We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowton Hall Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$145
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$342
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$180
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dene Hotel(Chester)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$103
Travelodge
View Deal
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$89
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveller rating
753
250
84
42
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
753
250
84
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexclusive usemaster of ceremonieswedding venuewedding breakfastwedding receptiongroupon dealjunior suitespa facilitiessecret escapeslovely hotelsauna and steam roomevening mealfrom start to finishrelaxing breakfour poster bedrelaxation roomnight break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel on the 5th & 6th July - to attend a friend's wedding in a nearby church and with the reception at Rowton Hall itself. The room (no. 6) was great, well appointed, quiet and with all of the expected additions (iron, ironing board, kettle, ice bucket, and much more). All of the staff were attentive, well presented and friendly. We made use of the Spa and swiming pool - great addition. Breakfasts are very good, but because of the wedding party, we were not able to have dinned in the hotel on the first night. The food at the reception was definately very good. The hotel itself was originally a 'gentleman's residence' and retains all of its charm. There are a few new build additions, but all appeared sympathetic. Gardens are very pretty and were well used for the wedding photographs. My wife and I will definitely stay here again, now that we have relatives in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel (e.g. no. 6) are much quieter than some of the suites Great shopping nearby Great pubs nearby as well
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MervynLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay on the 5th & 6th July. Thank you for your comments 'The room (no. 6) was great, well appointed, quiet and with all of the expected additions (iron, ironing board, kettle, ice bucket, and much more). All of the staff were attentive, well presented and friendly. We made use of the Spa and swimming pool - great addition. Breakfasts are very good. The food at the reception was definitely very good.'

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and in Spa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on the 15th of June for a friend's wedding. We wer only going the evening so decided to make the most of what the hotel had to offer first.

When we arrived around 3 pm and first got into are room we looked for an iron and iron bored the only thing we had was a pants presser so after reading the information booklet that said we can request 1 from reception called down to request 1. 30 minutes later no iron so we rang again and the receptionist appoligised and said she would check to see if it was on its way.

After having a cuppa waiting for the iron that hadn't appeard we decided to just go down to the pool area. Ther was no jacuzzi the button on the side was not doing anything so it was basically a small pool with a ledge to sit on. Giving up we tried the sauna witch was dark inside (no lights on) and the thermometer read just 30'c (room was hotter). The only thing that worked was the steam room.

So on r return after discovering ther was still no iron we rang reception once again after ringing 3 times with no look I sent my partner down to reception to get it himself he was told by the receptionist she couldn't leave the desk and rang someone there and then to ask again. 6.30 pm we wer both ready for the evening reception apart from are outfits that needed ironing after ringing up myself 1 last time and getting angry with the receptionist it finally arrived so we could attend the party.
That was not the last of r problems we had no sleep due to the towel rail being on constant it was a hot summers night! I searched every were for a switch but nothing! U could even feel the hot pipes under the floor in the room. We had window open all night and a fan that was already in room when we arrived on all night but it was useless!
Iv got to admit the hotel and it's grounds are lovely the rooms wer clean and beds wer comfy but that's all that's good and after what they charge they expect you to pay an extra £12pp for brakefast!

The only reason I hadn't complained further and requested a refund is because we booked it through the groom and did not want to put any stress on either him or his wife on the wedding day but after my experience I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and I definitely wouldn't return not even if it was £20 a night!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank smj1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us here at Rowton Hall Hotel and are disappointed that an iron and ironing board were not brought to your room. We would like to thank you as we have made a decision with immediate effect to purchase iron and ironing boards for all our bedrooms.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our lovely and clean rooms with comfy beds.

It is unfortunately difficult in old Country Houses to provide air conditioning in the bedrooms on a hot summers evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June. Our room had everything you would expect and a nice view over looking the gardens, the leisure facilities were lovely, great food and very friendly staff. In a good location for nearby attractions. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

What a wonderful review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your 2 nights stay with us in June. Thank you for commenting on 'Our room had everything you would expect and a nice view over looking the gardens, the leisure facilities were lovely, great food and very friendly staff. In a good location for nearby attractions. What more could you ask for!'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My son just got married on 3 july and we couldnt have picked a more perfect place. The venue was excelent and the staff amazing tom was the mc and he went out of his way to make everthing perfect for everyone . All the staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived till we left. The food was lovley and rooms beautiful and breakfast was enjoyed by all our family.i wouldnt hesitate to reccomend this hotel to anyone the owner especially goes out of her way to please You .Only one downside its all over would love to do it all again thanks everyone for all your effort and hard work xxxx

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w0nderfulwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your great review and we are delighted that your son had a great wedding day with us.

Thank you for your comments 'The venue was excellent and the staff amazing tom was the mc and he went out of his way to make everything perfect for everyone . All the staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived till we left. The food was lovely and rooms beautiful and breakfast was enjoyed by all our family.i wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone the owner especially goes out of her way to please You .Only one downside its all over would love to do it all again thanks everyone for all your effort and hard work xxxx'

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a treat!
An amazing venue for my daughter's wedding, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Keith, the most brilliant MC made everything perfect. He needs a pay rise!
The setting, wedding breakfast, ambience...everything was perfect. They even laid on fantastic weather for us!

The room was lovely, just a shame we didn't have more time to wallow in it.

Sadly, breakfast was a tad disappointing, but that couldn't spoil our lovely wedding weekend at Rowton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you found the 'setting, wedding breakfast, ambience...everything was perfect. They even laid on fantastic weather for us! The room was lovely, just a shame we didn't have more time to wallow in it.'

We are sorry to hear about your breakfast, everything is ordered and prepared fresh to order to ensure the highest standard, we can only apologise that you found it 'a tad disappointing'

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews