We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Viewed from the window.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Viewed from the window.
Contemporary comfort. Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Viewed from the window.
Contemporary comfort.
Living room
The woodburning stove adds cosiness in the cooler evenings.
The well-equipped kitchen area
Main bedroom
Attic bedroom with original stone wall.
Masses of hanging space
Second bedroom has play and entertainment space
Sweet dreams
Just waiting to welcome you.
Family bathroom
Everything you need for comfort and convenience.
Second bathroom.
On the terrace.
The atmospheric village street.
Charming play area at the beach.
Local beach.
View to the north from the house.
Menaggio is 5 minutes away.
Tiny church in the village.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Siro, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
niamh 1
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great stay at Il Campanello – I wish I could wake up to that view every day.

We visited most of the beautiful local villages and towns on the lake – including Como, Varenna, Bellagio and Menaggio, plus a day trip to Lugano (via the spectacular Parco Val Sanagra). However, the most enjoyable times were simply in and around the lake – especially to escape the mid-summer heat. At first we used the small beach at Acquaseria, before we discovered the idyllic cove at Rezzonico – well worth a visit.

We wish we’d had more time to walk all the narrow lanes around the village and if it wasn’t so hot we might have walked further afield & up the hillsides – a good excuse to return for another stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lake!
Liked least: A bit too hot during a very hot summer.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitsmum1
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay.”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house is full of character with amazing views in a village that gives you a taste of the real Italy rather than a hotel. Close to a great beach for paddling. We had our car so we're able to drive to Menaggio and Como. Also had a boat trip to Varenna and visited Villa Carlotta. Definitely want to go back again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley C
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a week at Il Campanello. The owner, Kate, was extremely helpful both before and during our stay, booking a restaurant for us for the first night and letting us have lots of information on where the local shops were. The view from the property is amazing and we couldn't get used to waking up and seeing the lake each morning. We even had the perfect viewpoint to watch a firework display over the other side of the lake from our window one evening. The property is in the middle of the village and is just what you imagine an old Italian town to be like.
The property is small but it was plenty big enough for two adults and two teenagers. The only comment I would make is that they could really do with an extra lounge chair. Sitting comfortably, there is only really enough seating for three people - two on the settee and one in the rocking chair. This meant that one of us had to sit on a dining chair each evening, which wasn't the most comfortable. The property was also very warm when we arrived, but once we had opened the windows, which we left open (closing the shutters when we went out) during our stay, it cooled down and was fine.
Overall we had an amazing time. The property is in the perfect location for visiting the local sites (Menaggio is only five minutes by car) and the area is absolutely beautiful. There are also two lovely restaurants - Crème Caramel and Luigi's - a couple of minutes walk away.
The four of us really did have a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the property
Liked least: There was not enough lounge seating
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thanks Lesley, and we are glad you enjoyed your week. There is a wicker easy chair which is very lightweight and easy to move between the bedroom and sitting room as guests need. I imagine it was in the bedroom during your stay. There are also two loungers for outside and indoor use . Best regards., K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigill747
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous stay in a fabulous location!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a six night stay in Il Campanello. We couldn't have chosen a better location for our holiday at Lake Como. Although the house is very old the interior has been fitted out to a high standard and feels very homely, not just another holiday let. Kate has left lots of information about the area which was very helpful. We travelled as two couples and having two bathrooms made things more comfortable. The views from Il Campanello were stunning helped by the lovely weather we enjoyed! We had hired a car so travelling around was easy. Luigi's, in the village,turned out to be our favourite eating place (we went there 3 times!) and it was only a few minutes walk from the house. A bonus! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Il Campanello to our friends, we had a wonderful time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diwelch20...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had an action packed holiday in a lovely house and an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The house has been beautifully renovated, was very clean and comfortable especially the sofa bed in the lounge. The kitchen had all mod cons for cooking but we ate out most of the time. We can recommend Luigis and Creme Caramel for the evening and the little bar in the village for a quiet coffee or a glass of wine overlooking the lake. The local people were very friendly and helpful and appreciated our attempts to speak the language. We did the 'Greenway Del Lago' a 10.5k walk from Colonno to Cadenabbia taking in some lovely villages and stunning scenery on the way. We took the C10 bus to and from the start and finish. There are many shorter walks from the house. About a 20 min walk away is Menaggio and Villa Carlotta, both worth a visit. The Rhododendrons at the Villa were amazing. From Menaggio we took a boat trip around the lake stopping off at Bellagio (my favourite) and Tremezza. We also went into Como and took the funicular to the top of the mountain and walked down. Although all these places were accessible by public transport we decided to hire a car as there were 5 of us to share the cost. I am not sure we would have achieved as much taking the bus. I loved the narrow winding alleys and many steps that led to the house, with its high position giving fabulous views from the windows, you couldn't take your eyes off the lake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views of the lake from the windows, it was hard to take your eyes off it.
Liked least: We had to park a short walk away from the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful,comfortable and unique house with the most stunning of views.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Il Campanello is formost a comfortable , well proportioned house with everything in it that you could need. Its also an exciting place to stay with a great entrance , a lovely patio and a surprising first floor. The house has been sympathetically restored with as many original features left as possible but with all the mod cons. A lovely kitchen, super ensuite, and Satellite TV which was useful for our small children. Situated in a central postion in the village it is handy for local shops. Its also a short walk to the lake. Finally the view from the bedroom and lounge windows is amazing at anytime of the day. A beautiful place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliveboy1...
North Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable historic house, well restored, with incredible panoramic lake views”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Situated on the lower lake slopes with great views. Homely, character stone house reached on foot through picturesque, narrow cobbled streets. Parking 200 metres away. Sympathetically restored with two spacious bedrooms (one en-suite) and a well equipped kitchen/diner. Quiet location with lots of local residents to give atmosphere. Can hear some road noise but not obtrusive. Numerous lakeside/mountain walks on the doorstep with Bellagio a short bus ride or 20 minute walk away. A couple of nice restaurants in the village. No garden but lovely, spacious old stone balcony which is in sun part of the day. If you like authentic Italy, you will enjoy this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Authenticity and the views
Liked least: Initial access on arrival was slightly problematic - keep turning the key (6 turns clockwise from memory) then lift the latch and push door open.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing