGaucho1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is run by a young couple who go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble, from lending us umbrellas to advising us what to see and how to catch the ferries. There is a well priced, excellent restaurant on site and the wine is also reasonably priced. Both speak fluent English. The ferry stop is outside but these are slow up to Bellagio taking about 2 hours. We took the ferry down to Como which is about 30 minutes but drove and parked further up the lake to catch a faster ferry for some of the sights. Parking at the hotel is limited so we pre-booked this at 10 euros a day. However, having driven about the lake a bit, you soon realise how valuable this parking space is and well worth the money. The rooms are basic but comfortable with large beds. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is an ideal hotel to settle into on Lake Como. My only regret is not spending more time there. The location is right on the lake--the ferry stops at the front door, as does the local bus. The rooms and bathrooms are good size and ours (204) had the absolute luxury of a balcony with chairs overlooking the lake. Note should also be made of the restaurant on the premises. The food was outstanding and reasonably priced. Best of all were the proprietors, exceptionally helpful and friendly.
I see that some complained about the location. We had none at all. The ferry is a convenient and romantic way to hop from town to town and the bus is quick and modern.
This is a real find--with car or without--you won't do better for several times the price.
A final note: unlike some other commentators, we were quite taken with the town of Como. It is a quiet, clean historical city with architecture running right through the Middle Ages to ancient Rome. It is well worth a day's exploration.

Room Tip: Room 204 is ideal, but there are others on the lake as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilmagnific0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a great location part of its charm. We spent six days here early June. The rooms may be a little older but beautifully clean and spacious including the bathroom, but the owners, location, and their restaurant far outweigh any new furnishings. This is the place to stay far away from the maddening crowds right in front of the lake with the ferry and bus stops right at their doorstep. The owners make this a beautiful and relaxing stay and after a full day exploring the lake you arrive back without having to think where will you eat tonight as the food at the restaurant in the hotel is just perfect and very well priced. Ferry times are limited but you can walk 15mins to village next door for more frequent times. If you want to rush everywhere in five minutes stay in boring city of Como, otherwise this is the place to enjoy every moment of Lake Como.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dab32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate Urio
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
837 reviews
6.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
120 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
616 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
953 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orso Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orso Bruno

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 45, 22010 Carate Urio, Italy (Formerly Piccolo Hotel Orso Bruno)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Carate Urio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Price Range: £40 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orso Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'albergo lo scoprite dopo infinite curve dagli scorci sempre diversi ed emozionanti, arrivate accostando comodamente l’auto sul piazzale di fronte e scendendo vi accorgete dell’incantevole posizione di questo piccolo albergo che si specchia orgogliosamente nel lago ed è avvolto dal rassicurante abbraccio delle montagne. Se arrivate di mattina il colore predominante è azzurro dalle sfumature d’oro, il tramonto invece è rosa.Ad accogliervi troverete sempre noi e sempre un sorriso e dopo un celere check in potrete andare direttamente in camera o rilassarvi un attimo nel nostro bar o nel nostro salottino sbirciando attraverso le vetrate l’animata quotidianità che si svolge al di fuori. Dicono che non ci sia panorama più affascinante del lago visto dal lago e per i nostri clienti più curiosi l’imbarco della navigazione proprio di fronte l’albergo sarà un’ irrinunciabile comodità per una gita in battello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Orso Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Carate Urio
Hotel Orso Bruno Lake Como/Carate Urio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing