We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowton Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgar House(Chester)
US$294
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dene Hotel(Chester)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
758
251
84
45
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
758
251
84
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexclusive usemaster of ceremonieswedding venuewedding breakfastwedding receptiongroupon dealjunior suitespa facilitiessecret escapeslovely hotelsauna and steam roomevening mealfrom start to finishrelaxing breakfour poster bedrelaxation roomnight break
Filter
Updating list...
1,126 - 1,131 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2008

I had my wedding at rowton in September 2008

The Whole experience was fantastic from check in to departure 2 days later. The staff were all very friendly, The food was amazing. We were treated magnificent and everything we asked the hotel to do was done to a very high standard nothing was to much trouble. we had exclisive use of the hotel on the day of the wedding and the whole day ran very smoothly. Myself my husband and 160 guests would like to thank the hotel for making our wedding so special I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lealea71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

i stayed at rowton hall country hotel for 2 nights in september with my friend, after readin the reviews on here after booking i was really worried. but to my experience on reviews in the past i knew they arnt all ways right. i arrived at rowton hall at 4pm and was welcomed by friendly staff behind reception desk, check in was quick and as it was 2 girls staying a lovely young gentleman carried our bags to our rooms. we stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast rate as we had came for a relaxing weekend so wasnt planning on leaving the hotel, whilst we were there we decided to treat ourselves to some spa treatments, a lovely young lady in the spa talk through all the treatments and helped us decide what would be best for us. i decided on a full body massage and my friend had a facial and a manicure,the treatments were lovely and up to a very high standard. i found th spa was beautiful and the staff were really friendly and helpful. i really enjoyed my treatments and have booked to go back there for my birthday next month with a group of girls for the spa day offer there have on. i found the food in the hotel was lovely. overall me and my friend had a lovely stay at rowton hall and felt really relaxed at the end of it and it was worth the money. i would reccomend this to all my friends and family and i would say dont worry about the reviews you read.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxprincess08xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We booked via the Hotel for two nights for a wedding function. We had a look on their website and it described it’s self as a ’country hotel spa’ set in acres of woodland - ’sound lush’.

We got completely lost as the Hotel is not lit in any way and in pitch darkness. Upon our arrival all was fine- nice interior and friendly reception staff, however as we had travelled we were wearing casual clothes and upon seeing other members of staff looked at us with somewhat disgust. Entered the Room, nice clean and well presented settled in fine. Then hell on earth broke loose. All of a sudden out of no where the worst bass music imaginable was vibrating the floor with hundreds of young people with attitude swarming the place. I decided to go check out the pool only to realise that you had to walk through the ‘kids in tux’ to get there - very uncomfortable. This Bass music lasted to 1 in the morning, we tried to ignore this and not to moan ,then within 30 minutes of shut eye ‘knock a door run’ started - not only to us but to all the guest in the building it just built up and built up till ‘the ’kids in tux’ entered our room. Enough was enough and we called reception- call one no answer, call two 5 minutes later no answer , call three no answer and all the time they were still knocking on the door and running away. This went on - you ready for this till 5.20 A.M I know this as I was clock watching!.

In the morning SHOCK what a run down place we were staying in, in fact it was somewhat comical that they have branded this establishment as a ‘Country Hotel’ - oh the receptionist apologised for the noise in the morning stating that they have a lot of functions there and the night porter was chasing all the lads around the place. Back to the ‘Country Hotel’ brand. It’s falling apart !LMAO. If you go check out the bottle dumping ground in the main grounds next to the burnt out pile of rubbish - it’s a lovely feature. Not to mention the Tennis Court. In room leaflet ’ why not enjoy a round a tennis, don’t worry if you have not brought a racket we can supply one’. The tennis court is a pile of Rust with the gate falling off. ‘We use fresh produce from our garden’ it says - just check the growing area out with fag butts and burnt out rubbish next to the greens. The room in daylight was slightly poor - wallpaper falling off, you switched the water on to run a bath and the towel rail will leak water over the floor and the view - just stunning - the kitchen roof and plaster and paint work falling off on the walls is another feature. Food- not bad- we had a nice meal, breakfast - you get more and better quality on your Sunday supermarket run, minus the mini but very efficient dictator of the waiting on staff- who I have to say was making all the young kids earning their pocket money close to tears by shouting at them, not a great environment. Overall I have given this Hotel a One Star simply because it is somewhat misleading in that they are trying to copy the likes of ‘ handpicked hotels’ and they have not got the resources nor the experience in this league. This should be a ’ hotel with pool’ establishment with 3 * charging £90-100 per stay. Fancy a relaxing break in the Country, with no functions, noise and rubbish - pay £30 quid more and go 5*

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerrjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

A completely incompetent venue that could not organize a bears picnic. Spa staff very friendly, however receptionists are a little above them selves and need to remember who the client is!!

Over priced drinks,not so clean bathroom, very small room for the price.

Cheshire

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank depoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Not happy at all! - We stayed here for one night for our friend's wedding in June 2008. The venue was nice, as was the wedding ceremony, the meal and the evening reception. HOWEVER - We were incredibly disappointed with Rowton Hall when we came to check out the following morning, after they double charged us for the room, an extra £145! Our room had not been ready on time and when we went to the room it had not been cleaned and there was an ashtray full of cigarette ends on the table. My friend and I are both smokers and so later on in the day we went to the room to freshen up, and after checking that there were not any 'No Smoking' signs in the room, or in the guest information brochure or on the door, we had a cigarette in the room, as we fully believed we were able to. No member of staff had made us aware that the room was non-smoking and there were no signs anywhere. On checking out the following morning we were charged an extra £145 - we challeged this and were informed that becuase we had smoked in the room it would not be able to be used for anyone else that night which is why they were charging us an extra £145!! DESPITE the fact that they had let the room out to us the previous evening after someone had smoked in the room! We have written to the hotel several times stating our disappointment and requesting a refund but have not even had a reply which is totally unacceptable. It would appear that Rowton Hall are purposefully making extra money this way by purporsefully NOT putting any signs in the bedrooms (which I have since discovered is a breach of legislation). We were also very rudely dealt with by staff and I would certainly never return to this hotel. We were appalled by their treatment of us and their subsequent failure to refund our money or even respond.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank review42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Sales & Events Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2008

We have had a seperate appointment with the guests and advised about the hotel's no-smoking policy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews