We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always again super !!!”
Review of Genesis Restaurant

Genesis Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Gaios
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Genesis is situated opposite the Green Man statue a short walk from the main square of Gaios where you will enjoy beautiful views of Gaios Harbor, St Nicholas Island, the Island of Panayia (Virgin Mary) as well as views of mainland Greece. Whether you visit Genesis during the day or the evening you can be assured of spectacular views in very pleasant surroundings .If you come by car it is easy to park.Genesis is a family owned taverna with Greek hospitality at its best. The menu is extensive, traditional Greek food and many other dishes, something for everyone to enjoy. The cafe bar serves a wide range of drinks, fruit salads, ice creams and various snacks. Genesis has the reputation of the best "Greek Doughnuts" on Paxos, you must try them.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always again super !!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Always professional service and very lovely and friendly ambience ...
Love to come back every time again here to this family run restaurant and Paxos :-)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherina8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    112
    41
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab food, friendly people and fun times!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I've visited Genesis in Gaios a number of times now and have never had a bad meal or evening, quite the opposite in fact! The staff are unbelievably friendly, the food is some of the best I've sampled in Greece and the Shrimp Saganaki is to die for!

Saturday night is Greek dancing night and there is always a cracking atmosphere, especially as the lights are turned out and the floor is set alight! Many an evening has been spent dancing into the early hours!

Alex and his friendly and welcoming team mean that Genesis Is a 'not to be missed' destination when visiting Paxos and I always look forward to returning!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c_ascroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great choice”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I had read the reviews on line but was a little dubious. However, I can honestly say the staff, management and food were superb. We ate here three times and the views, ambiance and attentive staff made each night special. We even booked in for the Greek night with dancing. The children thoroughly enjoyed joining in and reluctantly we found ourselves having a great night too. I don't want this place to end up so booked up I can't get in but I believe wholeheartedly in sharing quality and this was brilliant for us. Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAC162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“best restaurant in paxos!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

i arrived here with a one day trip from corfu. had lunch here and the dishes are amazing! the view is nice and it's not in the very crowded area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrinaIoanaNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A pearl among Gaios' sea of restaurants.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My girlfriend and I had a week in Paxos and visited Genesis twice, after reading the positive reviews. We wandered past late one afternoon and asked to have a look at the menu to decide whether or not we were going to eat there. The lady invited us in and told us to take a seat, no trouble, and passed us a couple of menus to browse. Just from that I knew it was a friendly place, and we subsequently booked for that night.

Later on we turned up and were so warmly welcomed by Alex and his team, making us feel right at home, guiding us to the table we requested upon booking. From then on it was fantastic service. We ordered a jug of the very drinkable house wine, starters of mixed veg stack with halloumi and pesto, presented with a slightly modern twist which was great to see, as well as some traditional tzatziki and hummus with homemade pita, all were delicious! Also some complimentary garlic and tomato bruschetta which was a nice gesture. The mains of slow cooked lamb off the bone, and crispy salmon were very well cooked, and again an absolute treat on the palate. By this time we were pretty stuffed but still enjoying the atmosphere, and finally asked for the bill. When it arrived with the added addition of yet another complimentary dish in the shape of doughnuts with ice cream, local honey, and cinnamon! We then knew there was some wiggle room for these doughy balls of joy, fantastic!

After our second visit to Genesis, one morning, we were jumping in and swimming by the statue right opposite the restaurant, when Alex the owner came out to give me tips on how to dive (cheeky!), then invited us in for coffee on the house, still soaking wet from the sea (his tips are most welcoming!). Which I thought was really kind of him, thanks Alex!

Overall a fantastic restaurant in a wonderful setting along the beautiful Harbour of Gaios. So if you're looking for somewhere good to eat, take the plunge into Genesis and you'll be swimming in traditional Greek cuisine..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genesis Restaurant also viewed

 
Gaios, Paxos
Paxos, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Genesis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing