We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anchorage House & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was such a great start to our family vacation. The cottages are small and cute with everything you need to enjoy your stay. The pool is excellent for the kids there is also a small play structure towards the back of the property. The location is prime, Queensland beach is only a 5 minute drive, close to a few small shops and grocery stores. The people who run this place are SUPER friendly and want you to enjoy your stay add much as possible. Don't need to say much more then we will recommend this lovely spot to others and also return as guests in the future.

Room Tip: The cabins are where is at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boohoo123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

An unexpected twist of fate found us needing a "home" for a month (february-at that!!)---we stumbled upon this gem and must have been guided there because it turned out to be the perfect spot. Nestled in a wooded area, our 2 bedroom cottage could NOT have been more cozy and comfy. Awesome beds-great sleeps!! It had everything we needed to make it homey and Chad and jessica could not have been more accomodating and respectful of our privacy. Dog walks to the ocean became part of the routine, and it was fun discovering the town of Hubbards---great folks!! We're coming back for sure

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Poodlepeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

In September 2012 we were married in Hubbards at the near by Community Barn. We, along with our wedding party, family and friends stayed here for the night of the rehersal party and the wedding and it was fantastic. We had the rehersal party on site and it was the perfect way to bring everyone together before the big day. On the day of the wedding the grounds at the cottages were perfect for doing some photos and the cottages made getting ready a breeze. The area around Hubbards is a wonderful setting for a wedding and they are perfectly located so that everyone can enjoy themselves and not have to worry about travelling home afterwards. Staying here really was an important part of our wedding day and contributed to the very positive experience that it was.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andylm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

beautiful clean cottages,the service was exellent .We enjoyed our stay very much and we will be back for sure .This place is worth recommending.We had no problems with our beds ,nice n comfy .Nice to relax either in the pool ,or just down by the water.Hubbards has everything what ur heart desires .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVAV13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

September 2012, we held our wedding and reception there. All of our Friends and family stayed in the cottages and main house. It was the perfect day, Peter and the staff did everything the could to make things as easy as possible. The cottages are homey and comfortable, which is exactly the style we were looking for. Thanks for everything!! Denise and Steve - Toronto

Room Tip: If you are more than 2 people, get a two bedroom for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We loved the beauty of the area and the fact that you allowed our three Keeshond dogs (our kidz) to stay with you as well. It was a nice place to stay in between visits with our local friends. I would highly recommend updating your beds, very lumpy, and saggy. Not as restful as we'd had hoped for but it was a warm, dry place to stay. We have been coming to Nova Scotia for the past 12 years, our 2 most favorite places are Irwin Chalets in Truro and Bouldercove in Shelburne, both have more modern facilities (bedding, appliances) have gorgeous grounds and are a bit more affordable. Since it was hard to find a place near Hackett's Cove and near our very best friends (family) that accepted dogs we chose Hubbards to stay. We will probably stay at the other 2 areas in the future and travel to see our friends as we have in the past.

Room Tip: They do supply more items such as shampoo and conditioner and soaps and plenty of clean towels bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage H, Manager at Anchorage House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. We are in the process of deciding which mattresses need to be replaced, and upon looking into your concerns we have replaced the mattress in the master bedroom. We are happy to hear that other than the bed you had a good stay here in Hubbards and we appreciate your feedback.

-Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nicest and largest two-room cottage we've stayed in on our trip - perfect for a family of four with two young teens. Two things would have made our stay more pleasant. One, the master bedroom's bed was terribly hard, and had one of those "valleys" in the middle. And two - we never experienced the warm hospitality raved of in other reviews. We were checked in by a reserved young man who said hardly two words, and saw no staff for the rest of our stay. Maybe it was just an off few days, but at $200 a night, I expected more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage H, Manager at Anchorage House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

I apologize for the staff not being welcoming. The staff member you discuss here in your review was new to the property, so he wasn’t completely comfortable yet. As for the mattress, we are in the process of deciding which mattresses need to be replaced and upon looking into your concerns we have addressed the issues with the mattress in the master bedroom. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future.

-Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hubbards
10.1 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Indian Harbour
186 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
Dauphinee Inn
Dauphinee Inn
#1 of 3 in Hubbards
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage House & Cottages

Address: 56 Shore Club Rd, Hubbards, Nova Scotia B0J 1T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Hubbards
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hubbards
Price Range: £85 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage House & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage House is the perfect place for you to kick back, relax and enjoy the peaceful, laidback pace of Hubbards, Nova Scotia. Quiet vistas right from our own dock, the gentle waves of the cove, hearing the birds call, spectacular sunsets and great seasonal photo opportunities. Leave the busy hustle and bustle of your everyday lives and come and see what we are talking about; it's your nearest seaside escape that's a world away. Vacation accommodations including 12 cottages and 8 guest rooms, all named for the communities and beaches in our area, are located in Hubbards, Nova Scotia on the beautiful South Shore Lighthouse Route. Only 35 minutes from Halifax, Peggy's Cove and Lunenburg, and only 40 minutes from the Annapolis Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Anchorage House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage House & Cottages Hubbards, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing